Dash out time again!

in ReggaeJAHM3 years ago

AC571A1A-9660-41DC-A107-F7F794202E6C.png
Did I say I was gonna have a Golden week? I meant it. On Saturday I tried out my grandma’s plantain porridge recipe and upgraded it. Take a look 👀
853CF640-1587-4A8E-908A-59F6A7527985.jpeg

60CD20FB-6271-410D-A12B-FB7AA1370128.jpeg

Sunday morning I woke later than usual and decided to have this for brunch.
1AC9890B-AED2-487C-8B1B-04EAB9B40912.jpeg

D7DFC7B5-EC11-44BD-BD53-4EB272EAE64F.jpeg

C4A824DE-6EF5-45AD-A8F6-181877BB5CD7.jpeg
I had some bristle bone / chicken cartilage and some chicken skin. It’s interesting the things we miss from home. It’s also amazing that while people in this first class country see it fit to sell and eat something like chicken skin , in Jamaica it’s considered to be dog food 🤷🏿‍♂️ beats me.

Anyway, having the place to myself , I decided to invite one of my bro’s to my place for a hangout and some food. I went to the halal store but they didn’t have the leg and thigh cuts that I like to use for jerking. I did have small while chickens - so I grabbed one of those.
28D0459E-9B56-4EFB-8C63-80381D89D75A.jpeg

A3EF2BFE-0B85-476F-A03F-2695366A483E.jpeg

AF1F1924-A996-4C34-88E4-B46A0ED9E7FB.jpeg

5611C134-CE08-4E86-8BF6-814C417A9223.jpeg
Wash with vinegar or lemon, split that bird open, clean it up, wash again. Use your preferred herbs and spices. It would be great to leave for a while but I didn’t have time so I rubbed it with some jerk sauce. Dropped it in the oven/grill and grilled each side for 30 mins. Then I brushed it with some bbq sauce and repeated the grilling process. Fantastic!
I decided to add a few more things, some rice and peas , boiled yam 🍠, potatoes 🥔. Some brown stewed liver, a bit of grilled beef and a few pieces of fried fish. It sounds like a lot but it was just a little bit of a few things. Dinner was indeed an IndelibleVibration

94E35A1C-B3A8-46DE-9905-DCF6F84E5869.jpeg

10F6DD92-2AA7-4700-867B-3A90FCA75179.jpeg

BC2EE9D8-C20A-4A04-949B-D0A43C23B625.jpeg

CDBA151A-0E8E-4C0C-8CE8-3769A0522F1E.jpeg

EAE1FAC6-8665-4FE5-8F58-789313FB3332.jpeg
As you kick back at home to relax and unwind , don’t forget your friends. If you get the urge to call and check up on someone- do just that. Giving a call , sharing a meal or an encouraging word could make a huge difference in somebody’s life. Hold the faith and walk good.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Is nuff food dat yuh nuh!!! Some good good food too.

Mi want a one day to miself star, bere parkingz 😆! Just about to head to another

 3 years ago  

😂 I got two days to miself , park vibes is tomorrow, heading to the gatden store now for some plants to get my little garden going again.

Okay, I'm gonna pass on that chicken as Italist, but that porridge looks right, even got the proper crackers too. Let the Jamaicanese feast begin. Bless up!


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

 3 years ago  

😆 leave the bird , no worries. I actually got my hands on some vege chunks on the weekend. It was too much to cook yesterday. I will deal with it. The plantain porridge was great for a first attempt.

Chunks, another Jamaican classic.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

 3 years ago  

You've had the crackers?! I love them so much.

I'm so Jamaican I've never even been to the beach yet, at least not in JA. Yeah, I don't know how you all call your special crackers, but the Jamaican kind are very unique.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

 3 years ago  

Very Jamaican yes. On the package it’s “Exelsior Water Crackers” but people call it tuff crackers, waata crackers, biscuit, crackers.
You hadn’t gone to the beach? Oh man! That’s one of the best parts.

 3 years ago  

Big up yuself general. Love di dashout vibe and di fren tune. Love to di family.

 3 years ago  

Give thanks mi Bredda.

 3 years ago  

Love the dashout @missaj!! Yes sah!!!! Real thing this. Couldn’t tell when last I had plantain in general. Porridge look good eee! Lovely spread.
Fi real, we have to look our for our friends.

 3 years ago  

ʙɪɢ ᴜᴘ ʏᴏᴜʀsᴇʟғ ʙᴇᴄᴀᴜsᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ɪs ғᴇᴀᴛᴜʀᴇᴅ ɪɴ ᴏᴜʀ

JAHMin' Posts Of The Week [April 26th - May 2nd, 2021] DashoutSundays, Leveling Up, 2021 Olympics, & Dancehall Moves in Venezuela

manually curated by @JustinParke on behalf of @ReggaeJAHM

77.png

⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ɪʀɪᴇ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ʀᴇɢɢᴀᴇᴊᴀʜᴍ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ʀᴇɢɢᴀᴇᴊᴀʜᴍ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ ʀᴇɢɢᴀᴇ/ʜɪᴘ-ʜᴏᴘ ᴄᴜʟᴛᴜʀᴇ & ᴄᴀʀɪʙʙᴇᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ | 50 ʜᴘ | 100 ʜᴘ | 500 ʜᴘ | 1,000 ʜᴘ


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 3 years ago  

Fried chicken skin is here also a delicious snack; in the Javanese population especially haha Almost everything will be cooked/eaten.

 3 years ago  

That's interesting. 😃

 3 years ago  

Yes, I've also tried the "tail" of a chicken on skewers, because some friends of my parents knew it as a snack. I was like "try it at least once" and it looked edible, but didn't like it. Was way too greasy for me, which made me a bit dizzy.

It looked like something like this:

image.png

 3 years ago  

It looks quite fancy on skewers. I had it as a kid. Yes, it’s greasy. Back in Jamaica, they usually joke and say that if one eats that part of the chicken, they’ll become talkative. I don’t know the reason. 😆It’s usually said in patois so writing it here in English seems and feels funny. 😂😂
If someone is talking too much, they’d be accused as having eaten that part of the chicken.

 3 years ago  

Ahahaaa yeah and because of the skewers I tried it out. I had enough from a piece though.

Hahaha ok what's the patois word for it? Hopefully I'll remember it.

Plantain/banana porridge? hmm, that's like smoothies texture? I wonder about it.

Oh, have a great day!

 3 years ago  

It does have a smooth or smoothie-like texture. It's sweetened and served hot or warm.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png