Health Cards and The Old Method of Healing

in Hive PH5 months ago

370338779_914629400092606_5946551131836912551_n.jpg

April left our home early in the morning to have her regular test done at San Pablo Medical Center. Travel time from our house is more or less an hour. A drizzle of rain started to pour, and I asked her if she had brought our umbrella with her. She answered yes.

Before she proceeded with the test, she went to the Health Maintenance Organization ( HMO ) provider to have her request approved and upon approval, she went to the accounting.

403406960_3713080165683793_1315706847143301431_n.png

She sent a copy of the receipt and upon looking at all of the expenses, is 5,275 PHP which is around $95.00 in estimation. It is expensive for sure as the said charge is a week of my pay already excluding taxes. Good thing we have a health card that can cover such I said as extra bills will be straining a budget for sure. We got the consultation and the test for me.

The company where I am working is the one that provided our health cards. The government mandates it and I am grateful that there is such an ordinance. Though we rarely visit the hospital, it is helpful to have one in case of emergency.

I remember back when I was young when health cards were not that rampant, and hospitalization and tests were expensive. Most people will go to the quack doctors instead of getting proper diagnostics from a professional. Herbal medicine, massages, calling of the spirits, and other practices are used to determine one's sickness.

The most famous healer in our place use coconut oils mixed with different herbs and stuff to cure their patient. While being massaged, he uttered words in Latin which I cannot recall anymore and there are times when I feel okay after. He will say that I was enchanted by some spirits and that is why I am not feeling well due to being restless when I was young. How did he find out? By the means of pagtatawas a ritual wherein they lit a candle, and poured the wax of the candle into a basin filled with water. If an entity enchants you, there will be a pattern of a human that you can see. ( Subject to interpretation) The healer doesn't accept payments and just receives either snacks or coffee from its patients so for someone who's not fortunate enough to have the means to avail of hospitalization services this is our remedy.

369825400_133702259837366_7829148246701578556_n.jpg

Comparing the medical procedures back then and now I can say that now is much better. We also now have an ambulance that can respond to basic emergencies. Though it is also costly to avail for one, still if push comes to shove there's a vehicle available anytime too.

Sort:  

Ahh we seldom visit that kind of healer as my Mom opted for medical plants.
So every time I have a cough, I would buried my face on the pillow for her not to hear me! Who wants to drink extracted liquid from ampalaya?

Aside from , my grandma and my father are good in luy a another way to know if we your enchanted...

p5275 per week? Wee wag ako TP 🤣

 5 months ago  

Kami oregano extract haha hindi masarap nakakasuka ang lasa.

luy a

Something newwwwww.

p5275 per week? Wee wag ako TP 🤣

Yes naman we are poor wag ka nga. HAHAH

Though I opt to have my kids checked with a physician, naadopt pa rin ung ganung paggagamot kasi ung yaya nila dinadala sila sa ganun. Which is ok lang din sa akin if it would help.

Sobrang mahal magkasakit no. Hirap din kasi ang healthy lifestyle 😅😆😅

 5 months ago  

Oo nga ang mahal magkasakit lately, kaunting ubot at sipon lang hospital na agad :( hahah.

Push for alternative muna pag di naman ganun ka severe

 5 months ago (edited) 

Laking hilot ako eh. Pag may sakit, yung hilot sa lugar namin ang tinatawag ni mama. Haha. Naalala ko pa may ginawa pa dati. Tawas ang tawag nila. So ineexpect ko may isang tipak na tawas na ilalabas yung hilot. Pero esperma, kutsara tsaka mangkok na may tubig lang. Amazed na amazed ako sa mga shapes na finoform nung kandila. Pag alis nung hilit, syempre ako naman tamang trip, ginawa ko yung ginawa nya. Syempre galit na galit nanay ko dahil di daw dapat pinaglalaruan ang ganun.

Buti na lang ngayon, may card na rin kami. Mas namomonitor ang cholesterol ko nang maayos. No more pahid pahid and kandi kandila. Hahaah

 5 months ago  

HAHA tried that too! Bawal daw at kung anong espirito ang matawag sa ganung kineme.

Sa true sa healthcard, minsan mamimili ka nalang ng lugar na accredited lalo na pag shala ang ospital mo / clinic gugustuhin mo na mag stay.