a very "all over the place" introduction

in BDCommunity2 years ago

20220323_171229.jpg

Introduction!

The whole concept of introducing myself has always been somewhat confusing for me. How do you specifically introduce yourself?
I don't know, perhaps I'm one of the dumb ones who cannot get around the overall concept of introducing himself to others in an apt manner, or maybe I'm one of those who just generically prefer introducing himself and opening up to people one chapter at a time; synching with the never ending tides of life.

But since this is a mandatory step to get started with myself here, I'd give my (maybe not so best) shot.

For startars, if I had to choose one line I'd use to summarize myself, I'd choose "The weirdest guy you might get to know in this lifetime."

I've always felt like an odd ball. Since my childhood, I knew I wasn’t like most other people around me. I can't recall whether it was for the way I spoke without fearing consequences, had an opinion of myself when my primary schoolmates didn’t, didn’t dream of becoming a doctor, engineer or teacher like our teachers wanted us to do (at least for the sake of writing paragraphs), didn’t like beef (i know right!), didn’t like to play outside cause I figured time spent watching television is better than the time spent playing with random neighborhood kids; and the list could go on and on. This at times made me frustrated as well if I'm being honest. Being even slightly odd; like not partaking in a discussion about Cricket, or not being interested in Cricket altogether, can put you right at the prime spot for being bullied by the normal kids at that age. I wasn’t "Bullied" bullied, but I was outcasted. The discrimination was practiced even in-around my family by specific members, but that story should be kept out for another time. But being outcasted and discriminated, this did feel quite bad at back then.

But with time, as I grew up, I realised I never really wanted to be just "one of them". Never. It wasn’t like a superiority complex thing where I took sadistic pleasure telling myself I'm better than everyone else in the room while walking into one, it was more like me taking pride in the knowledge that I'm walking in with my head held high, with a brain, that at the very least, functions; and not minding if I'm the only one being present in that condition.

52-01.jpeg

Long story short. I embraced myself with time, stopped self pitying and hating my natural tweaks, and became a comparatively more comfortable, laid back, and better version of myself. I'm still working for the betterment of myself with each passing day and I hope the day never arrives when I stop this journey.

Me joining Hive is somewhat related to that journey. I can't really put my finger at a specific reason for "why am I here! tell me ohh dear gawwd?", but for all I know, as I said above, I'm trying to find ways to become somewhat of a better version of myself, regardless of "in which way?". One fine evening while talking about random stuff when this topic came up, Ser @notacinephile pitched the idea of me entering this pretty interesting community and find the light I was missing in my life. Just kidding! He said this'd be fun. Ser @notacinephile is one of the very few people I genuinely admire without any specific reason (okay maybe he suggesting me some real good films is a valid reason for me starting to like him but still! The admiration is too pure to be based upon anything that's so easily explainable). So, since it was his suggestion, I figured this can't hurt (at least not more than life in general does anyway), and after weeks and months, here I am writing one of the most boring and blatant introduction posts you could've ever landed your eyes upon.

I feel like this is getting too long as TLDR is one of the most scary and scarry responses so I'll try to keep it short from here on.

20210314_161554-01.jpeg

I'm a, preferably, weird fella.
I used to be kinda reserved but became extremely extroverted after I finished secondary school cause somehow realised people are probably the best stories out there; if you only have the right set eyes to read them. And I do think I have them, the right set of eyes. And life's been pretty good with this change in perceptions and perspectives.
My life revolves around food, films, music, shows, travelling, and most importantly my friends and family. I have a very bad memory so I won't be able to name many of them when asked. (I don't mean my friends or family. I know most of their names.)

20200105_161810-01.jpeg

Food is my comfort. I love eating almost everything as long as it tastes and looks good. I wish I could stop eating junk and other very unhealthy stuff that taste goood, and I even try to convince myself to start a balanced diet from time to time. But after thoroughly thinking, I always come to the decision that life is too short to care about which of your favorite shirts don't fit you anymore and why your face is getting fatter with each passing week. There's that.

I'm somewhat addicted to music. There are very few moments in life when I prefer absolute silence. If I'm not with my friends, outing and stuff; I listen to music. I don't have any specific type or genre cause I don't know what I'd end up liking and playing on the loop for three weeks straight. But I cannot tolerate Hard Rock or Metal music for my hereditary headaches. But still I play music almost all the time. Be it sleeping, eating, shitting, taking a shower or at times; even while watching a film or show, I'd play some song that’s been crawling in my head on a different device and listen to it as the film or show goes on. This habit somehow helps me keep myself soothed.

Films and shows are my favorite pass time since my Reader's Block took away my willpower to read anything past a few pages long. Before that, I was a pretty badass reader. If I had to name one book I'd want anyone to read, id pick "The Kite Runner" from author Khaled Hosseini.
About films and shows, again, I like all types and genres as long as the end result is well executed.
Can't name a favorite film off of the top of my head now but an absolutely favorite show would be "Fleabag".

20210324_172738-01.jpeg

Travelling is one of the things I cannot get enough of, but cannot afford for various reasons. Hooefully someday, the world will finally stop being a shithole and I'll be able to travel to all the places I can now only dream of visiting.

