Throwback to my Musical Childhood [Eng-Esp]


Today is #tbt Thursday. Right now I don't have so many images to share, I just want to focus on two pictures that bring to my mind beautiful memories of a very important stage in my life. In these pictures I am only 9 years old but they are of two very important moments in my way to become a musician, but the special thing about these two pictures is that they do not belong to my family album, those big books that have saved in pictures phase of my life, but they have been given to me by my aunt Nelly Nohemi, both belong to her.

¡Hoy es Jueves de #tbt!. Justo ahora no tengo tantas imágenes que compartir, solo me quiero enfocar en dos fotografías que traen a mi mente hermosos recuerdos de una etapa muy importante en mi vida. En estas fotografías tengo solo 9 años de edad pero son de dos momentos muy importante en mi camino a convertirme en un músico, pero lo especial de estas dos fotografías es que no pertenecen a mi álbum familiar, esos grandes libros que tienen guardados en imágenes fase de mi vida, sino que me las ha regalado mi tía Nelly Nohemi, ambas pertenecen a ella.

Since I was very young I was surrounded by music and musicians and sang in many children's choral groups, in fact I dare to say that I was a star in my elementary school, but a star for the teachers and staff of the institution because for my classmates I was just the weird kid who sang Venezuelan popular music 😅 Despite going through so many groups and having been part of the Orchestra System for a short time, the one that most inspired me to be a musician was the Teresa Carreño Foundation, in Caña de Azúcar, or maybe in El Limón, I don't remember well...

Desde muy pequeño estuve rodeado de música y de músicos y canté en muchas agrupaciones corales infantiles, de hecho me atrevo a decir que era una estrella en mi escuela básica, pero una estrella para los maestros y personal de la institución porque para mis compañeros de clase solo era el chico raro que cantaba música popular venezolana 😅 A pesar de pasar por tantas agrupaciones y haber sido parte del Sistema de Orquestas un breve tiempo, la que más me inspiró a ser músico fue la Fundación Teresa Carreño, en Caña de Azúcar, o quizás en el Limón, no recuerdo bien...

In both pictures you can see me wearing my liqui liqui, a suitable costume to sing the folklore music, but in the picture above I am accompanied by my teacher Shamú and my cousins, my aunt Nelly's children. In this foundation the children had some artistic class depending on their age, but after the recess every day the activities were rotated and finally we went through all the classes... To explain myself better, the children of 7 years old were in dance, but after the recess I could play music on Mondays, theater on Tuesdays, and so on, every day there was a fixed activity and a varied one, it was very fun for them.

En ambas fotografías pueden verme vestir mi liqui liqui, un vestuario adecuado para cantar la música del folklore, pero en la fotografía de arriba me acompaña mi profesor Shamú y mis primos, los hijos de mi tía Nelly. En esta fundación los niños tenían alguna clase artística dependiendo de su edad, pero luego del receso todos los días se rotaban las actividades y finalmente pasábamos por todas las clases... Para explicarme mejor, lo niños de 7 años estaban en danza, pero luego del receso podía tocarles música los lunes, teatro los martes, y así, todos los días había una actividad fija y una variada, era muy divertido para ellos.

For me the situation was different, they were exploiting me 🤣 I was playing music even though I was not my age, and in fact after recess I was also playing music 😂 I don't know what strange agreement there was between the teachers, my aunt who worked there and my parents, but even though I was left with the desire to be in dances, I remember very fondly every concert with this teacher that you see in the photo and these children, in fact I had to sing many, many solos and that made me very happy and gave me more strength on my way to becoming a singer. Really a very nice childhood... This brings me to this second picture:

Para mí la situación fue distinta, me estaban explotando 🤣 a mí me tocaba música aunque no fuera mi edad, y de hecho después del receso también me tocaba música 😂 No sé qué convenio extraño había entre los profesores, mi tía que trabajaba ahí y mis papás, pero aunque me quedé con las ganas de estar en danzas, recuerdo con mucho cariño cada concierto con este profesor que ven en la foto y estos niños, de hecho a mí me tocó cantar muchos, muchos solos y eso me hacía muy feliz y me daba más fuerzas en mi camino a convertirme en un cantante. Realmente una infancia muy bonita... Esto me lleva a esta segunda fotografía:



