Sort:  

Bring ing up famous people seem like a very big achievement and makes so many people brag all the time. Anyway, I’m glad you shared with us some of the songs you listened to as a kid and you’re making me feel like meeting punk guys, lol

It's interesting how people end up finding their footing in life. What drives them forward, makes them curious. I think for me I had none of that interest until I reached adulthood. A point in my twenties after spending years inside my room, watching so many films and shows that I started to want to explore the world that was often captured within them. I got curious from the creations of others, inspired of follow. Watching things opened the door to so many opportunities, discovering more than just photography, but also admiring nature more, appreciating the arts, even finding interest in things like cooking. I had none of that for years.

I learned to follow the path set out for me by the universe rather than the path I set out by my conscious mind.

Yeah, our minds are pretty much prisons. We get too used to something and easily give ourselves comfort. To think of the realisation that none of that means anything opens the door, to see the universe in all its power and know that you're free to roam as you please without things like anxiety or fear really having any weight.

My partner is similar to you, she didn't discover much of her favorite things until she was much older. It's never too late though. I found those things but actually I had no confidence as a kid and was very very scared to be myself because acting naturally always had punishments. People around me were always looking to put others down and even attack them in subtle ways and it made me overly anxious about sharing anything. That's probably why I share so much now.

Writing can really help with this stuff, regardless of what it is. I really believe we can shape ourselves into whatever we want. There are certain tenancies we have, towards water or towards fire, but we are our own creations.

Man, you sound so much happier than a year or two ago! Hope you don't mind me saying that. I am happy you got out and are enjoying the world.

Man, you sound so much happier than a year or two ago! Hope you don't mind me saying that. I am happy you got out and are enjoying the world.

I knew it was the space I was in that was killing me, I knew it for the longest time. But I just couldn't do anything about it for a while since I was the only person looking after the family dog; sacrificed a lot of opportunity but I don't regret it. Took me a year to get myself back together and make the leap to travel after having told everyone I planned to do so for so many years. At one point my family even said they didn't believe me that I would do it. In the end I didn't even tell them I booked something finally until a week or two before the flight. And I could still tell they assumed I wouldn't actually do it.

I definitely feel the changes. I'm definitely a lot happier, more motivated, and absolutely more outgoing. I've done some crazy things and met so many people along the way. So many stories to tell within just the space of about six months now. Feels like life suddenly kickstarted. I feel like a switch was flicked and suddenly I'm happy to talk to everyone and meet people, no longer feeling any anxiety over it. Actually longing for new connections.

Writing can really help with this stuff, regardless of what it is. I really believe we can shape ourselves into whatever we want. There are certain tenancies we have, towards water or towards fire, but we are our own creations.

Definitely agree there. It's all in our hands, people can guide us and contribute to our wants and successes, but we have to make the moves to create it all. It's all on ourselves. I think that independence and isolation I had for so long contributed to that sudden interest and discovery in everything. When finding something for me became something I could do in my own time and without the influence of others. I think that really helped me discover myself and find out what I liked and who I wanted to be, as well as who I already was and what didn't need changing. Sometimes I think we get too caught up in the idea of flaws when thinking of the self, and not enough thinking on what's good and you're actually doing well.