First disappearing snow fall

in Just Because3 years ago
October 14th, 2021
Temperature 36F/2.2C

First Snow

It had to happen sooner or later, and it happened over night and this morning. We had our first completely insignificant snow of the season. I mention in my driveway saga post significant snow, I suppose I should say what I mean by that.

Snow that is at least one inch and remains on the ground for at least two days before melting away. This morning the temperature was 36 degrees and it was a slight mix of snow and rain, not exactly fun to drive in, so I did not.

First snow image from 10:46 AM I was surprised the snow lasted this far and a little bit beyond. Had I not slept in so long I may have been able to show just a little bit more snow, but with it being a mix of rain and snow that would be questionable.

So just a smattering of snow, we will likely get some more snow since the birds are already here to ask for hand outs. They tend to do that when the weather is going to the birds so to speak.


Here we are a few hours later at 13:38 (1:38 PM).
Snow gone by 1:38 PM Not much left jsut a few puddles in the driveway. The temperature warmed up to 39 F/3.8 C by that time.

It is actually pretty pleasant feeling outside right now, (3:30), no wind and just enough moisture to make it feel like a pretty nice winter T-shirt weather day. That will change though any wind, or increase in the moisture or a clearing of the skies, the temperature will drop and it will feel cold.

The weather is strange like that in Northern Climates, I am pretty sure it is like that in most of the Northern world. Only a person living in the North knows what it is like to wear just a t-shirt outside in freezing or below freezing weather.

There is no doubt now, winter is here, mix of snow and rain, and a hope we do not have a freezing rain winter.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

That’s one beautiful land there. We only get a few snows per winter here in WV (USA). This makes me both dread and feel excitement towards our first snow here. Should be another few months before that happens.

Are you nearby? I assume somewhere further north of course. Could be anywhere across the globe though.

Btw I like how you organize your blog. Looks good.

I think we are all stocked up for the winter, hopefully we have enough puppy pad boxes, and will get one more just in case box on our next run. Last year there was a few times when they were as scarce as human toilet paper.

I was in Oklahoma city when the Will Rogers airport got shut down, closed for the first time in its history because of snow fall. It was a funny time to be there, I had at that point lived in Alaska for 4 winters and had never been snowed in, as in locked in the hose because I could not open the door. Screen doors swing out not in.

Thanks for the blog organization like. There really is no rhyme or reason for what I post other than my financial tracking post, I like doing them.

That’s crazy man. I imagine AK has some of the most tranquil locations.
Never been there or to OK

That’s the main thing, having fun with your posts.

I do enjoy Hive for the fun aspects of it, games and silly content and all.

Alaska is a very different place, I lived in a lot of places visited a lot of places, even moved back to the lower 48 once, (didn't like it much), and moved back. I feel kind of sorry for those that only visit during the summer, they think they experienced Alaska, all they really got was a taste and a lot of mosquito bites to complain about.

I am sure there are somethings more thrilling in the world than driving on a frozen river hoping the ice is thick enough and solid enough that you and your car are not going to crash through and freeze to death, but I don't know about those other thrilling things, but that frozen river highway, that is fun.

That part about driving on ice reminds me of The Ice Road with Liam Neeson. Granted that was in northern Canada, but that’s surely some similar country.

Very much similar, Although from experience I think the Yukon and Northwest territories have much bigger, faster and meaner mosquitoes than Alaska.

I don’t know what would be worse… Giant mosquitoes that you can see from far away. Or invisible mosquitoes like the no-see-ums I encountered in PR.

Insignificant today, but much more significant yet to come just around the corner, no doubt. We have felt the changing of the guard here in the UK too with regard to the seasons, not to such an extreme though. Good call on the choosing not to drive of course, sometimes it is unavoidable but when it is avoidable, only one sensible option exists, right?

I envy you the amazing scenery that surrounds your place, living in a concrete jungle, I could only guess how liberating it must be.

May winter treat you and yours well my friend, with no sign of bloody freezing rain!

!PIZZA

I and my wife are just hoping the first real snow doesn't happen util late in November, but I would take snow over the freezing rain days we an often have at this time of year. We are ready for it, or at least as ready as we can be.

I think I remember your first "Significant" snowfall was right around Thanksgiving last year.?.? Winter is on it's way and will be here in full force before we know it. Please just remember to keep all of the white stuff up there with you this year. No need to share the love with us on the East Coast. We're fine without any. 😆

Nothing pisses me off more than 32deg and rain. It just gets right to your bones.

Yeah, our first significant snows are starting right around Thanksgiving, and ruining life for a lot of people because that first real snow fall comes with a load of auto accidents, and Thanksgiving is one of those - going somewhere - time frames.

It was bad when it was Halloween for the first snows, but at least then people that were driving were driving real slow and cautious because of all the little kids running and having fun.

Only a person living in the North knows what it is like to wear just a t-shirt outside in freezing or below freezing weather.

I Had to chuckle at the above statement you made. While I was up there about fifty years ago, we got word that the temperature had dropped one evening to -50 degrees, with a wind-chill factor of -80...

It seemed a wise and logical idea for me to step outside with just a t-shirt on, to show my friends how unfazed and tough I was... Someone slammed the door shut and held it closed. Fortunately, I was able to overpower them with the help of my leg pressed against the door frame as I pulled on the door handle with both hands😎

Just another fond memory I have of beautiful, yet frigid, Alaska...

The temperature extremes can be pretty wild at times. I just do not like getting fully bundled up just to be outside for one minute dealing with the garbage or pre-heating the car.

PIZZA! PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stevenwood(3/10) tipped @bashadow (x1)
pixresteemer tipped bashadow (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
!PIZZA
8

Thank you for the rehive and also for the Pizza, I don't have enough pizza for a return slice sorry.