More Cat-astrophes: Batman gets FOMO and I get rekt

in Caturday26 days ago

This is a you have to laugh or else you'd cry situation: last Saturday I took this picture, thinking "cute little eye of Sauron" and learned the hard way that the eye of Sauron is not to be laughed at

eye.jpg

Batman's appetite had been a little iffy the past few days and on Sunday afternoon he started vomiting. I gave an anti-nausea tablet and he promptly threw that up too. Great. I was woken in the wee hours by the sound of vomiting and in the morning, he was nowhere to be found. Eventually he appeared 5 minutes before I had to leave for work, looking awful. I gave him subcutaneous fluids to prevent dehydration and left for work hoping for the best and started looking for a nearby 24h clinic. When I got home, there were puddles of vomit everywhere he looked worse and I ransacked the house for all cash and bank cards and rushed to the vet. She took one look at him and said that he needed to be put on a drip to correct his dehydration. I emptied my pockets and bank account and left him there.

hospital.jpg

The next day he was a little better but refusing all food so I went over to try and feed him but Nope. The shaved patch on his neck is from drawing blood: he was tested to find out if he has FIV because he's been vaccinated for Panleukopenia but the FIV test was negative. His leg is bandaged to prevent him from pulling out the IV needle.

nope.jpg

He still wouldn't eat but the emergency vet discharged him on Wednesday because both vets said further testing might be needed but I couldn't pay any more upfront and my regular vet was prepared to extend credit. The emergency vet suggested that I keep him at home for a day and see if he would eat once he was home because Batman doesn't like strangers and spent all his time hissing at her and her staff. She sent him home with antibiotics and said that she thought he had gastroenteritis, even if he wasn't vomiting or pooping.

Once home, Batman started eating a little and within a few hours
he released a tsunami of diarrhoea. By the next day, it was pouring out like a tap. Off to the vet I went and I was given Panacur paste, which works on intestinal protozoans and parasites and started washing towels and pet bedding. By late that night, it seemed like shitmageddon was being beaten and the next morning there was mercifully none. Phew!

infinite.jpg

He's skin and bone but getting better and eating more. In this picture, I guess he's wondering how to beat Simba in the very expensive cat department. Forty percent of what Simba cost me so far. Hmmm, have to do better....

Talking of Simba, the stitches are out and cone off and he's very bored. I had to upgrade his cage to maximum security jail because he managed to get out by pulling on the cords I used to tie the gate shut and trying to squeeze through every space. It's going to be a long four weeks.

scar.jpg

A guardian angel friend sent me some money and I had a large sale on my website and that money was finally deposited into my account yesterday so we'll get by. I'm really happy to have my little purring machine sleeping on my chest again but damn... I have told the others to please not get sick too because my crypto is the last thing left.

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Shitmageddon... Now that made me laugh out loud. ❤️

I'm sure you can relate!

Yes. We have 2 that are in the thousands of dollar range. But they are still with us and making our lives better every day.

I just checked my wallet: thank you!

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 16000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

My goodness you are being bombarded by cat emergencies! I know how hard this all must be for you, and not only because of the money! Desite all the time you spend frantically caring for felines, you manage to throw a few laughs into your posts about it. You're getting a lot of good stories out of these trials! We all are.

It will stop now. I will it for you.

Thank you!

By late that night, it seemed like shitmageddon was being beaten and the next morning there was mercifully none. Phew!

I laugh so loud on this... Shitmageddon! Ahaha
Let's hope that Batman incresses weight and vitality and give you no more troubles in the vet besides normal vaccination an prophylactic de-worming

Thank you, I really hope so

I'm glad to hear they are on the mend. Poor wee things

It's been hard for them but hopefully upwards only from here

Awww I'm so sorry! It sucks when our kitty fam are sick. It worries me like nothing else. I hope they both feel better! <3
!BEER

We're getting there, thanks!

Whoops, forgot what account I was under with the call token. This one has !LUV

nikv, faeriestories sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

THIS account has !BEER


Hey @nikv, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

!LOL
!ALIVE

@nikv! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ cryptoyzzy. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I was told that Microwaves were invisible
But I can see mine on my counter.

Credit: reddit
@nikv, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of cryptoyzzy

(5/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Thank you!

Batman and friends, you are very lucky to have found someone who loves you. Hopefully, from the ruins of your pain, you can recover completely.

InshAllah! Thank you

!ALIVE
!LOL

@nikv! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ phillarecette. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

My neighbors listen to really good music.
Whether they like it or not.

Credit: reddit
@nikv, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(9/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Thanks!

Wow .. I am so sorry to hear all this is happening :( I'm glad he pulled through, hopefully everyone will be healthy now 🙏

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

nikv, wrestlingdesires sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@nikv! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thank you!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@wrestlingdesires(1/15) tipped @nikv

Cleaning up vomit, cleaning up shit, emptying out your savings account... just like children 😜

I'm really happy to have my little purring machine sleeping on my chest again

Also just like children 😁

Very true. The only difference is they don't need clothing and schooling

Oh no, poor Batman! 😿 It sounds like he's been through a rough time lately. But hey, at least he's got a superhero name, right?

Or he just looks like a bat with his big ears and long face 😉

Oh my goodness! The poor cats are really having a rough time of it and you as well. I hope everything works out well for you all.

Thanks! We seem to be on the right road now

I am sorry you have had another sick kitty, but "shitmageddon" really made me laugh !

I hope they are all still on the mend and you will bet a nice long break from Vet bills.