Building a Robust and Minimal Furniture for storing Wood Indoors

in DIYHub8 months ago

Well, I promise, today's article will be my last one related in any way to firewood or wood-burning stoves...! At least, not for a while ^^ Hello dear Winters, how are you ?

Since the arrival of this stove, a number of items have found their way into the living room... You'll find them below :

DSC_1468.JPG

There's this sort of vertical wheelbarrow for the logs, and above all the various containers for kindling, paper and cleaning materials for maintaining the stove.

In truth, I don't mind looking a bit campy, but I do like things to be a bit clear and square !

So, without missing a beat, I got to thinking and sketching out what would look best... In a way, I also embarked on this project after seeing @gogreenbuddy's bench-building project ! Let's just say that it really made me want to start building things again :)

DSC_1490.JPG

DSC_1487.JPG

So here's my first sketch and the few tools I've got here that I'm starting to get out when I have my morning chicory. And yes, I don't drink coffee any more, at least not on a daily basis. Too ying and acidic, at least for me !

DSC_1494.JPG

DSC_1497.JPG

DSC_1505.JPG

Here's the wood I had available. 6 rough sawn fir strips and a plywood board I found for 2€ in a DIY shop. But let's get on with the building !

DSC_1510.JPG

DSC_1520.JPG

DSC_1553.JPG

DSC_1562.JPG

I start by marking the sections of my cleats that I'm going to use as legs and uprights at the four corners of the board.

Then I make a quick cut with a Japanese saw and use the cutting bench for the logs...

DSC_1564.JPG

DSC_1584.JPG

DSC_1591.JPG

DSC_1612.JPG

Next, I cut the uprights. I cut them to a metre in length and start pre-drilling the positions where I will place the crosspieces that will support the board.

After drilling, I chamfer each of the holes so that the screws don't protrude.

DSC_1615.JPG

And here are my boards, ready and lightly sanded. It's nearly midday and I'm still missing several elements, so I'm off to do a few errands in the next town...

DSC_1617.JPG

DSC_1622.JPG

A short interlude with these two images of the cathedral in Mortagne-au-Perche in the light at the end of the day... Just goes to show, I'm not going to finish until nightfall !

DSC_1626.JPG

And now I'm back with my screws and mounting brackets to make my furniture even more solid.

DSC_1629.JPG

DSC_1635.JPG

DSC_1639.JPG

Without further ado, as you can see from the images, I set about installing the brackets. Because now it's really dark !

DSC_1644.JPG

DSC_1646.JPG

DSC_1649.JPG

That's it, I'm starting to really assemble the different elements. To make it even more solid, I'm taking the trouble to glue each part.

So you can see at a glance that my ladders aren't straight. In any case, the uprights aren't parallel. But don't worry, everything will be back to normal in the next stage :)

DSC_1652.JPG

DSC_1664.JPG

And here's the finished piece of furniture... I admit I skipped the last few operations a bit, but I imagine you'll be able to see how it progressed! I mainly put the top board in place and just solidified the base and squared the whole thing up a bit.

DSC_1675.JPG

I don't wait until the next morning to install it, and I put it in place as soon as it's finished !

DSC_1707.JPG

But in the end, the image I took the next morning was still of much better quality, both in terms of colour and light.

So now all I have to do is bring in some logs and simply enjoy the fire ! I hope you've enjoyed this modest little article, which does what I wanted it to do :)

Thank you for visiting, I wish you a lovely day,

<3

@anttn


Tous les textes et images présentés ici sont les miens.






Bon promis, cet article d'aujourd'hui sera mon dernier lié de près ou de loin au bois de chauffage ou au poêle à bois..! En tout cas, avant quelques temps ^^ Bonjour chers Hivers, comment allez-vous ?

Depuis l'arrivée de ce poêle, logiquement, plusieurs éléments sont arrivés dans le salon... On les retrouve ci-dessous :

DSC_1468.JPG

On retrouve cette sorte de brouette verticale pour les bûches, et surtout les différents contenants avec le petit bois, le papier et les éléments de nettoyage pour l'entretien du poêle.

En vrai, ça ne me dérange pas d'avoir l'air d'un peu camper, mais j'aime quand même que les choses soient un peu claires et carrées !

Alors ni une ni deux, je me suis mis à réfléchir et à dessiner un peu ce qui serait le mieux... D'une certaine manière, je me suis aussi lancé dans ce projet après avoir vu le projet de construction de banc de @gogreenbuddy ! On va dire que cela m'a vraiment donné envie de me remettre à construire des choses :)

DSC_1490.JPG

DSC_1487.JPG

Alors voilà mon premier croquis et les quelques outils que j'ai ici et que je commence à sortir au moment de la chicorée matinale. Et oui, je ne bois plus de café, en tout cas plus quotidiennement. Trop ying et acide, en tout cas pour moi !