This second picture made me cry with happiness when I found out it existed, a couple of years ago already. That beautiful lady is my grandmother. She was only in my life my first 12 years, but the love was so much that I still close my eyes and I can feel the warmth of her hugs. She was my dad's mom and she didn't like to have her picture taken, so there aren't many, plus in the 90's there were no digital cameras to take pictures over and over again. There are some pictures where she holds me as a baby, but there is no picture or selfie between her and me, this image is unique, special and is a treasure for me.

Esta segunda fotografía me hizo llorar de felicidad cuando me enteré que existía, hace un par de años ya. Esa hermosa Señora es mi abuela. Solo estuvo en mi vida mis primeros 12 años, pero el amor fue tanto que aún cierro los ojos y puedo sentir el calor de sus abrazos. Era la mamá de mi papá y no le gustaba que le tomaran fotos, así que no hay muchas, además que en los 90's no había cámaras digitales como para tomar fotografías una y otra vez. Hay algunas fotos donde me carga siendo yo un bebé, pero no hay una foto o un selfie entre ella y yo, esta imagen es única, especial y es un tesoro para mí.

The schools also exploited my talent in the 90's 🤣 there were singing festivals that were held annually, municipal and state, and obviously in my schools I was always invited to participate to represent the male voice. However there was a competition for child singers that was not from elementary schools, it was something from the governor's office of Aragua, and there the most talented child singers of the state participated. It was the first time and I sang El Negro y el Catire by Simón Díaz, and it was my father who accompanied me on the cuatro, in addition to the musicians of the festival who played the harp and the maracas, that was in 1996 and I came second in the male voice, not bad for a competition that came from an original registration of 50 children.

Los colegios también explotaban mi talento en los 90's 🤣 había festivales de canto que se realizaban anualmente, municipales y estadales, y evidentemente en mis colegios siempre me invitaban a participar para representar a la voz masculina. Sin embargo hubo una competencia de niños cantantes que no era de escuelas primarias, era algo de la gobernación de Aragua, y ahí participaban los niños cantantes más talentosos del estado. Fue una primera vez y canté El Negro y el Catire de Simón Díaz, y fue mi papá quien me acompañó en el cuatro, además de los músicos del festival que tocaban el arpa y las maracas, eso fue en en 1996 y quedé de segundo lugar en la voz masculina, nada mal para una competencia que venía de una inscripción original de 50 niños.

In 1997 my father entered me again in the competition, and the good thing is that people already knew me from last year. On that occasion I sang Venezuela and yes, I won first place in the male stylized category. I say it that easy, but it was months, months and months of practice between my dad and me, usually at my grandmother's house. In this picture I am showing her the plaque they gave me for winning the main prize, since she did not go, but as soon as they gave me my trophies we went to her house to celebrate with her, it was a victory of the whole family 🥹❤️ I have tears in my eyes writing these words, but I do not want sadness, I want to remember them beautifully, so I will close this post with some music, precisely those songs I sang in the festivals where my dad accompanied me playing the cuatro. There are no videos of those times, but there are memories of our work together 🙏

En 1997 mi papá me volvió a inscribir en la competencia, y lo bueno es que la gente ya me conocía del año pasado. En esa oportunidad canté Venezuela y sí, gané el primer lugar masculino del reglón estilizado. Lo digo así de fácil, pero fueron meses, meses y meses de práctica entre mi papá y yo, generalmente en la casa de mi abuela. En esta fotografía le estoy mostrando la placa que me dieron por haber ganado el premio principal, ya que ella no fue, pero a penas me dieron mis trofeos nos fuimos a su casa para celebrarlo junto a ella, era una victoria de toda la familia 🥹❤️ Se me salen las lágrimas escribiendo estas palabras, pero no quiero tristezas, quiero recordarlos bien bonito, así que cerraré este post con algo de música, precisamente esas canciones que canté en los festivales donde mi papá me acompañó tocando el cuatro. No hay videos de esos tiempos, pero vaya que sí hay recuerdos de nuestro trabajo en conjunto 🙏



Sort:  

From your mother's womb, your destiny was music haha and if they exploited you, it was because they saw the potential you had and knew you would be a great musician in the future, everything happens for a reason.

