Shopping for Vegan Food Products in Germany

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)

Hello V-Gang!,

This week I am back in the supermarket to show you the range of vegan food products available in my local supermarket here in Germany. Compared to some other countries, there isn't a huge range of replacement products or vegan junk food, but there are some products to help people with their transition to a healthier lifestyle.

Going into the supermarket, the first section is fruits and veggies. As Joey Carbstrong says, we should mostly be eating from this section. But today we will look at what other options are available.

The main place where most of the special vegan products are gathered is in this one lone refrigerator... I did say there aren't too many options. Let's take a closer look.

On closer inspection, you can see that some of the products are in fact only "vegetarian" despite being in the vegan section. 🙈

Not much chance of a vegan schnitzel, but they have vegan burger patties and vegan sausage in "bratwurst" style. The chicken replacement is only vegetarian as they have eggs in so this I would skip.

Next, we have vegan mince and more vegan burger patties. Sometimes I may buy the vegan type mince to make some vegan bolognese or vegan chili-con-carne type dishes. But as it is expensive and you don't know what chemicals its made from, I usually use just veggies now as 3 peppers are just €1'ish and are filling enough. But these products are good for those transitioning or for occasional use.

Here we have some actual vegan schnitzels for those used to eating meat-looking type food. I did eat quite a few of these products when transitioning.

Here there are more of the "Frankfurter" type sausages that are popular here but I can honestly say they taste pretty grim. There is some vegan cheese slices that I also do not really eat because of the price and I try not to eat any bread that might go with it.

Here are some vegan replacement meat-type products. I have tried these and they were good to eat on toast.

There is also some vegan salami that I think I tried just once.

Here I saw they have these vegan chicken type sticks. I never tried them though.

Further exploring, I saw in the sweet section that you can buy more sweets vegan now. Previously Katjes was just vegetarian, but now they have switched to vegan. They seem to taste much better than Haribo too.

I often take the cola bottles! lol

In the freezer section, there is very limited vegan options. After eating fresh vegan pizza in Italy, it is hard to buy any frozen variations.

If you have a sweet tooth, there is Ben & Jerry's non-dairy. Although it is quite pricey. There are some cheaper variants available.

There are many different types of ice cream, some made from almond or here lupinen. Mostly I eat the sorbet types made from water and fruit.

The final vegan product for today is the vegan magnum. I don't really eat magnums, but when I did, I bought this one.

Thats it for this week.

PlainDivider.jpg

Credits:

Title image created by myself in Canva with inspiration from the TShirts made by Tim Schieff that you can see here.

All photos are my own.

PlainDivider.jpg

Let's connect : mypathtofire

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mypathtofire ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow!!!! I know you're saying that it isn't much - but I'm always fascinated with the options out there for people with dietary restrictions hehe (I am one of them lol)

I have recently come upon a new bread that i am going GAGA over. and yep - its vegan, gluten free, AND keto. I just told @samsmith1971 about it -and its SO good that i seriously can't stop raving about it!!!

it's like HEAVEN for me hahahahaha

I'll probably do a post about it soon hehehe cuz its just that good!!

how long have you been vegan?? all your life?

I still think that the first time I read any of your posts was you making that mushroom curry - right? hehehehe

that was still so yummy hehehe

by the way, you're in the treasure hunt today! hehehe I'll be dropping a thread with a clue from your post! hehehe maybe you'll get extra dreemers today! hehehe

I've been eating mostly vegan (I slip up now and again) for a few years now, also as a dietary requirement. I am so glad I did as it has opened up a whole new world of foods and tastes that I could have missed had I not done it.

I hope your dietary restrictions are not too bad. I also try to reduce wheat since the beginning fo the year and it has had a positive effect I think.

Thanks for including me in the treasure hunt!! ☀️

And I can't wait to have tomato sandwiches hahaha 🍅💗🍅 !LUV !ALIVE

@dreemsteem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Everything displayed are so delicious my dear friend stevehodl. When I am in the grocery, this section is really my favorite. Have a great day and take care.

Thank you. There are some good options. !CTP !LUV

You have more options than us in Denmark :p

That's a surprise, I thought they might have been good there, being very eco friendly.

They are trying and is doing a good job, but the options are limited because of the population I think, way more people in Germany than Denmark :p

Sweden is leading in veganism in the North I think. :d

Food prices tend to be cheaper here to and larger market as you say. I saw they have the veggie sausage in IKEA, not sure it's 100% vegan though. Did you try it?

Exactly!

Well, Ikeas veggie sausage here in Denmark, is markered as vegan. So I guess it is :p

ahh, thats good to know. Maybe i misread. good job Sweden!!

I have been eaten it under the assumsion it was vegan at least :p haha

Ye sweden, is doing good!

I also learned abou https://www.korodrogerie.de/ the other day! And they ship to Denmark :D

Thanks for the tip. ❤️👍

You are welcome! I think they are based in Germany :D

Congratulations @mypathtofire! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 3000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge

Thanks HiveBuzz! 😎❤️

You're welcome @mypathtofire, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍

A supermarket is an awesome place isn't it. It carries content for both the stomach and the blockchain.

