Taking the Lead

in Your Top 3 Contest4 years ago (edited)


This month's theme for the monthly top 3 contest on the Hive crypto-blogging blockchain was one that the team just must have known I couldn't pass up. I started thinking about my selection the instant the post appeared on 1 July.

I "compete" for fun


I'm getting a little ahead of myself: I always say that I don't "do" these compteitions to win, and I don't, so imagine my surprise after last month's contest, and I see this in the post announcing the winners. With this list.

Thank you for asking: yes, I did win a little prize - in crypto currency - which just popped into my wallet. Thank you to the @yourtop3 team that rewards rambling tenacity!!

Note to self: sometimes it pays off to work hard at just having a bit of fun!

Picking a winning lead


As I've already said, this is a hard task for me. I ended Sunday, when I really began working on this, with a list of 14. Then that got derailed by posts from a couple of blogpals like this one and then this one and this one....

I had a series of criteria worked out: the voice, the looks, the sheer talent, and then because I'm a patriot of note, my best South African lead singers. Anyhow, I am in a busy patch and I'm not going to bore run you through a history of where, when, what and whom, but I will share some of my favourites. Of course. Not.

The Voice


One of the most distinctive voices I've ever heard is Darius Rucker from Hootie & the Blowfish. That dinctive gravel just does it for me every time I hear it and I stop and listen. And yes it takes me back to the 80's....

Then there's Heather Small from the M-People. There is a depth and timbre to her voice that is recogniseable anywhere. From having heard her being interviewed when she was in South Africa, she seems like a downright nice and good person, too.

I love this song and its has a universal message as apposite today as it was in 1994.

My next serious contender is Stevie Nicks. She was part of the lineup of Fleetwood Mac in their heyday - a band that's featured in other entries this month. She, though, has a voice that is so versatile and distinctive. There are a few songs from the Rumours album that just nobody can do. Like this one.

One of my favourites in between albums, is this duet with Tom Petty. Here it is, just because I can and because it takes me back to about 1982....


The looks


My final voice just has to go to Jim Morrison from The Doors. He also fits into the categories of gorgeous and talented. Like so many in the talented category, tortured and wasted. Sad.

This isnother song which, in this time of Covid really resonates. But that's another story. Perhaps for another time.

Still in the gorgeous, talented and voice category must be Jon Bon Jovi. This song has resonance (I'm saying that a lot...) for me because it came out after my mother had died and my father was dying. It was an anthem then. It should be an anthem for everyone. For ever.

I defy anyone not to dance to this. I still do. Whenever I hear it.

Talent and viruosity


Anyone who knows me, and who has followed my blog will know that I will never ignore Freddie Mercury. I shan't repeat what I've said before. Although Jazz is often remembered for Fat Bottomed Girls and Bicycle Race, this Brian May-penned song, perfectly showcases Mercury's beautiful voice and maginficent range.

I could go on - there are so many more, but I'm running out of your attention time, so let me come home.

South African songbirds


We have great music talent in South Africa, one of whom I celebrated and lamented last year. I shall "reconstitute" my Johnny Clegg tribute soon.... However, today, I'm selecting three great women.

PJ Powers


PJ's music career and my life have kind of run in parallel. Known also as Thandeka and best known internationally for her rendition of The World in Union for the 1995 Rugby World Cup, she's risen above well, let's just say, she's done more than pull herself up by her bootstraps. My first memory of seeing her live was in 1986 in the Underground - which really was - at the Chelsea Hotel in Hilbrow, Johannesburg. We danced until the wee hours. We and she were the last people staggering standing.

More recently, I've seen her perform in Cape Town. When I asked her to sign the CD we bought, I mentioned this and she said: "I saw you - in the front row - you knew ever word!" I did. I do. Just a few months ago in an intimate venue here in McGregor. I did. I will. Sing. Every. Word. Again.

This is one of her signature songs. Jabulani means "happy". It is also the name a stadium in Soweto where she and Hotline - the band with which she sang - performed in the 1980s. At the time, it was illegal for people of race to share a stage. And for white folk to be in a black township. Some of my happiest memories - ever - are of my times, dancing in Soweto in the mid-1980s.

Also from around the same time, is Mango Groove. Their posters adorned every underpass the bus traversed on my way to and from work in the centre of Johannesburg. Claire Johnston who has also visited, but not performed in, McGregor, has the voice of an angel. I love the early work which is vibey, afro-fusion and just fun. It really is get-up-and-dance music. You just have to. It still does it for me so many years later.

This song is just has so many levels to it. It came out as South Africa was heading towards her first democratic elections. A time of such hope and happiness. Here, she sings with my final South African songbird, Zolane Mahola.

Mahola not only has a beautiful voice, but she's multi talented and hails from my home province of the Eastern Cape. She's the lead singer of the Afro fusion band, Freshlyground that is a miscellany of so many talented musicians whose music has also punctuated my life (that post to be reconstituted soon, too). We first saw them perform at Kirstenbosh Gardens before they hit the big time. This song hadn't even been released when they played that concert, but Mahola sang it that day and it's haunted me ever since.


My current favourite top 3 lead singers



As I write, I'm still hard pressed to choose just three. There are so many others that I've not included: Diana Ross and her liquid silver voice. The lead singers from REM and Simple Minds whose names escape me....

