I finally have a peyote in my collection, Lophophora williamsii.

Holy shit, I finally have what I was looking for and I need your help @nikv and @ewkaw, despite being a cactus native to Mexico, in my country it is very difficult to find information about the species, the traffic and consumption of peyote have made talking about the plant something uncomfortable, today I could finally get my hands on one of them to add it to my collection, it is very small, too small, it is barely a year old and the truth is that I don't know how I should take care of it.

Peyote-3.jpg

Even with macro photography it looks small, so imagine how small it is. What I am wondering is if I should leave it where it is or transplant it to stimulate its growth, it is very small about half a centimeter.

Peyote.jpg

Peyote-2.jpg

Let me tell the story quickly, in one of the nurseries where I go to buy, they have a whatsapp group which I joined, all the people share pictures of their garden but there was one that caught my attention for the great variety of cactus that he has, I asked him if I could visit his garden and he said yes, and since he has these small peyotes he gave me one and I really appreciate it, he also gave me more cactus that I show you below.

Peyote-5.jpg

Peyote-6.jpg

Peyote-7.jpg

I will be honest, he told me the names of all these cactus but I forgot them, I was so excited to see so many varieties that I didn't pay much attention to the name, although it could also be that between so many names that he told me was the cause of my confusion, the great news is that I agreed to return in a couple of days since I will bring him the offspring of the cactus that I have and he does not.

Peyote-4.jpg

Peyote-8.jpg

From this cactus he gave me four offspring, and although at first I thought they might have some kind of plague because of its texture, when I saw the macro photographs I think that this cactus is like this because it has the same conditions all over the plant, and I really like it (Although I do observe some mealybug residues, I will fumigate them).

Peyote-9.jpg

Peyote-10.jpg

Finally the huernia zebrina that I recently brought from the nursery is responding quite well to the transplant and its new location in my garden, it has already started to fill with flowers and I am very happy about it.

Tomorrow I will show you some pictures that I took in this person's garden, I think they will look great but I need to finish editing the pictures.

Sort:  

That Peyote is so tiny!
What Nikv said - they grow very slow. I have grown some from seed and they must be the slowest growing cacti I sowed. But it is cute :)

The second and third look like Gymnocalycium.

The second and third look like Gymnocalycium.

You're absolutely right, he told me they were that type.

And about the peyote, it is really small, I think because it was a gift and I had been looking for one for a long time, I have grown fond of it, it is becoming my favorite.

 2 years ago  

Congratulations! Peyote is very slow and that's a normal size for 1 year old. The surface of the plant is weird though, I suspect that it has some red spider mites and it should be fumigated. The best way to prevent red spiders is to make sure that the plant is exposed to the weather and gets dew. Since you live in Mexico, I think you should experiment with simply growing it outside and letting it get a natural amount of water from the rain and keep it dry in winter. Since it's still so small, don't grow it in full sun yet, let it get a few hours of morning sun only. They seem to like a fairly mineral, calcium-rich soil. I used a local mix for growing cycads and added crushed eggshells to that, since our soils are acidic and it seems happy enough. It is possible to cause rampant growth by putting peyote in a compost mix and watering it often but that will create a plant that is prone to rot

I am thinking of using tezontle which is the crushed lava rock with some worm humus, I bought the tezontle and it is what you see in this picture, I hope that in a few hours (after sleeping) I will transplant it to some clay pot, I will follow your advice, I still have fumigant so I will give it some.

Thanks for your advice 😉

 2 years ago (edited) 

Keep is updated! Crushed lava rock should work well. Although that plant seems worst affected, it would be wise to fumigate all the plants you received and keep them separate from your own plants until you know they are pest free

In fact I was seeing that they do have some mealybug, I have already fumigated and separated them as you recommend, thanks for your advice.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!