DSC_1494.JPG

DSC_1497.JPG

DSC_1505.JPG

Voilà le bois que j'avais à disposition. 6 tasseaux de sapin bruts de sciage et une planche de contreplaqué trouvée pour 2€ dans un magasin de bricolage. Mais lançons-nous dans les opérations de constructions !

DSC_1510.JPG

DSC_1520.JPG

DSC_1553.JPG

DSC_1562.JPG

Je commence à par marquer les sections de mes tasseaux qui vont me servir de pieds et de montants aux quatre coins de la planche.

Ensuite, je coupe ça rapidement à la scie japonaise et comme tréteaux, je me sers du banc de coupe pour les bûches...

DSC_1564.JPG

DSC_1584.JPG

DSC_1591.JPG

DSC_1612.JPG

Ensuite, je passe aux montants. Je les coupe à un mètre de longueur et je commence à pré-percer les positions où je placerai les traverses qui soutiendront la planche.

Après le perçage, je chanfreine chacun des trous pour que les vis ne dépassent pas.

DSC_1615.JPG

Et voilà mes tasseaux prêts et légèrement poncés, il est bientôt midi et il me manque plusieurs éléments et je pars donc pour quelques courses dans la ville d'à côté...

DSC_1617.JPG

DSC_1622.JPG

Petit intermède avec ces deux images de la cathédrale à Mortagne-au-Perche dans la lumière de la fin de journée... Comme quoi, je ne vais terminer qu'à la nuit tombée !

DSC_1626.JPG

Et me voilà de retour avec mes vis et mes équerres de montage qui me permettront de solidifier encore davantage mon meuble.

DSC_1629.JPG

DSC_1635.JPG

DSC_1639.JPG

Sans plus tarder, et on le voit sur les images à leur colorimétrie, je me lance dans la mise en place des équerres. Car ça y est, il fait vraiment nuit !

DSC_1644.JPG

DSC_1646.JPG

DSC_1649.JPG

Voilà, ça y est, je commence à réellement assembler les différents éléments. Pour que cela soit encore plus solide, je prends la peine de coller chacune des parties.

Alors on s'aperçoit au premier coup d'oeil, mais mes échelles ne sont pas droites. En tout cas, les montants ne sont pas parallèles. Mais pas d'inquiétude, tout va rentrer dans l'ordre durant la suite des opérations :)

DSC_1652.JPG

DSC_1664.JPG

Et voilà le meuble terminé.. j'avoue que j'ai sauté un peu les dernières opérations, mais j'imagine que vous verrez comment ça a avancé ! J'ai surtout mis en place la planche du haut et me suis contenté de solidifier le piétement et à équerrer un peu l'ensemble.

DSC_1675.JPG

Je n'attends pas le lendemain matin pour l'installer et je le mets en place dès que celui-ci est terminé !

DSC_1707.JPG

Mais au final, l'image que je prends le lendemain matin est quand même de bien meilleure qualité, tant au point de vue colorimétrique qu'au niveau de la lumière.

Voilà, maintenant, il me reste à ramener des bûches et à tout simplement, profiter du feu ! J'espère que vous aurez apprécié ce petit article de construction certes modeste, mais qui fait ce que je désirais :)

Merci pour votre visite, je vous souhaite une excellente journée,

<3

@anttn


Tous les textes et images présentés ici sont les miens.


Sort:  

Well, well, well, look how handy you are! 😊 It looks great! And functional!

I have also stopped drinking coffee for exactly same reason. Have you tried matcha latte? Much better taste and it's not acidic.. also healthy as it's full of antioxidants..

BTW, recently I've started to learn French, so I'm using your posts for practice, but I only realize that I'm not that far yet 😁 If you'd wrote something about weather, shopping, food or hobbies I could understand better 😂

Haha ! Indeed :) I wanted it super simple and solid, mission achieved I think !

I never tried matcha latte, would love to, but the occasion didn't show yet ! But I drink a lot of different teas, principally green Japanese ones and earl grey !

Ah, mais quelle bonne nouvelle ! I will start to write half of my comments to you in French so !
That's a great move, on my side I'm thinking about learning Japanese, will be tuff 😅

Have a lovely weekend ahead @delishtreats 😘

Wow! The finished look is perfect, you sure know your way around woods, it would cost me a huge amount to make same type if furniture here in my country, everywhere looks today and organized now, well done!

!diy

Thank you 😊 !

Yeah, wood can indeed be quite expensive, here it was still approximately 40-50€ I think...

Wooow!
This is a typical example of DIY(Do It Yourself). From start to finish, it looks great and the write up is well explanatory to say the least. I wish I can try this in the near future. You are welcome Buddy.

Hehe ! Thank you @peterale, hopefully I studied wood-working 😉 !

Have a good weekend ✌️

Great work, well done! Recently, I renovated an old wooden garden table but decided to keep the pleasure to myself only and not post online at all, hehe :)

!DHEDGE

Hehe, I understand that @lightcaptured ! It's indeed nice to keep much offline 😅

Thank you, the good thing is that a lot is still to do in that house !

