Cajun spiced tempeh with spicy avocado cream

DSC_2775.jpg


Hello friends of the Hive realm! I haven't posted for a while but I'm still kicking. There always seems to be something that comes up, like complete exhaustion, due to work and early rising neighbours.

Valentine's day, at the restaurant where I work, turned into Valentine month. We have been busy like summer in tourist season. I guess it's a good thing for the business and employees.

I now would like to share dinner with you.

I'm using tempeh, in place of a typical southern fish or meat dish, rubbed in cajun spice and usually pan seared.

Tempeh (fermented soybean) is popular in Indonesia and has become more and more popular here as more people turn to a plant based diet. Tempeh can be mild but it can put some people off if it is not properly done. Sometimes it turns out kind of funky but the good thing is that it takes on flavours very well. The texture for people that have never tried it, may be something that needs time to understand. I have heard people say they love it right away.

DSC_2529.jpg


For this dish, I'm using my favourite tempeh from a company that I use to work for, where I was making it from scratch, then also cooked it, turning into a flavoured item for packaging and distribution. I had been involved in every process of this product. Not fun!

In case you are someone not familiar with tempeh, I will give you a brief description of how it was made at the company that I was working at.

Dry soybeans were boiled until they were cooked through but not mushy. They were removed from the water, cooled, drained, and tumbled in a machine that removed most of the moisture. It was added to another tumbler with spores, and mixed in the machine thoroughly for a certain amount of time, I don't remember. Perhaps ten minutes or so. They were removed from the machine then added to a weigh machine where we would weigh them automatically and have them fall into a plastic bag with tiny holes in them. We would seal the bags with a sealer, then tamp them down flat. they would go on a trolley and wheeled into a large room to incubate at a set temperature. The next day after around 30 hours of fermenting, they would be gathered and packed.

DSC_2582.jpg


I know that many people toss their tempeh into a pan full of oil to fry. That would be tasty I'm sure. I am treating this with less oil and poaching it in broth first.

DSC_2584.jpg


First I cut the square tempeh into halves then carefully fillet each half into thinner pieces. This will be like a fish fillet substitute. I want to get a southern U.S.A, Louisiana type vibe.
Have I ever mentioned that I once had a New Orleans tour on a river boat. It was boring, and the food was not what you would think, was traditional Louisiana style at all. No offence American friends, it's not your fault


DSC_2601.jpg


For the broth, I added a veggie stock cube to some homemade broth that I had in the fridge. You can use water and salt and it will be fine.

Cajun spiced tempeh
720 g tempeh (3 packages)
1 1/2 litre vegetable broth or 1 1/2 litre water plus broth powder
1/2 cup cajun spice or to your liking
1 tablespoon agave or other sweetener
1/4 teaspoon liquid smoke (optional)
2 tablespoons lemon juice
Oil for searing (I used around 3 tablespoons)

DSC_2576.jpg


I put all of the pieces in a pot and covered with the broth. It was approximately a litre and a half.

This poaching process, makes the tempeh swell up, firm up, and give it a flavour base to start, but not necessary . I personally like it to pop with flavour before adding the spices.

DSC_2603.jpg


After bringing to a boil, simmer for around thirty minutes or until you can see that it has firmed and swelled. Take it from the broth. I like the flavour it leaves in the broth. I saved the broth to use in a soup.

DSC_2517.jpg


A cajun spice mix can be purchased already made. Making your own gives you control on the flavours that you like and the heat level. I like it quite fiery and peppery. If you don't, you can just use paprika, omitting the chili.

Cajun spice mix
2 tablespoons chili powder or cayenne
2 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons black pepper
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon oregano
1 tablespoon thyme
Salt to your liking ( I like it salty)

DSC_2526.jpg


To coat the tempeh with the spices, I randomly decided to brush it with a little lemon and olive oil to make it stick.

DSC_2673.jpg


This probably could have been brushed with the broth or water, but I really wanted to make sure it was well coated.

DSC_2682.jpg


I am not sure if the lemon made a difference in taste, but it added to the liquid.

DSC_2684.jpg

DSC_2685.jpg


Each side was well coated.

DSC_2692.jpg


Now I have a plate of fillets ready to pan sear.

DSC_2696.jpg


I use my one really good non stick pan for everything so I really don't need a lot of oil.

DSC_2704.jpg


When the pan was medium high I seared the fillets on each side.

DSC_2700.jpg


They don't need long, because they have already been poached. I like to get a good colour on them.

DSC_2712.jpg


I thought some avocado sauce would give it an extra Southern kick. I suppose you could say this added a little Tex Mex thing to it.

