My health, my happiness!

" How do you Take Care of your Health... (and perhaps the one of others) ? "
By @anttn

This question got me thinking if I'm doing enough to care for my health but I will love to share with you all what my daily routine is like when it comes to my health.

As a fashion designer, I've always been occupied by so many jobs, from knitting to sewing to crafting, and most times I spend all my day and even the night working especially now that it's the festive period.

However, I know that health is wealth and so if I fail to care for my health whatever money I make would be spent on my health here are my few steps.

Sleep
I've come to realize that sleeping is very important for my health, one thing I've learned is to have a good and functioning memory or retentive memory, one must get at least 7 -8 hours of sleep.
I make sure I do not joke with my sleep.

Screenshot_20221221-121230.png

Here is a screenshot of what my daily reminder or alarm looks like.
This calls for discipline because I might still want to be occupied by Other things, but as soon as this pops on my screen, I obey, I pray and then sleep.

Medical checks

I bought some basic medical instruments.
This is a thermometer.
I use it to check my body temperature, rather than assuming, this helps me to be sure if my body temperature is fine or not.

IMG_20221221_121814.jpg



IMG_20221221_121834.jpg

Here is my automatic digital blood pressure monitor, it's very easy to use, as it has a voice function, which not only helps me check my blood pressure but also my heartbeat.
Most people die as a result of negligence or ignorance.
One thing you should know is that blood pressure doesn't happen to the elderly alone, there are so many side effects of blood pressure.
The last part is a stroke and then a heart attack.
So from time to time, I check my blood pressure as soon as I'm up from bed, to know if I will be needing more than enough rest for the day.


IMG_20221221_121845.jpg

And here is my blood sugar meter.
This is a very good and important medical instrument. I use it to check my blood sugar level, this is a great way to avoid diabetes, as young ones we eat a lot of junk and sugary food without thinking of the consequence or damage it might cost us.
I do this check-up every 3months in keeping my blood sugar in check.

These medical instruments have been of help to my aged mom too. I ensure I check her temperature, blood sugar, and blood pressure every day before leaving for work.
This has helped to reduce so many crises.

Once every three months, I ensure I visit my doctor to do other medical checks beyond my power, if people detect their health status quickly enough, they would be best enlightened on how to deal with it.
I do all of these for the sake of my future. I still wanna be strong and healthy when I'm old.

Good diet
I eat a lot of vegetables.

IMG_20221221_152204.jpg
This is the African Basil, popularly known as scent leaf in the country I come from.
It is a very beautiful veggie, it also regulates blood sugar and adds scent to food. It is also known for fighting sinus and cholera and when smashed as a paste applied on the skin, it is a good skincare routine.

This leaf is edible, I also ensure eat enough of this veggie.

IMG_20221221_152214.jpg

This is the Vernonia amygdalina, popularly known as Bitter leaf.
Haha, this leaf is quite bitter but has a sweet taste after being taken.
It helps to burn fat and eliminate cancer and high cholesterol in one's system. All these veggies are edible and part of my diet.
I use them to prepare food like jollof rice, soups, and stew.

I replace industrial sugar with honey.

IMG_20221221_152311.jpg

I also ensure I eat an egg a day, eat a lot of fruits, and avoid fries as much as I can.

To help others I make sure I prepare a healthy meal for myself and my family, and we try our best to eat as early as we can before going to bed.

Water

IMG_20221221_153134.jpg
We all know the benefits of taking water, I ensure I drink at least 2.5 liters of water in a day.
I'm on the early morning water therapy, it works like magic, it gives my skin a radiant and beautiful look, and helps me remain active and hydrated for the day. Wherever you see me, you see my water beside me. I replace soda with water and that's a way to a healthy life.

Eye care
I practice a lot of eye care, as they say, the eye is the lamp of the body, being a writer and seamstress, my eyes are very important to me, on that note I got myself protective eyeglasses, to protect my eyes from direct sunlight, dust, and wind.
And on my phone, I ensure I activate the eye care setting to protect me from the blue screen.

Exercise
This is something I don't joke with,
The gym around my location is quite far, I made sure I downloaded the Abs workout app.