Hehe that's true man! 👍🙂

!lol

I was so mad when I found out I was cloned.
I was litteraly beside myself.

Credit: reddit
@mypathtofire, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @bearmol

Rumor has it The LOLZ Project runs on !PIZZA
(1/1)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mypathtofire(5/5) tipped @hoosie (x1)
hoosie tipped mypathtofire (x1)
mypathtofire tipped idksamad78699 (x1)
lolzbot tipped bearmol (x1)
idksamad78699 tipped mypathtofire (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

It's very interesting for me that there is so many vegan options there. so much easier to go vegan .unfortunately in iran most foods are meat base and being vegan is very hard and expensive. But i like to become a vegan someday! What we eat is very important. Sometimes we forget this fact and we eat what tastes good and not what's best for our body and soul. I loved your post, thank you! 😍

There are some vegan convenience foods here but they arent really so healthy and full of chemicals. You can taste it in the magnum for example.

My favourite local restaurant is Persian and they have some of the best vegan options going.. such as with aubergine and zucchini dishes. They are so full of flavour and delicious that I go as often as I can!!

Thanks for your comment!

So happy to hear that you like Persian food !😊
After reading your post i went to our local bazaar and bought lots of vegetables😋

Thats great to hear! !ALIVE !CTP

@sabajfa! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Guess Spain is a bit behind but in general very similar. !CTP

I think the US and UK are leading the charge, as they sell most pre-made food. Thats not so much the case here.

!CTP

Plenty of vegan options you got there.. hope those are affordable and not that much expensive saw price tags but really can't say if are cheap or expensive. Anyway Good for all vegans.

!PIZZA
!LOL
!LUV

They are quite expensive for most things I think. I usually try to stick to the raw products as they are healthier and cheaper. But sometimes you want convenience and unhealthy food.

!LOL !PIZZA !CTP

My wife accused me of being immature.
I told her to get out of my fort.

Credit: lofone
@idksamad78699, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mypathtofire

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(2/6)

Inflation fr :! Oh well, I totally Agree it's in human nature of wanting convenience and unhealthy food sometimes. Make sense. Hopefully our wages will increase for a better living in this era.

Have fun!

Yes, hopefully we get a nice inflation increase! :)

Hello @mypathtofire, this foray into the vegan section of your local supermarket is very interesting. Really, as limited as the offer is, there are products to choose from, both sweet and savory. Of course, it is as you say, they can be consumed in the transition, and then over time, because the prices make their consumption more expensive.

I, particularly, I lean towards the natural, but these products are good and valid to consume on certain occasions.

Thanks for sharing this information with everyone, it is a way for readers to know that vegan products are wide, diverse and also tasty. Good post. Greetings.

Thank you. I agree, they are more for occasional use or transitioning. I lean more towards fruits and vegetables as you get used to the better taste and health benefits. 🌱❤️

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you for your support.

I'm not a Vegan, but I appreciate your lifestyle! How are Vegans dealing with the current financial situation in Germany? I know in general is hard for all of ur, right?

I think we are suffering with these inflation measures like most people, but I think the price increases are not so high at the moment for vegan products. I am anyway an eternal optimist and try not to give the controllers my attention with any of their games, it is my biggest weapon against them. ;)

How are you doing where you are? With your garden you are half way free from system dependence.

I think we are suffering with these inflation measures like most people, but I think the price increases are not so high at the moment for vegan products.

I'm glad to hear that! 👍 I really hope it stays that way as long as possible.

I am anyway an eternal optimist and try not to give the controllers my attention with any of their games, it is my biggest weapon against them. ;)

You are absolutely right! 😁

How are you doing where you are? With your garden you are half way free from system dependence.

The garden is a huge help that is right but I'm more worried about the energy costs in the near future. Things are completely out of control if you ask me. And they shouldn't. I think many people fear the worse in the months to come. 😞

Well, I think the expensive energy costs are part of their plan, it doesn't seem out of control at all. The whole thing is a ridiculous circus/pantomime. Have a look at Hegelian Dialectic and that will tell you all about the social, and political control system and how it is working. Then you would be able to stop worrying and let go of the fear.

Well, I think the expensive energy costs are part of their plan, it doesn't seem out of control at all.

I mean out of control for those not able to pay next year! 🤨 But I understand what you are saying.

The whole thing is a ridiculous circus/pantomime.

I agree it's a stupid circus! It's a planned ridiculous circus!

Have a look at Hegelian Dialectic and that will tell you all about the social, and political control system and how it is working. Then you would be able to stop worrying and let go of the fear.

I'm familiar with the Hegelian Dialectic but I'm interested in your take regarding "stop worrying". You don't think it can get worse?

What is there to really worry about? No electricity? Then I will do something that doesn't require it. No heating? Some warm blankets and clothes would also be good.
Under Hegelian Dialectic, they will anyhow propose a solution to the problem..

