Aloe Transplant

in DIYHublast year (edited)

Hello Everyone,

This morning I decided to transplant the aloe.

The rate at which this plant has been growing is surprising, and it was looking like it quickly outgrew its previous planter.

Let's have a look at the process.


image.png


Drainage is important, so I drilled some holes in this hole-less planter.
It's a cool planter that I bought from a local Family Dollar store for five dollars.


image.png


These holes will allow for perfect drainage.


image.png


I use a soil compound from FoxFarm that contains a good mix of coco coir and pearlite. It is the same soil that this aloe exploded in growth in, so I already know it will work great.

It's important to create a pocket for the plant, we do not want to disturb the root system more than necessary.


image.png


If it is not obvious that this plant is ready for transplant, the next photo will confirm.


image.png



aloe.JPG


Look at those big fat roots. This is a very healthy aloe and was definitely ready for transplant.


image.png


The fit in the pocket is perfect, and I did not disturb the root system a single bit. This plant will experience no shock and will continue its explosive growth.


image.png


Might as well pull the pups while transplanting :)
These will root easily and I'll gift them out to people I know :)


image.png


I utilized a couple different gravel mixes that I had laying around for the top soil. I found this stuff in an aquatic department in Walmart, gardening didn't have any.

Not only does it give an aesthetic appeal, it also protects the top soil from over exposure to the light, as well as helps with even distribution for water flow during watering.

It may become top heavy and need support later on, but for now I think it is fine.

What do you all think of this aloe?

I would love to read your thoughts in the comment section!

Thank you for stopping by,

Have a great day! -@futuremind

Sort:  

Nice man. I like how you have branched out and are growing so many different things in your space.

Thanks man,
it's a challenge but enjoyable, accounting for space in the future is probably the most challenging aspect, and there are many other things I still want to grow and have all kinds of seeds on the way from the internet.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

 last year  
Thank you for sharing this post in the DIYHUB Community!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator hafizullah & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

I was just watching this short video in YouTube and now you're talking about expanding aloe business...

This is pretty amazing, I'm going to have to try something like this when I have monster size aloes :D

It's the monster size aloes I want cause it's a very good remedy for hair growth that's why I'm all up in this aloe business. Good thing I saw this comment 😊.

I had some aloe growing in my backyard but I really don't know how to take care of them all I've been doing is water them but I haven't seen any changes in growth lately. Do you know what could be the cause? I've seen aloes grow so big but mine hasn't or are they of different species?

Hi @teknon,
There are a variety of different aloe species but I think most of them do get pretty large. Does it get a lot of sun where it's planted? Is the color vibrant green or more of a pale grey color?
It's easy to overwater aloes, especially if they aren't getting enough light, overwatering could be a reason it's not getting larger, or not enough sun, or maybe both.
Do you have a picture?

Does it get a lot of sun where it's planted?

Yes it does!

overwatering could be a reason it's not getting larger, or not enough sun, or maybe both.

Think I'll pay more attention to these two factors.

Do you have a picture?

IMG_20220705_162034_969~3.jpg

This is what it looks like compared to what I found on the net👇

Plantland-product-aloe-vera.png

Mine has been like that for close to a year now without the Leaves or whatever it's called getting bigger than you see there plus the image is even making it look as if it's big in reality they're all short with small leaves.

It looks very healthy!
My guess is it probably needs a bigger pot. It looks like the same type I have and I don't think it would look so vibrant if it was lacking sun or water, it doesn't look overwatered either.

You're doing a great job caring for it!
Thanks for sharing the photos, maybe try repotting it.
Let me know how you progress with it :)

You're doing a great job caring for it!

Really? Thought I wasn't doing any good. Thank you I really appreciate 😊.

Thanks for sharing the photos, maybe try repotting it.

They're planted directly in earth.

Let me know how you progress with it :)

Sure, I will🥰

Aloe vera does get large and it's obviously enjoying the conditions there. Mine doesn't grow much, it seems too hot and dry at my place

It's definitely thriving, probably partially due to there being a giant boiler directly underneath the floor where the tent is. The placement was intentional, it heats the soil up nicely.

That's unfortunate about yours, I hope you're able to get it growing better.

Thank you for stopping by @nikv.

You are very hardworking man. I learn alot from you how to grow plants and manage our garden. I will try this method in my garden. Thanks for sharing this helpful process with us.

Thank you kindly @djbravo, trying my best here :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @futuremind ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You have of plants already. That's nice!

Thank you!

Apuesto que tienes mas macetas que cubiertos para comer jajajaj, me alegre verte activo y veo que tenes informacion de sobra para compartirnos. Espero poder estar lo suficientemente atento para estar al dia con todo lo que cuentas y muestras.

En realidad necesito conseguir más jajaja