Have a nice weekend ✌️

Tell me about it. I also live in a house and there is always something to do. A friendly advise if you have a to-do list - don't tick all the checkboxes as then instantly something new appears that has to be urgently done :D
Have a wonderful weekend yourself as well!

Basically, there are two main objectives: the garden and the house itself. For the garden, we're trying to make progress on the orchard and plant the trees as quickly as possible, as it takes the longest to grow and bear fruit. As for the vegetable garden, that will come next spring :)

As far as the house is concerned, there's a lot that's already been done, either by us or by the previous owners, but the biggest job is the insulation. Changing the windows, removing the cement that encourages damp in the walls... these are the biggest jobs! A bit of white paint would be nice too !

But I agree, everything have not to be done urgently !

Thank you, that made me curious about your own house 😉

Take care !

That sounds very familiar to me.
Our garden has a front yard that is mostly decorative, with cypresses, pine trees and two vines.
Then there is the back yard with a small orchard and between the trees I plant some vegetables, I love cherry tomatoes, gherkins, onions, hot peppers. Unfortunately our well gives less and less water each year due to the climate changes and I can't plant too many seasonal stuff. That's why I planted more trees this year with focus on edible ones.
I've done that windows renovation in the past, it's real pain and is so slow :) Not to mention, expensive too. After a huge roof repair this year for the next one the plans are to whitewash the walls outside as summers get even sunnier :)
You too, thank you!

Yes, deep down, it seems to be gradually becoming a garden forest :) Ah, the well and the water, I hope that more rain this winter will make up for that! Have you set up any water collectors ? I suppose so, but I should mention that last year I went to visit a woman who lives on a hill with no water and grows plants for essential oils. She's built two roof areas just to collect water and she stores over 40m3, which seems to last her all year. It could still be a solution !

As far as the renovations are concerned, we're going to do them bit by bit, trying of course to improve overall comfort !

Thanks for your reply and I saw that you'd sent me an article about your garden, so I'll have a look at it tomorrow 😉

Have a good weekend ahead !

Oh, garden forest sounds awesome to me, that would pay off in hot summers providing more shadows, what I love about adult trees is they don't need much watering, if any at all.
When we moved in to the house few years ago I made some calcs and it's not worth it the investment to collect rain water as during the summers here it generally doesn't rain. But still, I have 2 x 1m3 water containers that I fill at noon and then use the water in the evening giving the well enough time to "regenerate" the water volume ;)
Have a great weekend too, thank you!

Well-done! The whole place looks more neat now. You really know how to do this. I love how you took us from step to step to the finishing. Yeah the image in the morning looks more beautiful

Yeah, it's more visually clear now 👍 !

Now it looks really neat and well-organized. Enjoy the heating effects that this collection of wood will give you :)))

{the mushroom lamp is cute 😇 🍄}

Isn't it ? Thank you !!

We also have a squirrel one hehe 😅 !

🐿

Wave Media

😂 !

cuteeeeeee 😍

Yeaaah ! A little lamp tree would be perfect in addition haha !

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you for your support ✌️

Bien réalisé.

!BBH

Your post has been manually reviewed for curation.

separator2.png

Principality of Bastion's Tavern - Our Leit Motiv? Let's Grow Together.

Discord | ECU | Site | Twitch | Donations | Paypal via Streamlabs

One click delegations: 500 HP | 1500 HP | 5000 HP |25000 HP | 100000 HP
Or delegate the amount you decide to @hive-143869, using peakd's wallet, for example.

JON.gif

separator2.png

@anttn! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @itharagaian. (1/5)

Merci 😉

Bon weekend à toi !

This furniture carries it's own beauty in it's simplicity! Well done! And I like the fact you used things you had around already.
And personally, I wouldn't mind to see more stuff related to firewood and the stove. 😉 Take care!

Late thanks dear @aaskablackwolf 😅 ! I'm indeed quite happy with this one ! Simple and functional :)

Have a good Sunday ✌️

 8 months ago  
@glorydee just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post dear @anttn! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!

You can query your personal balance by !DIYSTATS

Thank you @glorydee and @diyhub ✌️

Watching people do woodworks will always be impressive to me. Love it!

Yeah, I too love to watch people do craft and creation in general :)

Thank you @hiddenblade, have a great weekend ahead 😘

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @lightcaptured! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.waiv

@lightcaptured has 13 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

!LOL

I didn't sign up for the company 401k.
I don't think I can run that far.

Credit: reddit
@anttn, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(2/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @anttn.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

!PIZZA
!LOL

Moses was the first person
to use Control-C as a shortcut.

Credit: marshmellowman
@anttn, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of cryptoyzzy

(5/6)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@cryptoyzzy(5/5) tipped @anttn