Hosting the HivePH Game Night With MeBu

in Hive PH2 years ago

Pink Blue Futuristic Gaming Youtube Thumbnail.png

I had a great time hosting the HivePH discord server's game night last Friday.

We look forward to game night every Friday because it gives us a chance to socialize with other members, unwind after a busy workweek, and even perhaps win some prizes. Last Friday night was full of clever, incorrect, and inappropriate answers, and of course, laughter.


Last week, just when the Friday night game was about to finish, I volunteered to host the next Game Night. Even though I volunteered, some of the members already nominated me for the role. Ginusto nyo 'to ah?

image.png

image.png

image.png

screenshots from the discord server

It was for the other member's benefit that I’d be the one to host the game night considering that I usually get a high score when I join the game. I’m competitive like that plus I enjoy winning! If I’d host the game night, they’d have a great chance of winning… or maybe not?

The Game Preparation

I always make it a point as a teacher to integrate enjoyment with learning. I want the attendees to enjoy themselves while learning something new from me.

I have a ton of prepared games. My indecisive self cannot choose which game to pick. Fortunately, @sensiblecast also wanted to host! I settled for two games then Mebu added his.


image.png
Thanks Mebu for the poster

Rebus Puzzles and Send Me a Picture are the games I ended up choosing. I normally use the Rebus Puzzles in my class and the thought of using it for the game night made me giggle. The attendees need a moment to think to answer the puzzles.


image.png
This is the sample of the rebus puzzle I presented last Friday

Send Me A Picture is simply the well-known game Bring Me with a twist because it’s virtual.

THE GAME NIGHT

It was almost 8 pm when Mebu and I joined the general voice chat. I have to admit, I was quite nervous… or perhaps, excited? I don’t think my three hours of sleep would be sufficient for the entire night and that was my first time hosting in the community, but with the support of the community and the list of attendees, I was able to keep my cool.

At exactly 8:05 p.m., we began the game. I started by giving the instructions for the Rebus Puzzles. All they have to do is guess the typical word or phrase that is being represented in the photo.

Before we started the game, I gave them two examples. I'm happy that some of them find it appealing because it was pretty challenging. I find it encouraging that despite their struggles, they are still making an effort to find the right answer.

Additionally, some of them stated that they had acquired something new that evening, which I appreciated. My objective is for them to enjoy themselves while also learning something new. I guess it’s a goal accomplished!

image.png

screenshots from the HivePh discord server

After the rebus puzzles, we proceed with the Send Me A Picture. Due to poor internet connection and camera availability, there were only a few who participated.

Even still, the evening wasn't dull because people who couldn't submit pictures continued to engage in the discussion as well.

For the Send Me A Picture, the participants would just basically send a photo that fits into a given category. The categories include things like: something edible, something wet, something long, and many more. You should absolutely give it some thought before sending a picture to avoid sending something too personal (if you know what I mean).

After my first two games, it was Mebu’s turn. His game consists mostly of a Question and Answer segment covering every topic imaginable. You could score if your hands are quick and if you have a fast internet connection. In fact, I'm tempted to join as well! Haha

The Winners

We completed everything on time. It's a good thing we utilized Google Sheets to tally the scores because it made the calculations easier.

The funny thing about our game is that two of the staff members were the winners. Congratulations @arcgspy and @wittyzell, also to @chileng17!

Our everyday life is exhausting already and having this kind of event in the HivePH community is a good initiative for us to bond and relax as well.

I enjoyed having the chance to host this event, and I'd be more than happy to do it again.

===

Hey, did you miss our game night?

You still have a chance to answer some of the questions, just drop your answer in the comment section.

I posted 5 of the questions from last Friday’s game at the end of this blog.

Pick only 1 question to answer.
Comment your answer and you’ll receive a !PIZZA 🍕
Who knows? You might get an extra prize! 😉


Questions:

  1. Saang channel pwede makinig ng Music within HivePH Discord Server?
  2. Ano ang pwede mong gawin sa Gabi na hindi mo pwedeng gawin sa Umaga?
  3. Take a picture of something purple.
  4. Take a picture of something wet.
  5. Answer the rebus puzzle: WINEEE

Thank you for taking the time to read this one and see you on the next game night! 😍


📷 Screenshots are from the discord server
Cover photo edited using Canva
Poster from Mebu

Sort:  

For sure you all had fun last friday evening @cthings and I will always missed this activity because I can't always attend. But I am happy knowing that it was successful and everyone had fun.

