Ignorance Is Bliss ? Yeah, Sometimes!

in BDCommunity2 years ago

featurepoliticalignoranceisbliss.jpgSource

Once I was very much addicted to social media, specially Facebook. I was wasting a lot of time attending on almost every posts and arguing over shits. I was spending 10-14 hours daily. It was like I'm always there to check the notifications. Friends were pissed off. Relatives were pissed off. But I didn't care. Nothing that I did was fruitful but I didn't see the big picture! Though that phase of my life was very toxic, I didn't even try to get over it. It was like I was carrying a lot of weight on my shoulder and I was very angry all the time. Yeah, I was indeed in pain. A long period of time went that way!

When one day I was arguing over a religious post on Facebook in a very attacking way, a friend sent me an image in my inbox. It was a Mark Twin quote saying, "Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

I was speechless for a moment! Then I kept thinking - have I been arguing with stupid people all these years? Really? Where does that leave me? Have they dragged me down to their level already? Or Have I been the stupidest one all along? That quote hit me a very hard! I needed to do something to get over it. I deactivated my account immediately and kept it that way for 6/7 months.

After coming back, I tried to maintain a distance from arguments and kept ignoring those kind of posts as much as I can. In the meantime I read "The Stranger By Albert Camus" which helped me a lot to be calm and quiet. I stopped judging people the way I was judging back then. Later I started ignoring almost all the posts however good or bad. Sometimes I just scrolled and sometimes I just read them but didn't react or comment. I stopped writing about films too. And Finally I was no more addicted to it. It was a relief.

Now-a-days I log in to Facebook for a small period of time. Some days I don't even log in. I spend 1 or 2 hours there in a week max. And I feel very good about it.

All I had to do is to ignore, ignore and ignore!

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

I have had the same experience with Facebook and some of the reasons why I left Facebook and found hive were the same.
It feels good, doesn't it? to be free of it finally. I mean, I still use it, but I don't have the urge to log in there every day or scroll for hours.

Yeah, it feels great actually!

Congratulations @arinamin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!