But for the time being, even a short road trip is a somewhat big deal for me as long as I have my friends, my bros with me.

PicsArt_12-15-08.24.58-01.jpeg

I'm absolutely addicted to my friends. The way they spoil me could be really something to be jealous of for most guys I know. Being a kid who picked watching Doraemon and Ben-10 over going out to play with other kids, I don't know how I came to be this person who can barely spend a day without meeting his friends and going out with them. But however this haopened, I'm glad it did. My friends, both offline and online ones, are such a big part of my life that I would never let them go for anything less than a few million bucks.

Above all, I'm a family person. More like an absolute mommas boy (and I take no shame in that).

20220101_085713.jpg

Gave up my chance to study in a highly reputed university just because it was far from home and I couldn’t possibly give up the warmth of my ma's care and love for something as overrated as institutionalised education. I guess this suffices the family's affection part of my life; along with a brief idea of what type of person I am.

Coming to the end of this unnecessarily long essay, I don't really know what I'm going to do on Hive since I didn’t really enter the blog with any specific intention. But for what its worth, being able to interact with as many brilliant people as possible is always on top of my bucket list, and if speaking; or perhaps splurging out what's on my mind helps me get more enriched in that regard, I'm "এক পায়ে খাঁড়া" for that.

PicsArt_05-19-03.01.39-01.jpeg

Love long and prosper. 🖖

Sort:  

Welcome to the Hive community @kohiqafi!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, Keychain, Peaklock, and Hivesigner,
  3. The master password and the owner key are only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your password or keys; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. Do not open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hivians available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Thanks a ton @jamerussell. Glad to be among such supportive people ❤

ehm so... okay

starting with a very awkward hello... Hi and welcome to the jungle... glad to have you here... hope you have "fun" here
untitled.gif

it already feels "fun" to be among so many somewhat equally weird and interesting people, with many more stories to tell. Thanks for being so generous at welcoming me. 🌸

Hi kohiqafi, so great to see a fellow traveler joining Hive! We've been around for over 3 years, building a community of travelers on Hive. I see that you are posting from peakd which is awesome, but the beauty of the Hive blockchain is that there are several websites available to use Hive!

TravelFeed.io brings together all the benefits of Hive decentralized blogging with features that you as a travel blogger will love: Photo galleries, Instagram embeds, custom maps, post scheduling and more. And if you want, you can even use our easy site builder to set up your own travel blog on your own domain which can be a great way to generate a passive income from your blog!

You can log in with your Hive account on TravelFeed.io to publish your next travel post, and it will be posted to Hive automatically! Every day, we select the best posts and reward them with an upvote and added visibility.

See you around!
@for91days

Thanks a lot @travelfeed. I sure would check the place out as it seemed exactly like one of the places where I'd fit rightly into.

Haha, impressive intro! Goes with the extrovert persona you have now. It's also refreshing to see not any template-ish structure as well.

You don't seem weird to me at all, rather if I were to create a club of people like me, you'd fit there generally. However, I do envy your social outings and many a times thought about how it'd be for me if I were in your shoes. These are thought experiment for me, I don't know if I actually can do it in reality.

Hive is a good place to pour your thoughts on anything. No matter how big or small. Write for yourself, for posterity. Most importantly, have fun while you do that.

Welcome!

Thanks for the push I needed to get started, and for the guidance I didn’t even know I was looking for ser @notacinephile . ❤

Hell of a intro post! Though I'm not a member of the welcoming wagon since I myself is irregular, but nice to see another familiar face around here.

*an. 😅 (couldn’t hold myself back to take the opportunity)

Man! Thank you. You're one of the most supporting people I know @benignfungus. So its definitely a pleasure seeing you here. ❤

Welcome kohiqafi!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you.

Hello @kohiqafi! This is @chillwithshanna from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. Congratulations on making your first post on Hive and welcome to this amazing community!

We have a lot of Communities you can subscribe to which are all categorized based on interest or topics. Share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.
Happy Blogging!

Thanks a lot @lovesniper for the warm welcome. I'm pretty sure your guidelines and suggestions would be a lot of help for my journey here. Thanks again.

Congratulations @kohiqafi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Loading...

that second picture, is that Holi?

Is Holi celebrated in BD?

Holy is celebrated, and sometimes muslims also take part and get scolded by their family later on.

Good, all is not lost then. Not yet anyways!

Hey @azircon, holy indeed is celebrated in Bangladesh generally by the Hindu people, but to talk about this photo, it wasn’t at that celebration. We celebrated color fest at a friend's wedding (just for the fun of it) before her Mehedi ceremony. It was as fun as it seems in the photo. 😅
Here's another snap of a part of the gang from the fest;

48.jpg

Welcome to hive & our lovely community. Hope you will enjoy a lot here 😊

Thank you my man @fa-him. Hoping to have some good experiences with you beautiful folks around here. 🌸

Welcome to Hive, @kohiqafi . Have fun.

Thank you @gislandpoetic. Happy to be among you all. Happy Hiving 🌸

Loading...