Going Back to the Core of Yoga during the 8 Limbs of Yoga Workshop!

in Hive PH2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


DSCF1851.JPG

It's almost half a month now before I last posted something here. I was preoccupied with moving out and relocating near the beach. It took some time to adjust but I'm back to my flow state. During that time of reconnecting with myself, I was able to attend a Yoga Workshop last July 11, 2022. This was organized by a friend who runs her yoga studio called @yogainbalamban. This studio is located in Balamban, Cebu. A 2-hour drive from the city proper.

The event 8 Limbs of Yoga was a 2-hour intensive workshop taught by Teacher Ayn Latonio. Teacher Ayn was also Hidilyn Diaz's (Olympic Gold Medalist) yoga instructor. This wasn't my first encounter with him as I already met him in another workshop some 4 years ago and he was teaching us about breathwork that time. It's the true essence of Yoga which he learned from India that I was excited to learn this time.

DSCF1878.JPG

The day of the event came. I and a friend were able to hitch a ride with Teacher Ayn, together with Teacher Ara and her friend. We left the city early and arrived at Balamban around 8 am. The morning session started 15 minutes past 9:00 am as we waited for the other participants to arrive. The first hour was allotted for discussion and boy did I learn a lot but most especially Yoga is more than just the Asanas!

DSCF1781.JPG

DSCF1783.JPG

DSCF1809.JPG

DSCF1806.JPG

DSCF1803.JPG

So what are the 8 Limbs of Yoga?

  1. Yamas ( Moral or Social Codes / External Discipline )
  2. Niyanas ( Personal Observances / Internal Discipline )
  3. Asanas ( Postures )
  4. Pranayama ( Breath Control )
  5. Pratyahara ( Withdrawal of the Senses )
  6. Dharana ( Concentration )
  7. Dhyara ( Meditation )
  8. Samadhi ( Complete Mental Absorption )

DSCF1801.JPG

Unknowingly, I have already attained and practiced the 1st up to the 7th Limb. As per Teacher Ayn, the Samadhi is the most difficult one to reach as it already is the point where one is united with the consciousness of the Divine. There were also some added bits and pieces of learnings that I remembered like

  • It is more appropriate to call ourselves Yoga Practitioners than "yogis".

DSCF1829.JPG

  • Asanas are meant to help us relax and so there is no point to push ourselves or strain ourselves from doing a certain posture.

DSCF1827.JPG

  • Asanas are best followed with the breathwork and meditation which I am now incorporating into my practice.

DSCF1838.JPG

  • To conquer my fear of the unknown and go deeper during freediving is to not push myself but enjoy every meter I get to then once I get comfortable with that depth, then I go another meter down. I did ask questions during our workshop!

DSCF1832.JPG

  • Lastly, to surrender to the Divine whatever the outcome is with every endeavor, obstacle, or challenge we go through.

DSCF1834.JPG

I did mentioned before that I couldn't do my wheel due to my locked spine mid vertebrae. Well, here I am being able to do it again after 2 years! 😌 This time, I just went with where I was comfortable with my bend.


The discussion was followed by an hour of Asanas, Pranayama, and a short Dhayana which you can check out in the video! In short, it was a crash course on the 8 Limbs of Yoga! Many deep learnings, met a beautiful community of yoga practitioners, and had a fun-filled engagement after the event!

DSCF1855.JPG

It was so adorable to meet this cute girl starting her yoga practice at a very young age!

DSCF1859.JPG

DSCF1849.JPG


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

!LUV that you are exploring the deeper aspects of yoga. Just don't push yourself, especially with a locked spine. That's where injuries happen. Join ako sa class nyo pag pasyal ko sa Cebu. Sana soon... LOL. 😁

True! I'm just taking my time during my own yoga practice so no worries.
Nakuuu kailan pa kaya ka makakarating ng cebu. 😆 Ako din kailan din ako makakarating ng manila! 😆

Good to hear that you know your limits well. Mahirap talaga mag-travel sa akin these days but there's a right time for everything. hehe. Good day! 😊

Wow, you are in great physic and impressivly flexible! I want somtime in the future,to have some yoga sessions! My work outs, are more static and i need more stretching! In any case nice post! Enjoy your beautiful company!

Yoga Asanas is the best way to stretch the body! it really helps you become more flexible. Thank you so much for dropping by!

love it! nice lagi na no, 2 hours. dli cya class, workshop jd cya. dli ra huot ang place> hehehehe

Nice jud ang discussion niya and ang mga breathwork exercises. nahuot lng jud xa kay ubay ubay pud participants. Mao rjud amo gi adto balamban ae! 😆

I hope next time bigger space. Nahan pd ko muattend mga ing.ana but the claustrophobic in me cannot. Ahahaha.

 2 years ago  

Oyyy ka nice man! Gusto pud kog ingon ani.. Layoa pud, Balamban man. Pero nice jud sya. I can feel daghan kaayo kog makat onan.

😊I like the pic of u and ur new little friend! 😎🤙

Thanks! She was a cutie!

 2 years ago  

Yoga has been something I've been looking at but never dived into... I'll find the courage to get into a yoga community nearby - in the future!

Yoga would definitely great for those who constantly sit down! 😆 Nice mag start with a community and a teacher so that you will be guided accordingly!

Congratulations @indayclara! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 3000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2022
NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support

My gosh. Is this a sign that I should learn yoga? Hahah.
Asanas- This is my worry jud kay wala koi sense of balance. Hahaha

anyway, you look great @indayclara 😉