Hive Music Festival, Week 7, Round 1 - Phrygian Dreams (Original Guitar Solo Part 1 & 2!)

in Threespeaklast year

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


HMF! Week 7! Let's go! :)

Hello everyone and welcome to my entry for this weeks Hive Music Festival! I must begin with saying I apologise for not directly stating week 7 in my introduction - I added it in with text as when I cut my video together I realised I just said round 1! I'm a little spaced out right now, read on to find out why haha!

Before I go any further, just letting you all know there is Part 1 and Part 2 for this solo! Part 2 starts from 2:20! Be sure to listen to that final section too :)

I am playing a 'Phrygian' solo this week - this is the scale that typically can be described as the Egyptian or Persian sounding scale. It definitely has a unique and mystical vibe that I personally love!

This is also the first time I have recorded a solo using this scale, so it was fun for me to challenge myself!

I probably look quite rough as I was in hospital yesterday :/ I have a slipped disc in my back and in severe pain... it has happened to me many years ago and I had surgery 12 years ago to fix it, but the pain has returned... so I had the Doctors injecting me with lots of drugs... anyway, I am ok to sit down now and play guitar which is healing :) wow... there is a lot going on in my life right now haha! We all have things going on... right, rant over, back to the music!

Part 1 of this solo I try to keep it fairly mellow, and then for part 2 (starts around 2:20) I come in with some more intense playing and some tapping! I think I had to concentrate a bit more with this solo as I was thinking more about where the notes are - unlike blues rock where it feels a lot more natrual for me.

You can see the 'CHOEY G' logo in the top right corner, well, that is my musicians name! Some of you already know, but I released my debut album back in July - my album has 9 songs and is called 'TIME?' - if anyone wants some more information just let me know, or search 'CHOEY G' into google and you'll find me! I'd love to share my tunes with you all - maybe next week I will play a solo from one of my original songs :)

Peace and love to you all!

Note - big thanks to @edwardstobia for keeping this festival alive and thriving!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Greetings, my friend. Impressive this cover you bring us with a much more electronic sound, with a touch of distortion that, without a doubt, has been a ticket to an impressive musical journey. Well done... I wish you get better soon and that you can solve all that causes you pain. On the other hand, remember that entries must be posted in the Music community.

Banner_HMF_Ingles.png

Hey @edwardstobia !:) yes, first of all my apologies for not posting this into the music community - I thought that I did but I must have made an error. I was a little spaced out from the hospital visit... but next time I will remember :)
I'm so glad you enjoyed my solo and you love this scale and sound! I really appreciate your support and encouragement! Thanks for doing this for everyone! :D

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Ok, I made it to the presentation of my star guitarist!!! I know I already congratulated you for being one of the winners in the last round but, I must do it again because look at the excellent work you are doing and you have earned that award!

Excellent, I look forward to hearing much more from you. Don't let your guard down, keep giving your best in every presentation!

Blessings my friend, a hug!

pd: you cut my inspiration with that ending jajajaja

Oh yes! I'm so glad you made it!:) thanks so much for the congratulations, it means a lot to me!:) I'm so happy I can share my playing here and that you enjoy it!

Thank you for the continued support and encouragement :) I will keep on uploading guitar videos and growing! Blessings to you my friend :)

I have made a wonderful trip listening to you in that Phrygian way. It is something that I have studied together with various scales. I love those different sounds. Your interpretation has been amazing. I'm sorry you're going through those pains, and I hope you heal and feel better. I have a trumpet and saxophone method where I practice jazz scales, Blues and the Greek scales.

Congratulations on your wonderful performance. Your background guitars are poetry to my eyes.

!LUV

Hey brother! Thank you so much man! Also, thank you for the healing wishes :) means a lot to me! Great to hear what scales you practice on your trumpet and sax - there is so much for us to explore it is great! I'm glad you like my guitars in the background too!:)

Saludos @sunsethunter

Hermanazo mis 2 modos favoritos son el Locrio y el Frigio! Y tienes razón tienen un sonido Egipcio, Medio Oriente, nos hace ir a una época faraonica!

this is the scale that typically can be described as the Egyptian or Persian sounding scale

Hermanazo, que lamentable que haya regresado ésos fuertes dolores a tu espalda, espero de todo corazón te puedas sanar y te sientas mas aliviado, yo también sufro de dolores para a nivel de lumbar!

I probably look quite rough as I was in hospital yesterday :/ I have a slipped disc in my back and in severe pain... it has happened to me many years ago and I had surgery 12 years ago to fix it, but the pain has returned... so I had the Doctors injecting me with lots of drugs... anyway, I am ok to sit down now and play guitar which is healing :

Un abrazo fraternal, eres un increíble guitarrista!

Hey my brother! Thank you so much for this message! I appreciate it very much! That is great that you also love the Phrygian and Locrian scales! I love the middle eastern mystical sound to them, it can be great for soft atmospheric music and also hard rock!

¡Hola, mi hermano! ¡Muchas gracias por este mensaje! ¡Te lo agradezco mucho! ¡Es genial que también te encanten las escalas frigia y locria! Me encanta el sonido místico del Medio Oriente para ellos, ¡puede ser genial para la música atmosférica suave y también para el rock duro!

Amigo, muchas gracias por desearme una pronta recuperación :) todavía está muy mal, ¡pero me mantendré positivo y seguiré visualizando cómo se cura! ¡Gracias!

Dude, thanks so much for wishing me a speedy recovery :) it is really bad still, but I will stay positive and keep on visualizing it healing! Thank you!

First I want to wish you a speedy healing, I sincerely hope you can get better.

I really like when musicians know how to handle the dynamics in a song, that first you start softly to finish in a thunderous way is great... Excellent work.

Thank you so much @mirel0510 !:) so great to hear this from you, and it is great that you could feel the way I was building up the solo :)

Thanks for the healing wishes, I sure hope I get better soon! Really appreciate you!:)

Congratulations @sunsethunter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 5000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 10
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!