Screenshot_20221221-154443.png

The beautiful thing about this app is, it has voice instructors and even tips to stay healthy.
The workouts aren't easy but it is worth it in the end.
Each day has its workout and after every three days, the apps encourage me to take a rest from the workout and resume the next day.
On weekends, I encourage my momma to join me while we work out together enjoying good music.

Proper hygiene
I have made it a ritual in the house to always wash our hands immediately after we get home from wherever we went to even if we are eating immediately or not and I'm glad, my family has gotten used to that.

IMG_20221221_160222.jpg

And I ensure we still go out with our hand sanitizers.
Each member of the family has theirs to tag along with.
Where handwashing may be difficult, we make use of sanitizer.

Good relationships with others/ vacation
If there's anything else I know that boosts healthy living is living at peace with oneself and those around you.
To be at peace with others involve tolerance, good communication and letting go of resentment.

On that note, we have a day set aside every month to hang out, taking a time off to visit friends and family and take a tour around the hood and beyond.

I ensure I reach out to my loved ones via face time, WhatsApp chat, or a phone call, it goes a long way.
Feeling loved improves good health, so when it is in my power to show how much I care about those I love why shouldn't I?

It's quite amazing spending your day with your loved ones. It is therapeutic and helps to reduce stress when you're gisting and laughing.

IMG_20221221_160709.jpg

Good enough the holiday is almost here, so we have enough time to hang out and forget about work for a while.

I'm so excited.

20221128_122821_0000.png

All images used are mine

Sort:  

love this Amie! hehehe

and i'm jsut as focused on handwashing as you I guess hehehe i always always like clean hands and i don't like when I touch someone else's hands when i can tell that they haven't washed them recently hahahahahaha

it makes me crazy! LOLOLOL

loved hearing you on PYPT - and enjoy that picture of you beautiful girls hehehe

Hehe, Thank you ma'am for coming around my blog and leaving a beautiful comment.

Do have a beautiful holiday @dreemsteem, you know I love you ❤️

 last year  

Hello @amiegeoffrey ! Thanks for participating in the challenge 😊

You're the first person I've read about who talks about sleep, isn't that amazing? And yet, it's so important! I used to be a person who slept but really little and since a few years, it has completely changed and I must say I love it !

You are the only one who has and shows these medical instruments and it's funny that you show this because I was thinking of buying some lately. You seem to be well equipped, just what you need to know the key figures and not to go into the delirium of monitoring everything all the time.

Thank you for sharing the plants you use, I didn't know some of them like African basil and Vernonia amygdalina... Will do some research :)

I really liked the rest of your article, we can feel that you are not joking with health, whether it is about hygiene, food, exercise or relationships with others and your loved ones :) Thank you for sharing this beautiful and instructive lesson <3

I also especially thank you for using your own pictures, it makes the article all the more personal and interesting !

I wish you a beautiful end of the year and good times with your family and hope you will be able to rest too 🤞 🌟 !

Thank you so much @anttn for leaving this beautiful comment on my blog today.
And thanks for reading thru, I loved the topic maybe that was why I spoke extensively on it.

Do have a beautiful holiday too.

 last year  

You're most welcomed ! And once again, it was just perfectly managed on your side, sorry to answer a bit lately :)

Thanks you 😊

It's totally understandable,at least you eventually replied.

Stay safe @anttn

Congratulations @amiegeoffrey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @amiegeoffrey ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

it's important to eat good food, we don't have to eat everything we see because of our health, prevention is the best medicine we can give to ourselves...

Yeah, me too, I don't like taking industrial sugars, if I don't see honey, I will rather take my tea or pap that way... I love making use of scent leaves when making stew, the aroma is enough to make you to devour the food, apart from the nutrition value.. hehehe.

Hehe, good food begets good health, thanks for visiting my blog today.

Yeah, I find your article interesting, good for me that I came around..

You know I just finished mine and realised that I forgot to talk about the importance of having enough sleep. It is something I struggled with in the past and it made me quite unwell for a while. xxxx

Sleep is very important, I'm checking out your post soon and can't wait to learn from you too.

Thank you for visiting my blog @trucklife-family