Meditative Reflections - Intermittent fasting knock on benefits

in SpiritWeb4 years ago

I'm intermittent fasting today, which means I'm currently hungry as I'm skipping breakfast, which I'd usually be eating round about now (8.25 a.m).

My base motivation for fasting really is quite base - I'm having a few days off running due a slight injury and I don't want to gain weight.

However, - I'm also finding there are other benefits too:

Now I've disciplined myself to give up one thing, eating for a while, it makes giving up other 'habits' easier too - so while I maybe hungry, I'm also in 'self-discipline' mode which means I'm find it much easier ATM to control my urge to give into my usual varied distractions such as:

  • Splinterlands
  • Checking email and other social media
  • Playing around on the exchanges
  • Generally just idling about on Hive
  • Getting up to make a cup of tea (although I'm sure that will come).

As a result I'm crunching through my daily chores list much faster than usual, and I'm not even minding being hungry, in fact I can feel that my stomach is appreciating the break.

I'm not sure why changing one thing makes it easier to change everything else? Maybe it is because eating is so fundamental to our being, and so inherently 'comforting' (temporarily) that it's the perfect hook for other bad habits (like micro-distracting activities) to cling to?

I don't know, or perhaps this is all just ego 'I' get a boost out of cranking up the self-discipline several notches rather than the middle path.

Actually it's probably both - the first is true, the later the possible pitfall.

Anyway, I guess this is something to be thankful for: my slight injury misfortune means I have no choice but to cut my food intake down, and then there are knock on benefits - my quality of consciousness and self-discipline are very much improved today!

I'll be spending a few more minutes sitting on this, for sure!

20200513_165417 3.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Lol what do we know, it seems sometimes some misfortunes that happens to us turns out to be quite good for us to set up and do things we normally won't dedicate our time to. So how's the fasting going?

Fasting is going fine, mainly because I just had a hot chocolate and an apple as my belated breakfast - but I held out for 14 hours overnight.

I like to think of it as 'the middle way'.

Lol the 'middle way' isn't so bad at all hahaha 14 hours, well not too monstrous but you held out quite well 🤣

I'm trying to be 'kind' to myself, I want my self-discipline to stretch into the future, so gently gently.

I've done it before where I've gone hard on cutting things out and it's all just backfired after a few days!

Intermittent fasting is something I've never tried before and based on what I've heard, it has potential. How long do you fast at a time? How frequently do you fast?

The standard way to do it is an 8 hour eating window, which I think for most means just skipping breakfast and eating between 11.00 to 19.00, then 16 hours off.

I think it's supposed to be a daily thing.

Personally I aim for 18.30 to 8.30 for my food free time with a 8.30-18.30 eating window, which isn't really fasting, but gives me a 10 hour eating window.

I don't do proper IF that frequently, only when I can't exercise.

I'm going to aim for 2-3 days a week of skipping breakfast and pushing that start time back to 11.00 though, maybe even 13.00.

TBH if I can get to 11.00 it's easy enough to carry on to 13.00, or even 17-18.00

It's the morning hunger that's the challenge.

Awesome! If there's one thing that I believe could help spurn a change in humanity's health, it would be to eat less often. Such a great tool for mental strength, not to mention the longevity and anti-inflammatory benefits as added bonuses. Plus more time for meditation! Great stuff.

Your post has been featured in the What's Up ecoTrain curation. Thank you for sharing great content to the ecoTrain community!

https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/what-s-up-from-the-ecotrain-community-on-hive