I think for many it will be a bit more complicated than that and the consequences a bit harder, but on principle, I agree with you. We are on the same page! 👍

Thank you for burning ALIVE tokens and supporting the We Are Alive Tribe, you have earned 7 tickets for our weekly ALIVE Burning Contest.


!ALIVE
!LOLZ



Made in Canva

@mypathtofire - Alive Chat Fire Master on @alive.chat


@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveprojects. (5/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What's green and sits in the corner?
A naughty frog.

Credit: fallingforward
@mypathtofire, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @aliveprojects

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(5/10)

I get the impression you're a vegan as well? If so, it's great to meet other vegans! Also, in regard to your post... That's interesting to see what's available there where you live, seems like such a massive difference from a number of years ago! I remember when my grocery stores didn't even have a vegan section and now they all have quite a variety of options and "animal product substitutes". It's nice to see the positive change! Though, still prefer to eat whole plant foods most of the time!

Yes I eat mostly vegan but slip up now and again. I think the more substitute foods there are, the better as it helps with transition.

I've gone through a few phases of mostly salads, mostly fruit and now try more balanced with cooked, raw and fruits. There are still many toxic vegan foods to minimise like grains imo. Even so, I crave bread now and again.

It's awesome that you're making an effort! So many don't even try. So, I commend you and appreciate your journey.

I agree the substitutes help a lot of people, and the substitute cheese helped me in the beginning when I went vegan, but eventually got the point where I don't need any of that anymore... I do still eat some substitute stuff sometimes, but I realize it's not healthy compared to whole plant foods.

I've heard a lot of claims about grains being unhealthy, though to me it seems like whole grains aren't so bad? But, I haven't really looked into it deep enough to say for sure.

There is a limited choice which must make it difficult. We often use vegan mince (Quorn) for chilli, and to be honest its pretty good. And I've found that pizzas without cheese are pretty good too - was actually quite shocked to find that it didnt make that much of a difference.
!PIZZA
!LOLZ

I quite like the Quorn range of products. I didnt try any thing from Linda McCartney though.

!PIZZA
!LOLZ
!CTP

How many egomaniacs does it take to screw in a light bulb?
One, they hold the bulb while the world revolves around them.

Credit: marshmellowman
@hoosie, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mypathtofire

@cryptoshots.nft 🔫 3D Shooter LIVE on Hive. Play and earn DOOM!!
(5/6)

It's interesting to see the range of vegan food available now, but it always seems a bit strange to me that many of these are ultra processed industrial foods (with ingredients you wouldn't find in your kitchen). I've always really liked lentils and other legumes, so it wasn't hard to eat less animal products. I'm not vegan or vegetarian, but I eat a mainly plant-based diet.

Is there an issue with grains? I really like bread 😍!

I'm trying to eat more tofu. We have a range of Chinese supermarkets here so I should be able to get some freshly made - time to explore!

You are right that many of the foods are ultra processed or made with ingredients you would never use in a highly processed way.

I think most foods are fine in moderation and your body is pretty good at telling you what it wants.

With grains, as far as I can tell, particularly wheat which seems to be in everything, it is now like a frankenfood compared to many years ago and has many side effects in people particularly allergies and weight gain. I do like some fresh bread but eat it as little as possible.

It seems you are eating very healthy already, keep up the good work. 👍😎

With grains, as far as I can tell, particularly wheat which seems to be in everything, it is now like a frankenfood compared to many years ago and has many side effects in people particularly allergies and weight gain.

Ah yes, I understand. In England, there is also a problem with how bread is manufactured (again, it is an industrial food) and cooked. We use something called the Chorleywood process here which is essentially undercooking the bread to retain moisture and thus, weight. I think I've read somewhere that this makes it very hard to digest and creates problems for a lot of people.

I make bread (and pizzas) at home using organic stoneground flours and older varieties of wheat - einkorn, spelt and khorasan - as well as organic, stoneground (modern) wheat and rye flours. It took me a little while to get into the groove, but I find it easy to fit into my routine now (there isn't much actual work) 😂.

I follow the recommendations from the Zoe project, a very large scale nutrition survey, I wrote about it here. Since then, I've read an article about land use and the contribution of meat farming to climate change; and how food is freighted around the world - air miles are a problem, coming by sea is not so much. My challenge now is finding out how different foods by different retailers do arrive here!

That sounds like you are well versed on the subject. Thanks for the link, I will read it through.

To me they are so expensive, and I see some products called Vegan here but contain milk, so think some things get labelled wrongly.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mypathtofire ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

They seem pricey for sure. I try to buy products that are naturally vegan and don't have an extra markup on them, but there arent so many! !LOL

I don't want my wife any longer.
Her height is perfect.

Credit: reddit
@tengolotodo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mypathtofire

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(4/6)

nice rundown of your local options.
kind of similar to my local one here in England

Thanks. Hopefully there will be more in the future. !CTP !ALIVE

@stuartcturnbull! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I would love to say I am really noble for eating vegan, but I changed initially for my own health benefits and later discovered all the other nightmares that animals are living through.

Thank you for your kind comment. !LUV