You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2023 New Year's Message From the Hive Cats Communty!

in HiveCatslast year

Hi @carolkean, thanks for stopping by, and commenting!

Maybe you already know this, but it sounds like you are logged in with your posting password, which allows you to post, comment, upvote and claim your rewards.

Financial transactions — like powering up/down, moving your HBD to savings, making delegations, etc. — requires your "Private Active Key."

I don't know how you log in, nor which front end you use, but if you're using a password minder to log in automatically (rather than a Hive-based solution like "KeyChain") you may have to log OUT and log back IN with your Private Active Key... to do anything financial. I see you have quite a few Hive and HBD "just sitting there," so you could put them to work for you. HBD in "savings" currently earns 20% interest, so your 411+/- HBD would earn you an extra $5.00/month for doing absolutely nothing!

I (@curatorcat) and the Hive Cats Community use PeakD and the HiveKeychain browser extension for all things Hive... makes it all nice and easy, and KeyChain automatically figures out which of your keys to use for what transactions... once it's set up properly!

Anyway, probably far more info than you were expecting, so I'll stop here!

=^..^=

Sort:  

THANK YOU, thank you, and not "too much info" at all -
For some reason, my passwords appear to have been altered while stored in Chrome, but I will keep trying to get in. Pay it forward, some of the upvotes and rewards - delegate - support communities!
Thanks again.

Maybe if I log out here, and log in again on my old pc....
(I have seen these before, and tried it before) -

image.png

As long as you have your master password (key) somewhere, you should be OK.

When my hard disk crashed, what I had to do was completely erase Hive from browser saved info (I also use Chrome), then try to log in with my master password... which will give you an ERROR message and ask you if you wish to download a PDF file with your keys. So you say "Yes," and store that file safely on your device. Then copy and paste the relevant key from the PDF doc and start over with which passwords/keys you are saving. However, I would only let Chrome save my Posting key... when I need to do financial stuff (like delegations) I do a manual copy and paste from my saved keys document... and answer NO when prompted whether or not I want to update my password.

It's why I now use KeyChain instead.

=^..^=

... and answer NO when prompted whether or not I want to update my password. It's why I now use KeyChain instead.

Oh man... the things I need to learn. And remember.
THANK YOU
Tomorrrow I'll take a stab at this. Tonight, yes, Saturday night, the furnace repairman is here, having braved treacherous roads and near-zero temps, and we shall have heat again... trying to keep a 25-yr-old furnace going because new appliances are expensive and poorly made and hard to acquire.

stay warm....

Thank you again for the tips.