BDC CONTEST#1: Childhood Treats

in BDCommunity2 years ago

bdc contest01.png

At the start, let me shortly mention that I was really waiting for this contest organized by BDC and I am looking forward to reading many posts regarding this. The contest topic is "Your favourite book(s) from childhood", which is not a very close-to-heart topic for me but as far as I know myself, yes reading holds a BIGGER space in my life so yeah let me dive you all into this journey of mine, that I would call, Childhood Treats.

I was never a bookish person from the start but I did like it from time to time. So, therefore the name comes, treats, it is like treats as I progress you will get the flavor. So, it all started with what? If I have to dig deep, I would say it started with, NOT CINDERELLA. It started with not a very common book yet may be familiar to many, Read with me by Ladybird.

Image1

Read with me l Ladybird

All this while I thought the name of the book was Tom and Kate but just now after searching it online I get to know that the name is something else.🤣 Read with me is definitely a children's book and is more of a starter I would say. At home we had the entire series of it from 1 to 15, we still have it but it is in one of the cartons as I am yet to arrange my room properly. So, Read with me is a series of books that are divided according to class. As you keep on reading you start to see the change. It starts with one sentence and by the end of the series, it is a quite developed book. It is based on the daily activities of Tom and Kate, which actually led me to believe that the name was that itself.

The reason I loved the book was that it was easy for me to understand and also read. There was no read in between the line and life was simple. Even now I miss those storybooks, they were like treats to me and they will forever be. Now, to the next one, George Speaks by Dick King-Smith

Image2

George Speaks l Dick King-Smith

I read this book when I was in class 5 or so. I still remember at that time I had my small baby sister with me and I used to pray to God so that she gets the abilities too 🤣🤣🤣 @aqua-red, yes it was you. Back in 2007/2008. I was quite young to still be living in that dreamland.

The way George and his sister became friends was a cute sight to see. It was then that I loved reading. After that, I grew up and when my young and elder sisters used to read I never could get interested in it as my vocabulary grasp was too low and I didn't want to look up in the dictionary every now and then. It was also tiring to search for words in the dictionary.

So, as time passed I got more away from books and my reading skill started to blunder. It was back in 2012/2013 that I got into reading again with John Green's Fault in our Stars. Now the genre of books I prefer is quite a cliche, it's mostly romantics or tragedies. However, now and then I do prefer venturing into other genres but never horror.

About the Cinderella thing, it is not that I folded of it by reading. It is the anime series Cinderella that attracted me towards it and even now, from time to time I drool over the characters and come back to reality. Maybe I will share about it in some future posts.

The End!


{Cover- Image from @bdc-shorts}
{Image1- Source}
{Image2- Source}


This is my (first) entry in the BD Community Contest. I am very excited and enthusiastic about it. I personally was waiting for such an event to be organized by BDC and here it is, a collaboration with @bdc-shorts. I am looking forward to participating in all of them and I hope it is going to be quite fun, you are most welcome to tag along too.

Thanks, @lemonade1 & @sakura21 for eagerly waiting and pushing me to write on this topic that I thought of skipping (kind of).

Now, for those of you who love writing while conversing on numerous topics, with the freedom to write in both the Bangla and English language, this community is certainly for you. You can also be a part of this amazing CONTEST, along with me.

Check this link for exact details and forget to read the rules particularly -> CONTEST: YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK(S) FROM CHILDHOOD

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

Read with me is definitely a children's book and is more of a starter I would say.

I found this book in my Aunt's house the last time I visited her, and I'm guessing it's being read by her children.

It is the anime series Cinderella that attracted me towards it and even now, from time to time I drool over the characters and come back to reality.

I also enjoy anime series, particularly those based on fairytales, such as Barbie and others.

Woah! I think I have to also correct myself and stop calling that book tom and Kate and rather address it with the right name. It real pays to read because as the day go we get to learn new things we never had an idea of. If I had skipped this post, I'll still go out there to call that book Tom and Kate. Lol.

I must say you got some of the loveliest treats of childhood. I hope and must say they bring you the same happiness and joy you had once...

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@chrysanthemum(2/5) tipped @tahminasyed (x1)

Join us in Discord!

which is not a very close-to-heart topic for me

Haha straight up 180° to the beginning I like to use when writing about books!

It's fantastic how you recalled the story developments so well after all these years....maybe it is close to heart afterall, eh!?