Unexpected Eggs and Toast in Plymouth, UK !

in TravelFeed2 years ago (edited)

0018.jpg

Travelling the UK on a Shoestring

I am a Brit and I absolutely love travelling around my country of birth. Up until now, all of my travel blogs on the Hive have been about my tropical adventures, but the truth is that wherever I go, I like to soak up all that I can - and mostly on a shoestring. While I was living in London, I often planned daytrips out based on which rail journeys were on special offer that weekend. I recall many tickets costing under £10. It meant that I could go more often and it also meant that I had the opportunity to visit a LOT of UK places on the cheap. I just checked to see if this is still possible and I see that there is still a cheap fare finder, which has journeys for £15 or under, which - given inflation - does not seem that bad.

However, this trip to Plymouth about 8 years ago was completely unplanned and we ended up travelling by coach from Victoria Coach Station on a rather long and slightly uncomfortable overnight coach ride. We hadn't actually been heading to Plymouth, but to Dartmoor. We had a booking at a farm on Dartmoor for the next day and could not cancel. The moors were calling us! Unfortunately, there had been some confusion at the rental car place in Victoria Station, London, which resulted in not being able to hire a rental car, as planned. At first we were devastated, as it was the middle of summer and no other cars were available, but then we found a cheap coach that could take us to the south-west for the next day. Yippee!

Every Cloud has a Silver Lining.

Every cloud has a silver lining and we ended up renting a car from Plymouth instead and thereby getting to experience breakfast in Plymouth too. If you've never been, I'd highly recommend it! We were certainly pleasantly surprised. The sun was just rising when the coach finally drew into Plymouth and we could take a stroll to stretch our legs and get some fresh air, a coffee and breakfast (with our luggage - luckily we travel light and the paths were fairly even!). As the sun rose over the quay in Plymouth, I took these pictures of the marina.

0004.jpg

0005.jpg

Plymouth is steeped in history, owing a lot to its maritime past, and is also the home of Plymouth Gin. It had a laidback feel that took me quite aback. It certainly was a welcome pitstop after the 7 hour overnight National Express coach journey which had started at 11pm and arrived at Plymouth coach station at 5.55 am, after long arguments with the rental car people.

0003.jpg

0006.jpg
The town centre is quaint and is home to a wide range of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Some of the buildings - like the ones in this picture below- reminded me of the architecture common in Kent, UK, where I grew up. Lots of wooden beams and old pubs.

0007.jpg

Plymouth is affectionately known as Britain’s Ocean City and these pictures show you just why....

0009.jpg

0010.jpg

0011.jpg

As well as the waterfront, other attractions we saw on our stroll were the aquarium, the lido, the lighthouse and the Dome - as well as some quirky marine sculptures.

0012.jpg

0013.jpg

Eggs and Toast

And then we found somewhere for breakfast! I don't think this place exists anymore, sadly as I have been unable to locate it. (I'd love it if I'm proven wrong!) It was on the quay somewhere and it had a unique concept of toast and eggs, with a myriad of different breads to enjoy - freshly baked on the premises.
0017.jpg
0014.jpg

These were the bakers making the bread early morning as we boiled our own eggs and sliced our own bread.
0015.jpg

0019.jpg

– And of course, we looked forward to the spectacular views of Dartmoor, just a short drive away!!

Thanks for Reading!

Have you ever had to take a detour and ended up enjoying it? Unexpected places are always my favourites!

Lots of Love,

Marley and Me! xxx


All photos are my own

Sort:  

Oh! This was 8 years ago? Have you not gone back after all these years? A stroll in Plymouth definitely is worth the visit with those boats, laidback vibes, and amazing view of the ocean! ❤️

I've mostly been out of the country so I haven't had a chance to go back yet !

Great update, I fancy to visit Plymouth now! !LOL

I always try to use the word mucho around my Spanish-speaking friends.
It means a lot to them.

Credit: reddit
@marleyandme, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mypathtofire
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(2/4)

Do it! Go to Dartmoor also 😃

I might do one day. Mostly we visit Exmoor if we are in the west country

Hi @marleyandme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @marleyandme! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!