You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I finally have a peyote in my collection, Lophophora williamsii.

in Succulent growers2 years ago

Congratulations! Peyote is very slow and that's a normal size for 1 year old. The surface of the plant is weird though, I suspect that it has some red spider mites and it should be fumigated. The best way to prevent red spiders is to make sure that the plant is exposed to the weather and gets dew. Since you live in Mexico, I think you should experiment with simply growing it outside and letting it get a natural amount of water from the rain and keep it dry in winter. Since it's still so small, don't grow it in full sun yet, let it get a few hours of morning sun only. They seem to like a fairly mineral, calcium-rich soil. I used a local mix for growing cycads and added crushed eggshells to that, since our soils are acidic and it seems happy enough. It is possible to cause rampant growth by putting peyote in a compost mix and watering it often but that will create a plant that is prone to rot

Sort:  

I am thinking of using tezontle which is the crushed lava rock with some worm humus, I bought the tezontle and it is what you see in this picture, I hope that in a few hours (after sleeping) I will transplant it to some clay pot, I will follow your advice, I still have fumigant so I will give it some.

Thanks for your advice 😉

 2 years ago (edited) 

Keep is updated! Crushed lava rock should work well. Although that plant seems worst affected, it would be wise to fumigate all the plants you received and keep them separate from your own plants until you know they are pest free

In fact I was seeing that they do have some mealybug, I have already fumigated and separated them as you recommend, thanks for your advice.