DSC_2756.jpg


This is a tangy creamy sauce, which taste resembles guacamole but creamy. It's a fast simple sauce that can be whipped up super fast with a blender.

I was fortunate to find really good avocados for a decent price. They usually range from 2 to 4 dollars a piece. These were on for less then 2 dollars.

Avocado cream
2 medium avocados
Juice from 2 limes or more if you like
2 cloves garlic
2 Chile peppers or amount to your liking I used a couple of long red chilies but if I had jalapeno I would have preferred those instead for the flavour.
3 tablespoons olive oil or omit
1/3 cup fresh cilantro
Water enough to get it moving in the blender
Salt to taste

These are the approximate amounts that I used for these items. I always taste and add according to what I like.

DSC_2759.jpg


I chose mashed potatoes to have with the tempeh. I put some raw baby spinach on the bottom and the heat from the potatoes wilted it perfectly.

DSC_2772.jpg


I used much more of the avocado cream then shown in the picture. It was really good.

DSC_2764.jpg


We ended up with leftovers and it was used for sandwiches the next day.

DSC_2783.jpg


I know that many people tend to use tempeh for only Asian dishes, which I love as well. It can be used in any kind of dish with any kind of seasoning or flavours.

My first tempeh experience was a vegan "chicken" nugget battered and deep fried. This was a good way for me to appreciate this new thing at the time. Deep fried foods may not be the healthiest but they are fun and enjoyable once in a while. In the meantime I'm fine with the poaching and searing method. It really does the job.

DSC_2807.jpg


I appreciate you stopping by. Have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters


Photos taken with a Nikon D7500

Sort:  

It looks so delicious and beautiful dish. I love eat tempeh so much.

Aw thank you my friend. I wish you the best day!💚

Good afternoon dear friend @carolynstahl
The fact that the restaurant is full of people is a good sign, it means that they are doing things well. Sorry that work is running out and you don't have time or energy to publish.
I loved this recipe, it's something I had never read about before.
Thank you very much for sharing your culinary secrets.
have a beautiful afternoon

Yes it's tough but I love this community so giving up is not an option. I enjoy connecting with wonderful people like you. Thank you for your support and encouragement.😊

Wow! all your recipes are spectacular, I love the way you plate each meal, it would be a great honor to taste your cooking.

Haha the same goes for me tasting your creations dear master baker!

We have to have a meal together hahaha 🤗🤗🤗

The final product looks so very, extremely, delectable and delicious that I could eat it all up. Hehe! 😛
Love your time and effort and the food joy you produce 🤗🤗🤗❤️😁😁❤️🤗🥰🥰

Aw thanks for those words. I really don't have much energy these days so I try to put time and effort to the things that I share. When not sharing, it's just a fast anything goes type of dish haha.😊

I ADORE tempeh. Just love it. I have a big block in the fridge - perhaps I'll try this tomorrow. Long time no see - missed you! HOpe all is super in your world.

Aw what a great comment. Thank you. Also it's great to know you love tempeh. Many people hate it. It must be similar to blue cheese, if you know what I mean. I guess you are closer to Indonesia which is the land of tempeh.

I wish you the best in your world.💚

Lucky, lucky Marc, is all I can say! If I could eat your food I would easily become vegan as it all sounds and looks so good!
I'm not a big meat fan, but some vegan ingredients here are expensive, and the dishes I've tried in restaurants, have been very bland. They need lessons from you @carolynstahl!
Glad to hear you're still kicking!
You must be looking forward to warmer weather, you really need to get out and take a break sometime, even if it's just for one day.
Take care of yourself my friend xxx

Aw thank you for your blessing for warmth. It is warmer today, 13 C, but very damp, and ugly. It makes me feel sleepy all the time. I should be a hibernating animal.

Really the most expensive thing here is the produce. Yes there are products for vegans that are costly but that is for people that don't have the time or skills to make their own meals. There are many ingredients that are vegan by default like vegetables, beans, grains and spices. Here the meat and eggs are just as expensive if not more. Anyway I'm not preaching.

You know I admire your creativity in the kitchen and look up to your skills and talent.

Here our fresh produce is very affordable, but I must admit, if I must compare the cost of meat, as that is fairly high, although not as high as in the Netherlands. that is one thing my son misses.

You are too kind, I really need to get back to playing in the kitchen more often!

Very yummy looking dish! This makes me hungry. I ought to find some tempeh here and do some cooking experiment.

Glad to see you still going strong.
Hope to see more of your posts.

