A Raspberry Pi Rescue

in Just Because2 years ago
December 21st, 2021
Temperature 10F/-12C


When Computers Stop

It happens, it seems it always happens at a bad time. Computers just stop working for what ever reason. Un-noticed fan failure, or maybe sudden graphic card failure, or maybe they know it is Christmas Season and Microsoft needed a few extra dollars, not likely but always a fun thought, programmed obsolescence.

My desktop was built in 2012 and it had Windows 7 Pro. Windows 8 was available, but I wanted nothing to do with it. Microsoft seems to have bypassed Windows 9, I never heard much if anything about a windows 9, and jumped up to Windows 10. I think 7 ate 9, (I know stupid lame joke), and now we are in Windows 11 time frame.

I'm not looking forward to Windows 11. It may well become as useful and loved in its own way as Windows 7. I know there were lots of problems with Win 7, as with all Windows operating systems. I liked it though. I liked how clean the screen was the menu system was and pretty much how well it ran normal things.

With it being Christmas season, this computer failure was unexpected and a rather annoying time for it to happen. But like the Post title says A Raspberry Pi Rescue. Last year I had this post from November 11th, 2020: https://peakd.com/hive-163521/@bashadow/un-boxing-the-future

I had taken the plunge into the world of python. I played with it a little bit off and on over the course of buying it, not a whole lot, but some.

It is not a very big computer, but a computer it is. It is not a very powerful computer, but powerful enough for me to visit Hive Block Chain, and Amazon Prime. Amazon Prime Video at first did not want to work or play videos for me. So a simple search and less than 15 minutes after Amazon's first refusal to play movies, I was watching a series. (Starhunter Redux, an old series).

I don't have any games and the last time I tried I was not real successful on using the Raspberry Pi for games, I just did not put a lot of effort into finding games or making them work. Libre Office works like a champ. So I can surf, I can watch movies, and I can play with my spreadsheets, so for now it does enough of what I need except the game aspect, but I still have that annoying lap-top, and my X-box for games.

Not a disaster by any stretch of the imagination, just an inconvenience of timing. Tomorrow or the next day I'll get around to cleaning the guts, see if any fans work and try to revive my desktop, I have become immensely use to viewing things on my big screen and do not like the lap-top size screen.

Some times small packages can hold some good surprises. The movie ran fine and PeakD ran fine, maybe when I have to get that Windows 11 Computer most of the bugs and issues will be worked out.

Back up your keys


That is what made the set-up and use of my Raspberry Pi so easy, I had my KEYS all backed up, and knew where they were.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to All.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

The exact same shi...woops thing happened to me, bye bye PC! And yeah people, back up your keys, listen to us!!

THe Raspberry Pi is dope, we wanted to build one with my son, as he loves Cpu like his old dad. Merry Christmas to you!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 86 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
15

Thank you very much appreciated.