From Popular "Papelón con Limón" to Super Refreshing Turmeric & Ginger Infusion :p

in Amazing Drinks29 days ago (edited)

Hi, amazing Hivers!

I hope you're having a nice week 😁

My week has gone very well, especially considering that that horrible flu everyone seems to have--what could it be, huh?--has finally left me! I wasn't feeling like myself for a whole week, but I never had a fever or any respiratory issues.

I like to think that my immune system is stronger now thanks to incorporating spices like ginger and turmeric into my daily diet, among other things.

image.png
image.png

Healthy & Healing Traditions

In my town, papelón con limón juice has always been a tradition because it's absolutely hot here 🔥🥵🔥 I don't usually drink juices, but when the heat hits hard like these months (the last two years), you start to get creative, and at a certain point you want what you drink to be healthier.

When it comes to turmeric, well, much research is needed on how to consume turmeric, how much, when and mixed with what, but there is also much that is known from experimentation through the years, and time is wise, my friends 😎

image.png

There is a whole tradition of Ayurvedic medicine, for example, that highlights the anti-inflammatory and digestive properties of turmeric and ginger and their value in strengthening the immune system, to name some. I know little about these matters, and if know little like me as well, fortunately, there are a number of Ayurvedic practitioners that you can turn to for guidance if you are interested; just go to the web and navigate wisely. I'd like to recommend the people I follow, but I'm not that confident yet 😏 I keep reading and listening to people who have been involved in these matters longer than I have...

image.png

So far, I can only attest to the effects on my own body, which is saying a lot, since I do not consume it as much as most people who have entrusted their health to this miracle root. After a couple of weeks of taking a similar infusion (of turmeric, ginger, honey and a slice of lemon), I noticed that my hands were getting less swollen and my knuckles no longer hurt. A few days later, after incorporating masala chai into my daily routine (alternating days with some homemade coconut milk), I could finally feel my joints returning to normal functioning as before the COVID-19--which left me suffering from a very annoying pain in my knees.

image.png

INGREDIENTS

image.png

image.png

  • 2 tablespoons sliced fresh ginger, unpeeled
  • 1 spoonful of turmeric (I used powdered)
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons cane honey
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

It's said that black pepper favors the absorption of curcumin; I hope so because I love the taste in my infusion. It's also said that fats such as milk, coconut or olive oil enhance the effects of curcumin; I haven't tried this one, but I do like golden milk made with coconut milk (homemade and unsweetened).

The Ayurvedic parctitioner I have consulted says that if you want to reduce the pitta, you can use lime juice instead of lemon juice for infusions like this one. As she spoke, I just wanted to raise my hand and ask, "What?" "Pitta who?" Hehe 🙊 It's a whole new world for me. Really interesting, and the best thing is that no one is telling me this and that about the benefits of turmeric and ginger because I am experiencing myself--always with measure.

image.png

THE PROCESS

The first thing I did was to confirm if I wasn't using too much ginger. And it was fine. I was just checking because everybody seems to have an opinion on the grams of ginger you may consume per day. Anyway, I'm not chewing it--I couldn't chew this much even if I wanted to 🔥🥵🔥

image.png

I alos found that the tablespoon of ground curcuma I use every other day for my husband and I is 6 grams approx.

image.png

However, the amount of milligrams taken by test subjects in clinical studies is insane, especially considering that they take pure curcumin. You can read a lot about it at PubMed. I understand half of what I read here, doing my best 😂

To start,

I wash, slice and crush the ginger, unpeeled. I use an old pestle with a flat end to make it easier.

I add a cup of water and bring the pot to simmer for 15 minutes.

image.png

Then I add the turmeric and remove the pot from the heat, so that it cooks with the remaining heat. It is a fact that high temperatures lower the curcumin; as my pot is thick-bottomed and retains a lot of heat, I simply remove it from the heat as soon as I add the turmeric.

image.png

I stir the mixture well and let it infuse for 5 minutes.

I add the cane honey, lemon juice, and a cup of cold water.

image.png

At this point, I like to add a little chopped lemon in the jar to give the drink more freshness.

Time to drain it 😋

image.png

Add ice and our cold infusion is ready for you to enjoy.

image.png
image.png
image.png

image.png

All in all, I don't think I'll ever take my papelón con limón (cane honey & lemon juice) again without a little curcuma and black pepper--or some Jamaican pepper, perhaps--; it really raises its status a thousandfold!

Cheers!❤️

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

!
Sort:  

I am glad you are feeling better. Your testimony is valuable. Even though it is medicinal, the beverage looks refreshing and would be delicious with the ginger lime and cane honey. I finally found some Piloncillo and I love using it. I will be making your cane honey in days to come. Thanks for the great information.

I wish you only wellness from now on my friend.❤️

It is really refreshing!

Piloncillo is nice. I'm sure you're enjoying the flavor ❤️ Cane honey made at home is cool because you can make it as thick as you need.