So, just for Q:

My current top 3, and it'll probably change tomorrow:

Freddie Mercury, Stevie Nicks and...Jim Morrison

 

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma

 

Post Script


In yet another aspect of my life, I offer

English writing and online tutoring services


every day conversation and formal presentations
writing - emails and reports, academic and white papers
formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
more information here

And then there's more:

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
    • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a ko-fi?
    • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts because of this.
  • If you’re interested in a soft entry into the world of crypto currency and monetising WordPress blog, use the fantastic Steempress plugin to post directly to the Hive blockchain. Click on the image below to sign up

  • I also share the occasional post on Medium.


Posted from my WordPress blog with SteemPress : https://fionasfavourites.net/taking-the-lead/
Sort:  

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts. Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @fionasfavourites, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO) to reduce your CO2 footprint.

Bon Jovi 💜💜💜 😁

So, where's your post? You still have time... #justsaying... 😄

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

Q

image.png

Oh, Q (@yourtop3) you are fast!! And good. 😂

Well let's see if I can do your post justice with an equally verbose comment. As I mentioned to you already, I had the pleasure of seeing Darius Rucker perform impromptu at a lavish wedding many years ago. I give him props for hopping up on stage like that and definitely enjoyed the "free" show. ;) Stevie and Jim featured often in my childhood with the parental influences, and totally appreciate them as talented picks to top any lead singer list. I remember Val Kilmer doing quite a good job as Jim in the film about the Doors, exuding quite a bit of that sex appeal.

As a New Jersey girl, of course I approve Jon Bon Jovi. After Eric Clapton, he is one of my mom's faves. Besides being a great performer, I have to give kudos for the amount of philanthropic work he does, as well. Always puts a mega star higher up the list for me when they use their position to give back in an honest way.

Of course no one can argue with Freddie. Whenever I see those lists of "if you could bring one musician back to see live, who would you pick?", I always think he'd probably at least make the top 3 as tough as it is to choose. (Another topic, Q?) ;)

I'll have to take the time to listen to some of the lovely suggestions for your local greats, as I'm not as familiar with those performers. Reading blogs is a great time to put on some tunes...

I am sooo envious of your having seen Darius Rucker live - and under those circumstances. Even though the rest of the experience is memorable for a lot of other reasons... lol

As for the movie, I just don't like Kilmer, so I gave it a miss. I guess I should actually watch it. Sad, interesting story.

Yes, Jon Bon Jovi - talented, gorgeous and all round nice guy.

Now, Eric Clapton: he could also feature in a challenge IMO: guitar players - there's a topic... I do enjoy his music, too....

I thought of a lot of other music-related options as I was cogitating this post...

There really are endless options for music topics. I'm sure Q will hit on it again before long... ;)

Wow, you actually came up with 14 artists. It's very difficult to choose just 3 when you listen to so many great artists. Very nice picks.

Hahaha! I have eclectic taste and a lot of years of great music behind me, so yeah! Thanks for stopping by 😃

Another great entry of international and local talent, how wide and deep talent goes, vocals no exception.

Thanks so much, Joan.

Great choices! I am a very big fan of Stevie Nicks and I was very close to choosing her as one of my final 3! Freddie Mercury is so talented, I completely agree with you. His voice is so beautiful and his range certainly is amazing. I would've loved to have seen him live. I don't know too much about The Doors but maybe they're a band I should start listening to more! I love their song Break on Through (To the Other Side)!
Good luck in this months competition! I hope you are well, stay safe!

Ah, I knew you had excellent taste, and you've just proved it! 😀 Some of Jim Morrison's poetry is astounding - and some of it features on The Doors' albums. I am sure that your Dad is familiar with it, @cheese4ead? Had I pursued teaching, I'd have used it in my teaching of English poetry.

Thank you for your good wishes. They're entirely reciprocated for @yourtop3 and for you and your family's being well and safe. 🤗

I love all your selections. Hootie and the Blowfish. Amazing talent is Darius. Distinctive voice that stays with you. But the favorite of all you highlight is Fleetwood Mac. I grew up listening to them and CCR.

Thanks for sharing.

Oh yes, there's another. CCR. Another would be Jethro Tull....

Q is always so confused, it's a wonder we get anything done at @yourtop3 haha!

Another awesome rendition of your favourites Fiona (ha!) and thank you for entering the contest this month, you have a crown to retain now! #justwinning

My knowledge on South African singers is pretty limited so thank you for the education here, listening to all three incredible singers I can see why they made your picks - beautiful and they are complementary (for the 2nd video)!

But yeah, Jim Morrison could be a dark horse in the dpoll, such an iconic voice with the Doors and Riders On The Storm is on of my favourites. Freddie, what a legend, not even Q could keep away from mentioning him in the intro post! Stevie Nicks almost made the cut for my top 3 but if it wasn't for Little Lies and Everywhere, she might have made it!

Good luck in this one champ!

Thank you for ☝️😀

We have some great South African talent. This doesn't even scratch the surface. All three also quite successful in Europe in their days.

A very fleeting thought rushed through my brain for a top 3 topic: your local top 3 favourite singers/bands, but it would be difficult and skewed...so...

Hey, it’s Q again - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest! Just swinging by to say thanks for sending over your entry fee, and I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming dpoll on the 19th where we put it to the public vote and let the Hive community decide their top 3 :)

Q
Your Top 3 Contest Mascot

Q Happy.png

At least you didn't have to remind me this month!!

cool ;-)