The story of Davy

in Caturday3 years ago

Hi hive family,

As it is Caturday today, I will share the story of Davy with you all.

Screenshot_20210628-114024_Photos.jpg

Screenshot_20210628-114240_Photos.jpg

It was in October 2016 when I went to live on my own in a small apartment which I had rented. Shortly after, my sister joined me and we had a pleasant time together. I have always loved cats and I wanted to adopt one, but I was not allowed by the owner of the apartment to bring animals there.

About 6 months later we started having trouble with mice in the apartment. Afterwards, it turned out that the neighborhood had always been bothered by mice, only the owner had never communicated this to us.

We tried many things against the mice, but nothing helped. Then someone gave me the idea to adopt a cat.
'Even though it doesn't catch mice, the smell of a cat also keeps the mice away.' , they said.

I brought this proposal to the owner of the apartment, who then agreed. 'Only 1 cat.'

And my search for a cat began. I sent messages around to my friends and cousins that I was looking for a cat. Two days later, I got a whatsapp message from my cousin.

Someone had dumped 4 kittens in the street where he lived. Three kittens had already been adopted, but there was still 1 cat for whom he was looking for a home.
I drove over there. It was a pitiful sight. My heart broke at the thought of the mother cat who now no longer had her little ones with her. My cousin handed me a small, white-brown kitten that stared at me with big eyes.

Screenshot_20210628-114206_Photos.jpg

I brought him home and my sister and I gave him the name Davy, which means ‘handsome’.

The first night Davy was allowed to sleep in the bedroom with me. I slept on the bed and he slept on a mat on the floor. But Davy didn't like that. Halfway through the night I felt something warm on my chest. And there Davy was: sleeping, in peace.

Davy was always playful, teasing us and loving us.

Screenshot_20210710-114405_Photos.jpg

He loved posing for pictures. And he was terribly jealous when it came to me.

Screenshot_20210628-114108_Photos.jpg

Screenshot_20210628-114101_Photos.jpg

Screenshot_20210710-114332_Photos.jpg

If I went out with a girl friend, Davy was totally okay with it. But as soon as I went out with a gentleman, whether it was a date or just a friend, Davy would just stay away from home for 2-3 days.

Davy would very often chase me everywhere. Even in the bathroom.

Screenshot_20210710-114345_Photos.jpg

One of the craziest things Davy ever did was to tip over my laundry basket and wring himself in my underwear.

Screenshot_20210710-113951_Photos.jpg

Davy loved cuddling.

Screenshot_20210710-114023_Photos.jpg

10.PNG

Screenshot_20210628-114321_Photos.jpg

And he could sleep in the strangest positions.

Screenshot_20210710-114102_Photos.jpg

Screenshot_20210710-114356_Photos.jpg

But he would never sleep without me. If it was already evening and I wasn't home, Davy would wait for me at the gate. He didn't eat or sleep without me. People would tease me about it and they often said that Davy thinks of me as his wife.

Screenshot_20210710-113732_Photos.jpg

Screenshot_20210710-114014_Photos.jpg

Davy was like my child to me, but as he got older, the owner of the apartment suddenly began to realize that he didn't want a cat in his apartment after all. I was angry, because not only did I loved Davy very much, the mice also stayed away.
I had no other place to live back then. In my country apartments at reasonable prices are hard to find and I was not well off financially. After arguing for a long time, I had to give Davy away with pain in my heart. Someone else adopted him. It was the best thing to do at that moment because I was afraid people otherwise would poison him.

Screenshot_20210628-114001_Photos.jpg

Giving Davy away was the most painful thing in my life so far. The day I gave him away, I spoke to him. Davy put his paw on my cheek and I could sense that he understood my situation. He stroked my cheek, jumped out of my lap and walked to his new owner with his head bowed. Not once did he look back. I understood that he did not want to see me again and that’s why I did not go to see him after that. That would only confuse him and on top of that make him sad.

I swore I would never adopt another cat until I had my own home. Writing about it now still brings up tears.
But I am grateful for the time I had with Davy and for the love I got from him.

The love of an animal is unconditional and totally unlike the love of a human.

'I will always love you Davy. You have a special place in my heart.'

angie note - have a great day.png

Note: My first language is Dutch; so if there are mistakes in my English text, please forgive me.

Sort:  

I'm sorry. I couldn't bear to give my cats away

Thank you. Yes it's very painful. But I know he is in good hands and that really helps.

That is some consolation

That's crazy...I had to 'abandon' a cat that I raised two times in my life, because I not only changed my home, but also changed the country I was living. This was one of the most difficult and painful things in my life. And I still cry when I think about them. And I also swore I would never adopt another cat until I had my own home.
Now that we are living in a temporary house again, we are raising a third generation of cats that are not ours. And I keep telling myself that these are not our cats, so I can keep them. This way I can deceive myself and allow myself to raise cats again. Otherwise it is too painful.

@soulsdetour I totally feel your pain. Getting attached to an animal and then letting them go is heartbreaking. It's really something I would never wish for someone. 😫 Lately I'm starting to like parrots and I want to adopt one. But I also wanna move to another country after completing my studies. So I guess I'll wait till I'm there. 😅

Congratulations @angie08! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

My favorite is the picture of Davy with the umbrella.

@joeyarnoldvn Haha, I really like that one too. The funny thing is, we didn't put him there. He himself went there and then he gave us a look as if he wanted us to make a picture.

What a sad story 😥 But at least the good thing is that you managed to get him a home where he could take him in before someone could hurt him, hopefully his new owner takes care of him as well as you did. Maybe his time with you was over, cats are wonderful beings who come to teach us, so it's good to know that Davy may be doing the same in another home. Thank you for looking for a home and not the option of leaving it on the street (because there are people who think of that as the first option 😥)

@suezoe I know my friend; some people are heartless. In Suriname we see it happening almost everyday: people just dumping their pets on the streets. Especially now when the economy is drowning and people can't afford food for their pets 😞. It's very sad.

I completely understand you, in my country people treat cats with less affection than dogs, even, most cat owners have them only as pest fumigators (there was a terrible case of a baby kitten that died of hunger because his owner never fed him because she expected him to eat by hunting mice 😡) and without going very far, yesterday I came across the terrible scene of a poisoned cat 😭 being responsible for a pet is not for everyone, but unfortunately as long as they are still on the streets Without being sterilized, they will continue to suffer the consequences of those who left them behind. Hopefully in the future each animal has a permanent home where they can be happy 😶

Omg! That's horrible. I really think the government of all countries should come up with penalties for people who mistreat, hurt or just dump animals. Maybe that way they'll stop hurting animals like that.