I will try to answer question number 1. I haven't tried this channel but I think we can listen music in love-radio

 2 years ago (edited) 

Aww that's sad, but you can always drop by in the server and try the loveradio 🎶

Enjoy your !PIZZA

Thank you @cthings. Have a great day.

 2 years ago  

Salamat sa Saya @cthings halata mandin na mahilig ka sa games dami mo alam na pa game ee haga expert talagang totoo UwU.

 2 years ago  

Uwu thanks also Ruffarot for participating ❤️

 2 years ago  

Yayy, next time ulit masaya mga pa games mo ee lahit di ako makatama ng sagot HAHAHAHA

Luto! Dalawang staff ang nanalo. HAhaha congrats to everyone who joined.

Answer the rebus puzzle: WINEEE

The pooh?

Di ko parin magets yung REBUS hahah probably because I wasn't able to join the game lol.

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Bwahahahaha yan din sagot ng iba at first

 2 years ago  

Hoy, kinalmahan ko nga eh!

 2 years ago  

Natatawa ako sa sagot mo TP, ikape na lang natin yan 😂

Thanks for trying pero di talaga si pooh haha

Soo ano ang sagot? Haha di ko sya nagets eh

 2 years ago  

Thank you C and mebu! It was so enjoyable indeed. It wasn’t my intention to win, just wanna have fun like you guys. 😅
Wanna answer your questions too but I already know the answers.
Good luck to everyone who try to answer!

Hope you could host again C, it seems like you still have a lot of surprises in store for us.

 2 years ago  

I'm glad you had fun! After the rebus Puzzle, I don't think they want me to host again HAHAHAHA

 2 years ago  

That was actually my favorite part of the game. It stirs up our minds and it was fun!

 2 years ago  

I'm pretty sure everyone had their :kekwtf: faces on after hearing about rebus puzzles. Hahahaha
Game night at HivePH keeps getting better and better. Thank you for hosting the event and congratulations on your Diwata promotion! The new role suits you. 😉

 2 years ago  

Hahaha I know! Thanks also for participating 😊 UwU

That was fun.. I didn't hang out in the server yet. Always busy with life. Hopefully one of these days I can join the kulitan hehe..

Kita ko si @ruffatotmeee hahaha

 2 years ago  

Sayanggg Eyb, di ka nakasali saya saya pa naman. Next time nalang ehehw

 2 years ago  

Aww, well.. If you have spare time, we have this kind of hangout every Friday 😊

Okay, I'll take note on that ☺️

 2 years ago  

See u ate if you have spare time na 😄

Congrats sa inyo C. I hope maka attend ako next time. Pagdating ko malapit na matapos kasi I was busy that time. Hehe. Backread nalang.

 2 years ago  

Thank you po! Bawi na lang next time ate ☺️

Yes c. Hehe. Sana makasali next time. Thanks

Thank you @cthings nag enjoy medyo nahulog ng onti yung brain ko haha!

Best trashtalk award goes to....
Screen Shot 2022-09-19 at 5.35.05 AM.png
@arcgspy so competitive haha !pizza !luv

 2 years ago  

Thanks a lot, Mebu! ☺️ HAHAHAHA

That was fun, entertainingng and full of learnings, thank you guys for the initiative. You did a great Job.😊

 2 years ago  

I'm pleased to know that you guys had fun! 😍

Aw, I felt sad I wasn't able to join the game!🥺
Maybe will answer some of your questions na lng.

  1. Love radio
  2. Magbukas ng ilaw?🤔
 2 years ago  

Bawi na lang sa next Friday kila jiji at jm ☺️

Nasagot na ang love radio ate, mali ang number two hahaha thanks for trying ❤️

My brain cells kennat! Congrats to you guys! Excellent hosting! Congrats to the winners! 😊

 2 years ago  

Thanks a lot Jiji, excited na me for Friday 🥳

Nkakatuwa cguro sumali.. Kaso lage may gingawa.mga oras ng palaro.
.

 2 years ago  

Oo ate, sayang naman. Sana next time vacant mo yan hehe

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tpkidkai(1/5) tipped @cthings (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @cthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Yey. Thanks @hivebuzz 🎉

You're welcome @cthings. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 🌹

Congratulations @cthings! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Thanks @hivebuzz! Happy HPUD!