🍽 Brown Bean, Rice and Chicken || Dash Out Sunday Week #4 ( The Food Pic Contest ) 🍴

in ReggaeJAHM β€’ 4 years ago

IMG_20200830_175254__01.jpg


Today I went for a traditional Surinamese dish. Even though the country has multiple ethnicities, this is a dish generally known and available to all and a go-to comfort for many. Brown beans originally come from South-America and I think it became popularized during the harder times after slavery as an easy to acquire cheap food. I may be wrong as I couldn't find more on the topic.

IMG_20200830_190925__01.jpg

Brown Bean, Rice, Chicken and Spicy Chicken Gizzards


The dish is known as "Bruine Bonen met Rijst". That's in Dutch, which is my native language, and it literally translates to Brown Beans and Rice. I add minced pork to mine, because I like it that way and makes it more like a chili con carne I guess. Also, there were some mushrooms in the fridge, so I put them. I paired it with some juicy drumsticks and a side of spicy pan-seared chicken gizzards.


image.png

What do you need?

Brown Beans and Rice
Chicken
Spicy gizzards
ricedrumstickschicken gizzard
1 can of brown beanschopped onionschopped onions
chopped onionschopped garlicchopped chilies (lots)
chopped garlicchopped chiliessugar
chopped chiliesblack soy saucesalt
minced porksaltblack soy sauce
saltpepperketjap sauce
black pepperminced ginger
allspice
sliced mushrooms
tomatoes/tomato paste

Can't really give exact amounts, because I work with the 'seems about right' technique. πŸ˜…

image.png



Instructions

For the beans heat up some oil and cook the onions, tomato paste, garlic and chilies until the onions are soft and the garlic light brown. Then add the mushrooms and minced pork and cook until the pork isn't raw anymore. Finally add the beans and allspice and let it simmer on low for about 20 mins or until it's a bit thick. Add salt and pepper to taste.
IMG_20200830_183012.jpgIMG_20200830_185553__01.jpg

For the chicken marinade first with some salt, black soy sauce, onions, ginger and garlic. Then heat up some oil throw in the chicken. Add some water and some sugar and salt to taste. Let it simmer until the chicken is cooked.
IMG_20200830_182120.jpgIMG_20200830_185600__01.jpg

And then there's the gizzard. You have to boil these in water first to soften them up. Then you can stir fry them together with all ingredients until they become a bit sticky.
IMG_20200830_182111.jpgIMG_20200830_185539.jpg

image.png

How was your Sunday?

image.png

This was part of the Dash Out Sunday contest hosted by @dmilliz in the ReggaeJAHM Community.

Check out the most recent contest winners here.

Thank you for reading. πŸ™ƒ

[ Uniquely clever sign out message goes here ] ✌️✌️✌️

Sort: Β 

Surinamers love their brown beans. This looks tastier than what I've seen people pay for in restaurants here.

Β 4 years agoΒ Β 

You can say that again. Some would probably hang me for adding the mushrooms. πŸ˜‚

Maybe I should open a restaurant. Not a bad idea for when I inevitably retire early. :)

I just miss mushrooms when I saw your first pict :)

Β 4 years agoΒ Β 

They're one of my favorite ingredients to use. I buy them in bulk and find an excuse to put them in just about anything. πŸ˜…

Β 4 years agoΒ Β 

Well done, that is a good looking dish and post. I like that border you used😁. That is a lot of beans.

Β 4 years agoΒ Β 

Thanks! With 2 people those are gone in 2 days or less. πŸ˜‚

yeah, I used that border for my first entry as well. It also has almost all of the colors of my flag, so that makes it even nicer. Hope you don't mind. I probably should've asked first tho. 😐

Hello @rarej
This really looks good, it already made me do it and devour it.
It's a great post, I really liked the design, but I'd really rather eat a good plate of that stuff you brought to share.
And how about the taste? How did it go joining black soy sauce, onions, ginger and garlic?

Β 4 years agoΒ Β 

Thanks for the compliments man. If you can find the ingredients, maybe you can give it a go. :)

It tastes great! Savory with a hint of sweet. The combination of black soy sauce, onions, ginger and garlic is a common type of marinade here that every beginner cook learns and usually the base for BBQ marinade as well.

Congratulations @rarej! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.
You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.
You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Β 4 years agoΒ Β 

Nice! Keep em coming! :)

3 at once! Well done @rarej, you are on fire! Keep up the good workπŸ‘πŸ™‚

Β 4 years agoΒ Β 

Thank you for the encouragement πŸ’ͺ

You're welcome @rarejπŸ‘πŸ™‚