You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Word of Mouth — My Two Biggest Fans

If you hang out with enough artist, you’ll inevitably make gay friends 😆 my parents can totally accept many things but only if it’s not their kids. Not only that but just being an artist. I had to come out as an artist and an anarchist and as spiritual🧑‍🎨 it was difficult

Sort:  

I remember telling my parents that I thought I was depressed. I had to tell them "something", I said, and I teared up, while pouring the three of us some tea. I felt they were expecting me to say that I was gay but when I told them about my depression, they seemed to think that I was overreacting.

That’s EXACTLY why I said gay, because I knew that they wouldn’t understand the weight of the truth (spirituality, anarchism and art, depression could have been another) so I had to choose something that would be more of a shock to their system. It’s silly that the word “gay” was more of a shock to their system than “artist” or “spiritual”…but I guess it’s because they imagined that artist or spiritual could be pushed aside and “gay”….they have heard lots of stories of people coming out and it being a big deal and also I guess they feared for how I might be treated if I was.

In society "gay" was still seen as more of "the other" even if they didn't have anything against it.

Most of the artists they know are business people first and artists second. Anarchism just sounded like I don't want to grow up to them (I explained that I don't know if it's possible in my lifetime but I believe in pursuing it as an ideal, always). Spiritual doesn't mean I pray...it means everything I do is a prayer.

When I say artist, it meant a lot more than “I make things”. It meant more “I’m going to challenge everything that is considered normal until the day I die, not necessarily fight it, but question publicly and shamelessly ”.

Parents...

It must be tough to be a parent. It still surprises me though that almost everybody chooses to become one. Wonder if that will change in the near future

Man, it's already changed drastically. Look at the age people have kids nowadays, and all the declining populations. Honestly it makes me kind of sad that I wasn't able to find conditions that made me want to have kids, but that's just the era I was born into I guess, more options than before, but fewer stable and clear-cut options. I wasn't willing to make the sacrifices that I would have had to. I kind of hope the next generation will have more options for how they want to raise kids...

Dude my crazy idea is that kids need a supportive community and adults who have their emotional shit together more than they need 2 parental figures. I would love to have a kid-share with a few other like-minded friends.... like 4 kids for 8-12 parents and we pass them all around like their all everyone's kids...too experimental?

Dude my crazy idea is that kids need a supportive community and adults who have their emotional shit together more than they need 2 parental figures. I would love to have a kid-share with a few other like-minded friends.... like 4 kids for 8-12 parents and we pass them all around like their all everyone's kids...too experimental?

I don't think this is crazy at all. I see so many parents who either can't handle their kids or have no time at all for a life without their kids. Also, they can't expect us ( those without kids ) to take over their kids for too long a time. Two days with my niece and nephew already drain me, no matter how well I know them.

P.S. I feel I'm still not too old for kids so I won't say I will never get any but being a father is definitely not a dream of me any longer. It's hard work and I'm not too sure about ( the benefit of ) the world they would grow up in, without meaning to sound too dark.

Cheers!