I Fancy A New Challenge.

in Cross Culture3 years ago

Untitled design.png

*TDLR: I want to learn #Portuguese. I like learning things and I want a challenge. *

I'm the kind of person that enjoys learning new things. I'm not particularly good at it, I just kinda enjoy doing it.

When I was a teenager, I heard my favourite band for the first time. I immediately knew that I wanted to learn to play guitar so I could write songs like that. I bought a guitar and I learned some basic chords and taught myself how to play all their songs.

5 years ago, I moved to Japan. When I came here, I couldn't speak Japanese at all. Since then I have taught myself in my free time. I guess I am now an intermediate speaker but I can get by in most daily life situations and can read enough kanji to know what is going on.

I guess the point is, I kinda like learning new things.

So what's the plan?

I am an ESL teacher. I teach people English. Therefore lots of people ask me for advice about how to learn a language. I am always happy to help and I tell people things that I wish I had done when I started learning Japanese.

The problem is that I have never actually used that advice myself. I learned Japanese in such a backwards and inefficient way that I learned from my mistakes the hard way. It would be nice to try the strategies out for my self.

I don't have so much free time, but I think I can spend about 15-20 minutes a day to study Portuguese. I have a rough plan of action in my head, but I will share that in another post on another day.

Why Portuguese?

Well, it is not some language I have chosen at random. Even though I have never been to Brazil (yet) My wife is from there. She is 3rd generation Japanese but she was born and raised in Brazil. Portuguese is her native language and I want to learn it so I can communicate with her.

Since we speak together in English, and we live in Japan, she doesn't get the chance to speak Portuguese as much these days and that makes her sad. I would love to be able to speak with her in her native language as I guess it would make us closer.

Also, I kinda want to be able to understand all the bad words she shouts at me when she is angry 🤣

Goal Setting

Goals are good for learning a language because they help you stay motivated. My goals are pretty arbitrary though because the main goal is to practice the tips I give other people, which doesn't really translate into making progress in a new language. Still, goals are good so I should set some.

Anyway, let's say that in 6 months I want to be able to understand 1500 Portuguese words. This should be less than 10 words a day so seems pretty manageable with something like Anki. I quite like Anki, but it can be time consuming. In terms of what words I want to learn, I will focus on the most commonly used words for now, but ones that are relevant to my own experiences.

I also want to be able to make some sentences, so I want to learn some of the most common grammar patterns. I will probably learn a new pattern every few days and write down a bunch of sentences using the pattern every day.

After 6 months, I would like to be able to have a basic conversation with my wife in Portuguese. Nothing too fancy, just enough that she will be impressed 😇

Resources

For this, I have zero clue at this point. I will use Anki to help me memorise words. I will also try to make learn some basic grammar patterns that I think will be useful based on my daily life and needs in the language.

I do enjoy listening to target language materials as much as possible, so I might ask my wife for some interesting podcasts and stuff to practice listening. Input is always valuable when learning a language.

I'm lucky in the fact that I can just ask my wife questions that come up. I have a feeling that her answers will be vague at best though. "It's just that way, why are you questioning it?" Is probably going to be a common phrase in our house for a while.

Moving Forward

I want to document my journey in some way so I will make some sporadic posts on here related to learning Portuguese and my progress. If you are interested in that kind of thing, please keep an eye out for them.

I would also love to hear your advice. I am on the look out for good resources that I can use as well as any language learning tips you may have.

Bonus Cat Pic

If you have made it this far, you deserve a reward. Here is a pic of my cats as a token of my gratitude. This is MelonKun and PanChan trying to share the same cat bed for some reason.

Cats.jpg


Thanks for reading this post. If you want to learn English, then feel free to check the lessons I upload or check out my website for lots of videos, podcasts and articles.

Sort:  

Se você quer aprender português, tem uma grande comunidade de portugueses e brasileiros nessa blockchain. É conversando que treinamos o idioma que queremos aprender.

I will try, but right now, I can barely make a single sentence. I hope to be able to talk to you guys in the future though!

Good luck with this. @revisesociology may be interested as he moved to Portugal from the UK last year and is learning the language. I know the Brazilian version has some differences though.

The only other language I have really learned is German. I did badly at languages at school, but then I went to live in Germany for a couple of years and had to learn it then. I wish I'd had the resources that are available now.

!PIZZA

Oh interesting. I'm a few days in and I have only learned about 30 words and 4 sentence patterns so it might be a while off yet, but I hope I can chat with him in the future!

@dansensei! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

It's so much easier when you have someone to speak with all the time. Now that's how I decide which language I want to focus on (aside from Japanese and Mandarin which I'm always working on).

Wondering what your favorite band was?

My wife is being pretty supportive so far and is even recording audio for my anki cards which is nice. I'm still focussing more on Japanese at the moment though.

For music, I enjoyed stuff like NOFX and Offspring but my first love was Bad Religion tbh - My tastes have evolved since then, but I can always listen to them.

Offspring was my first love and then when I discovered their first two albums I just got sucked in to everything Epitaph. NOFX and Lagwagon were my most played bands. But Refused is probably the one that stood the test of time the best for me

Congratulations @dansensei! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 25

Having someone native to talk to, is a big advantage. Most the language learning videos I watched advise that... In Language, "It's just that way, why are you questioning it?" is perfectly normal, many things become a part of a language over the centuries, even if the reason behind them got lost in history...

!PIZZA !LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@dansensei, you've been given LUV from @ahmadmanga.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (3/10)

@dansensei! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @ahmadmanga.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)