NAME YOUR CAR DAY: "Lolo", The Mighty Family Car

in Hive PH4 years ago




Once upon a time our family had an old red car. It was named "Lolo". Lolo means grandfather.

Hello! Today is the Name Your Car Day so if you have a vehicle and haven't named it yet, today is the day to do it! Vehicles, even though they are non-living things are considered a member of the family. It helps us commute with convenience. And so they deserve to be given a name to show how much we love and appreciate them for their service.



P_20151017_160934.jpg
Yes, that little girl is me. Lol. I was in kindergarten on this photo.

Lolo has been my school service since I was 5 years old (prep school student) until sixth grade. It was bought by my mother when I was 3 or 4 years old. During high school, we still use the car when going to malls even though my parents bought a newer car. Lolo is a 1975 Toyota Corona, a very sturdy and cool-looking car. It has metal linings on the doors, metal bumpers, four headlights, and some "gills" on the hood. I am not very familiar with car parts, please forgive me. 😂 I'll just use the term gills because they look like one. Despite the heavy steering wheel, Lolo is a car you can count on. It can even swim the flood just so I will be fetched at school when classes are suddenly suspended due to bad weather or typhoon.

Lolo has also experienced a lot of "street racing" with random vehicles on the road when the film Fast and Furious first came out. My brothers even put a superman sticker on the hood. Lol. Riding this car can sometimes give me anxiety when my brother finds a car to race with on our way home or when my other brother drives hurriedly because he needs to pee. Overtaking buses and trucks at the bridge is very dangerous. Please don't do it.




lolo2.jpg
Glad I kept uploading photos on Twitter before. I can't seem to find these photos on my laptop. >.<


However, sometime in college, my father sold Lolo without our permission. We were just shocked to see the car being pulled out from our garage. My father said he sold it to have more space in the garage and we no longer use it anyway. He sold it for Php 10,000 or 200 USD. :(



DSCN4193.jpg
Photo taken around 2008/2009.

I wish the person who bought it took care of Lolo. My brothers and even my mother were thinking of getting it restored someday as a collection but it was sold without permission.

Right now, all we have is Mitsi, a Mitsubishi car which is currently unusable because of worn out engine parts. Mitsi is a cute name though. :)






2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn8BGehqkW7w8m8nh.gif
Hive PH badge by @bearone. :)




I AM ON INSTAGRAM and YOUTUBE!



instagram128 1.png


youtube2128.png

Sort:  

I remember my Pops had the same Toyota Corona and its body was so thick that newer cars would be banged up and it would hardly have a dent lol.

So true! Most cars today are so delicate you don't even want to lean on them.

 4 years ago  

Ang cute ng photo mo with Lolo. So nostalgic ang feels. It must have been heartbreaking to see the car go that day it was sold. Sana you could buy it back someday. That would be nice.

hihi Thank you po. :D
Magdilang anghel ka sana. ❤️

I've never named any cars, but it's amazing to see the stories that came from people's affection towards them over their lives, through thick and thin. As with anything Japanese from this era, I bet Lolo is still running well and fine till this day, hopefully enjoying time with its new human companions. Fingers crossed you'll get Mitsi fixed, too! :-D

I hope you're right. I wish to see it on the road one day. If I get rich someday, I'll buy it back or buy the same model instead. Now I remember, I think my brother was able to keep the metal name of Lolo. The one that is attached on the side or back. 😂

Thanks! Hopefully Mitsi will be fixed too. :D

Now I remember, I think my brother was able to keep the metal name of Lolo. The one that is attached on the side or back.

Haha, that's a nice little reminder to have! I hope you'll reunited with Lolo one day, too! Maybe Lolo and Mitsi can catch up on things, or most likely gossip about their humans 😅