Your picture with your grandmother is very touching ❤️

Music has always been in your blood, you have a very long way with it as your companion and all that lies ahead of you is impressive.

It's good that you were able to live it from such a young age 🦉

Thank you very much. Yes, music has always been with me, thank God, and I hope it will be with me until the end of my days. There was a time when I moved away, when I became an adult, but the river returned to its source. That photo with my grandmother was a great gift, it brought many beautiful things to my mind ❤️🦉

How beautiful is your life related to music @jesuslnrs and what beautiful memories you have of it
I can imagine your joy when they sing Venezuela and you got first place, congratulations for such beautiful memories

At that time I celebrated it as a victory over the other children, but today I understand that it is not a competition, but a beautiful way of living life. thank you for your comment my dear 🙏

for having understood that music is not a competition and is more of a lifestyle, it is what has made you able to enjoy and live from it

Toda una gran vida musical, ya desde pequeño. Tu vocación se mostró muy temprano. Me hiciste recordar mi época de comenzar dibujo. Gracias por compartir otro poco de tu vida! Un gran abrazo Jesús!🤗

Gracias a ti por estar siempre presente. Oye yo también amaba dibujar y de hecho me gusta, pero después de tantos años ya no sé cómo me saldría, y bueno, no es nada profesional, solo de aficionado. Aún conservo dibujos de mi adolescencia en casa de mis papás, tal cual como tantas fotos musicales. Un beso para ti amiga...

También pasé un tiempo alejada de la pintura y me dije... podré aún, y cuesta un poco pero eso nunca se pierde... tengo ideas para el futuro próximo... jajaja

Sería lindo ver esos dibujos!

Your music history is a great one with solid background and no wonders to the exploits you are doing now. The foundation of anything matters and I rejoice with you on the solid foundation you had.

Your music journey is highly inspiring and I believe greater days ahead for you. Keep been great sir, I celebrate you.

Hey brother, thank you very much for these beautiful words. I have never felt that way, I just love to sing and that's it, although I do realize that throughout my life the challenges have been greater. I always talk about the great achievements, because they leave me great experiences, but I also had so many defeats along the way, once I even thought about giving up music, but it was not my destiny apparently hehe. Thank you very much. In fact I feel like writing a post about that part that I never tell.

You moved me to think of my childhood. Importantly, your picture with your grandmother is wholesome memory. Your words show that you was so much connected to your grandparents.
My grandfather died in 2018 and I have really few pictures of him. I was so close to my grandfather. But, now I capture more photos of my grandmother to feel the lived moments and memories.

Today photos are in every moment of the day, as well as videos. I would have liked to have a little more pictures with so many people who made me happy in my childhood, but those were different times. Well brother, life is like that, we have to accept it and the best thing is that the most beautiful memories are in the mind and heart. I send you a hug!...

What precious memories, especially where you show the result of your effort to your grandmother, surely she was very proud of you, I also liked the video where your dad accompanies you with the cuatro. God willing more successes will come for you, God bless you! 😊

Que preciosos recuerdos, sobre todo donde le muestras el resultado de tu esfuerzo a tu abuelita, seguramente ella estaba muy orgullosa de ti, también me gustó mucho el video donde tu papá te acompaña con el cuatro. Dios mediante vendrán más éxitos para ti. ¡Que Dios te bendiga! 😊

Amén mi querida. Muchas gracias por tu cariño y buenos deseos, además de apoyar a la comunidad con tu potente presencia...