Very yummy looking dish! Thus makes me hjng

The fact that you worked in that company and even today you eat their product speaks very well of its quality. How nice.

Ah, so many dishes to prepare with tempeh and I still don't have the pleasure of trying it, although I've already found a store where to buy it, but everything is so expensive there that I have to think about it. Here in Venezuela, a 100% vegan and actually healthy diet is for millionaires, my dear friend. As always, you have made a spectacular dish; I like everything I see here. I love the spice of Cajun food, so this dish makes me very, very curious and very, very hungry, haha.

I think I'll just close my eyes and buy that tempeh when I get back to the store. No regrets.

Hope you can rest better. Have a great day! ❤️

It's funny because I have nightmares of working at the company, for various reasons including political. I just know that they know what they're doing, when it comes to the manufacturing of tempeh.

I have to disagree with the millionaire theory. I assume you are not a millionaire because you said that. I have seen countless beautiful plant based dishes that you have created. You have also access to fresh things that we get imported. The best thing to eat for vegans are the cheapest things, like beans and rice. I am not suggesting that you go vegan. It's not my thing to do that. I'm just referring to your comment which is a very popular theory.

Tempeh is something that can be made easily if you can get your hands on spores/ tempeh starter, in a hot climate, ideally 30 C and humid. I know that tempeh spores/starter can be purchase online. I have also heard that some people use crumbled raw tempeh to add to the cooked soybeans and the existing spores in that tempeh will ferment it. I haven't tried it because it may fail in this climate without an incubator. In Indonesia it's wrapped in banana leaves.

I appreciate your comment my friend and hope you can try it someday. ❤️😊

Yes, there are many myths.

Beans and rice are cheap here, but fish is a lot cheaper, for example. Believe it or not, fresh vegetables are not cheap here, and we also get a lot of imported foods thanks of our failed economy--long story. Anyway, at the moment, with two jobs and etc., I have little time (and energy), but I try to make vegetable dishes everyday, vegetable milks... Little by little, lifestyle changes for the better if you put your mind to it.

Thanks so much for the tip on tempeh. I'll look into it ❤️

I know you guys have been put through the economic grinder. It's so sad. How tragic that you have to get so many imported fresh items. The people of your country are some of the strongest with the warmest hearts in the world from my experience on Hive. I hope sometime things can turn around and you can forget at least one of your jobs. I am tired with just one. Thank goodness for your talent in the kitchen that you can make some things from scratch.

I'm going to attempt bread soon inspired by your method. Crossing my fingers.😊

I love how you cook, you look happy! and that avocado cream looks delicious, my mouth is watering.😋😊

Aw that's so kind of you to say. I would be happier if someone else would cook for me haha.

Thank you @carisma77 😊

I love the colors combined in this preparation, although I will simulate the taste of tempeh is a food that has caught my attention, I've seen several tutorials for its preparation I still do not dare, this dish that you present tells me: do it, do it!

Tempeh is not easily found in your part of the world I think but I too would not make it from scratch at home. I just buy it and cook it anyway I want. If you can buy it, you can do anything with it so it's like cooking chicken.

Thank you for your kind comment.

Yes, on this side of the world it is a little difficult to get it, but I still intend to prepare it, you are invited dear Carol.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

This is very interesting, the appearance of tempeh has changed greatly

It is supposed to resemble a southern American style of cooking chicken or fish.😊

Que divino se ve

Gracias por sus amables palabras😊

I have heard of Tempeh but never knew what it was and your information was fantastic. Now, I am intrigued and would love to make your recipe. It really sounds so delicious. To bad your Louisiana boat ride was such a flop. Cajun food is awesome!

It was funny because we were only there for a day. I was with someone from Germany and we had an idea in our heads that we would be in a scene from Huckleberry Finn haha. It was nothing like we expected. I am still happy that I can say I have been there. Tempeh is not for everybody but you may want to try it at least once.

Your recipe looks very delicious. I never had tempeh in my life but when I saw how you cook and how it looks I would like to try it one day. good share. Today I was talking with my husband about, since a long time haven't seen your post and I just found your post. Take care A hug :)

I wish you could try tempeh sometime. You could put some Indian spices on it. That is really delicious.

I am tired and posting is a big job for me. I really miss sharing and connecting so I will not give up.💚

This recipe is delicious, with many spices, great flavor. I really liked hearing about your experience at the temphe factory. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your comment @sirenahippie. I appreciate that very much!😊

Una deliciosa y sana receta, debo aprenderla, saludos amiga.

Gracias y tenga un maravilloso día