Thank you so much for dropping by and for your nice words. Sending a big hug, my friend!

Even though I know about the health benefits of turmeric and ginger, I never used these in my life. But I really should look into some quick drinks that include them as it's impossible not to find one recipe which is closer to my taste :)

I've heard some people prepare an infusion with turmeric, ginger, and black pepper, and then they add some drops of coconut oil (approx. half teaspoon in 200 ml of hot infusion). I must try that one. Perhaps you'd enjoy it, @gabrielatravels 💕

Sounds pretty interesting! Thanks for the heads up! :)

Una forma diferente de tomar papelón con limón, es muy refrescante y ahora con esta versión, nuestro sistema inmune lo agradecerá. La cúrcuma y el jengibre son dos ingredientes muy poderosos, con grandes beneficios para la salud. Saludos

Tener una bebida que sea refrescante y sanadora, además de sabrosa (cuestión de gusto), ha Sido una maravilla. El calor es agobiante y por allí anda la "gripe misteriosa.

Gracias por pasar, @hylene74 ❤️ Qué tengas un lindo día 😌

Thank you so much, @tahirmuneer 😁 Much appreciated ❤️

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

Thank you so much for that! 😁❤️

@marlyncabrera, you are most welcome!

Please Support Back

Here is !ALIVE token gift for you
Here is !LUV token gift for you
Here is !PIZZA token gift for you
Here is !BEER token gift for you

Sorry to hear you haven't been feeling well. That looks like a ton of tumeric! I guess I don't use it enough to really know what is an acceptable amount. I have heard that garlic is good for your joints and inflammation as well. I don't know how true that is.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful words, @bozz.sports 😁 The amount of turmeric is the key, I think. Besides having it in my drink every other day, I use it in my cooking--but you know the more heat, the less effectiveness--. I have added ginger in my drinks and meals too and it's working for me. I'm crazy about garlic and I have it on a daily basis: raw in vegetable spreads and salads and cooked in my everyday meals, but my joints were hurting whatsoever, so._ I guess it's trial and error forus, my friend, and always keeping measures reasonable.

Thank you so much for dropping by! Have a weekend ahead ❤️

Thanks, I hope you have a great weekend too! It sounds like you have definitely done a lot of trial and error to perfect this!

Papelón with lemon is already a delightful drink, now with turmeric, ginger and the other ingredients it becomes a delicious healing elixir!

I'm glad you're fully recovered from the flu and that your joints are already functioning normally, my dear @marlyncabrera and thank you for sharing this potent and healthy drink full of so much flavor.

a delicious healing elixir!

Yes, delicious medicine. What else can we ask for!

The flu is, you know, the mysterious flu. The strong flu. For some reason, we continue to have a mild version of it, but it affects me in different ways: I feel sleepy during the day and then can't sleep well at night, I get a feeling of sadness and worry... and when I start question myself about what that might be, I realize I can't smell a thing. Then I know.

But I'm OK now. Thank you so much for your visit and nice words. Cheers, my friend @zupasteleria ❤️💕

Yo quiero bien bien frío jajaja, una jarra para mi plis 😊😆🤗

Cómo está el clima por allá? Aquí estoy en atmósfera artificial ❄️ Imposible salir 🔥🥵🔥

Te guardo una jarra con ingrediente especial 🤭 🧪

Aquí llovió en la madrugada, los artificiales son los que andan en la calle jajaja, parecen de películas 🤣

Una jarra y una parrilla con todo jajaja

los artificiales son los que andan en la calle jajaja

untitled.gif

It looks delicious and refreshing in this hot weather.

Too hot, my friend. And the little rain only makes it worse: we're going to boil like 'bollos pelones' 😂😭

We're really hot, but with this drink we can hold our own, my friend.

I'm making hibiscus right now. I'm running out of herbs and spices and money! 😂

😂😂😂

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite 😁❤️


BANNER DRINKS.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks ❤️😁 Cheers!

Oye sí, el virus está repuntado, yo ando encomendada a Dios y estoy tomando te verde con miel y jengibre*, además de vitamina C.

Tu post es hermoso, la iluminación de las fotos me gusta mucho y ese toque paprika seguro lleva a esta bebida tradicional a otro nivel.

Saludos:)

Sí, ese virus se las trae. He escuchado hasta de convulsiones por fiebre. Así que ojalá esos tés vayan con mucha energía curativa 🙏🏻 Y la vitamina C también 😌

La pimienta negra, que le pongo a diestra y siniestra a casi todas las comidas, le da un picor a las bebidas que me encanta y lamento haberlo descubierto apenas hace un par de meses.

Muchas gracias por el apoyo y la motivación, @eugelys 😁❤️

FOOTER.png
You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here | Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @plantpoweronhive 💚😁

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 8500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 9000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the June edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2024