"Why a man stands while a women sits? No?" (a genuine question)

in BDCommunity2 years ago (edited)

Image downloaded from Pixabay, captured by islandworks

Such was not our society back in the old days, like centuries back. There was a time in the past when women were victims because they were women. In the society we live in, even now women are victims of many situations, why, cause we instigate men now. Joke of the year? Na? Ok.

From time to time men were described as macho, egoistic, and a ruler, those who weren't, were ill-treated. Such is the thinking style of our society even now. Oh, it is not in your area? Acha.

So, shall a man stand while a woman sits? No? Yes? Let's see the scenario first. While I was traveling, repetitively two days this happened and I was thinking of the same question too. Now, today I understood it finally, not whole though.

Do men stand while women sit, this is an ongoing process like we have food? Ok, like we do our usual chores, eating, breathing, bathing, sleeping, studying, working, etc. Such has been the act of men standing while women sitting. It is a very wise thought to actually do that, why? Because, women are to be given extra respect, extra care, extra of everything, why? In a society where men and women are equal, why would we look at it from this angle? Right, this is where things are quite a bit hazy.

Men and women, according to gender-wise both are the opposite sex. The bodys' function is different from one another in a few aspects. Their mental health also is different as we are aware of how both the genders have a little bit of twist in their hormones too. So, ultimately although we categorize them to be in equal and opposite poles, that's not the case.

Men and women are totally two different beings who cannot be termed to be equally opposite because eventually, they are not. Moreover, this understanding is something that is not yet concrete according to many. Each deserves to be free and has their role in life. One cannot replace another either. Therefore, giving respect should not be mixed with being a woman or men. Both deserve respect for being their individual-self. Respect should not be pushed into someone in the name of gender presentation.


{Cover- Pixabay Image by islandworks}

If anyone is offended, that is not my intention, so I apologize. This post is related to an incident I faced back in December, which is why I thought to share it. Wrote it on my phone NOTES only to publish it right now.

Sort:  

Okay, from my perspective I would do that as I got family members too with the hope that someone else might also show some care in case they needed it too. Also am not gonna do that always to everyone, just when I will feel like they need it and I won't be discriminating in gender.

I did travel for a three-hour train journey at midnight giving my seat to an elderly uncle, I traveled standing just because I felt like he needs it more.

hmm I get it.

I have watched a motivational speech where the person were saying, men need more applause. Because, look at the cities we are living in, look at the farms; men are running 75% of the society even this days. Men are hardworking.
I never say, women are not. But it's never equal.
And as a mom of a boy, I would teach him to let another women sit because, as you said, women need care, respect.
What I was trying to say that, because of feminism and all bullsh*t equality we almost forgotten how much men do... Men still give away their sits...
Good to read your thoughtful writing.

If they need care, I am happy to give away my sit. But why would you relate respect with it?

I have had some funny, exciting and horrible experience with such said situations!

Oh no how I miss local bus! :(

Umm...I meant it for special situation, like an elderly or a pregnant women; not only care but respect should come along with.
As I said, by screaming about equality, we forgot that we are compromising with extra care and respect.
Anyway, it's up to you what you take and what not. But this is pretty basic.
Let's not pollute other's post by arguing here. 😅

Ah, take it easily. I raised this issue to address a genuine question which raised in my head.

@tajimkhan My post had a basis, but I didn't mention what happened ACTUALLY. I was travelling in a local bus when two men came and they sat on the female sit which is right next to the driver seat, and when the women were having trouble keeping their legs as YOU KNOW< EVRY LESS SPACE, the men in exchange nagged and said, "apnader jonno to alada seat e rakha ase. eita to local bus, ekhane to ektu gheshagheshi hobei. apnader jonno to amra suffer kori. amader uthejetehoy. apnara too kokhono uthedaranna amader jonno." And, they were going on and on. Just because the women said to move their leg a little bit so that it doesn't touch theirs. It wasn't very much to ask you know...

I have seen men who who sit right next or in front of me and our legs NEVER MEET, even when the bus is dancing. SERIOUSLY! What happened then, was that, those men didn't care if it touched. Didn't care if it didn't touch.

Respect comes in when the men started throwing RETORICAL QUESTIONS like, "why do we have to get up for you?" They said what ever came in their mind regarding this, WITHOUT RESPECT. Why respect? Because, you know, as a unknown person I will always respect you. Like now, I don't know you much, right? So, I will be giving respect to you through my words, right? That is what I'm trying to pin point or ask.

Respect dewar jonno kew kokhono ill words use korbena right? Taunting words use korbena right? Dominating words use korbena right? Eitai.

I hope you understand my point and what I asked.

@rem-steem Yes, true. I really respect that honestly. But. I have come across few men who take it as a burden to give away their seats. They want to quarrel and demand that they have more right than women, when that was not the point at all. I don't know about men doing a lot of stuffs, but I do know that we all humans maybe can respect each other without discriminating by gender.

If we look into history, we get to see that women came in charge quite late, not in every country but in many as a whole, men came in power really late. So men were always working than women. That is given because of history.

Not belittling men, NEVER. Not fighting for right issues here. Just addressing, we both deserve respect but we are loosing it somehow.

thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Yeah, all are not equal; no men, no women, no one. Our act should be based on as per. As a human we must have the ability to choose what we need to do in what situation.
I have read your replies, good to see the clarification.
As I said, we are free to choose what side we are in but we are also responsible for our actions. Many don't understand that their wrong action pacts passively to them/their family.
Have a good day 🌸☀️

true. yeah that is quite the very reason I was so out of words on the bus when I encountered the event. Thank you so much for your fruitful comments.

Yes you are right,but it's a lesson from family too. I respect women from my heart,so i stands and give women to sit. Not only gender but also age matters in respect.

Hmm true, age matters too. Even if an elderly men is standing it is wise to give him the seat, according to few perspectives, disregarding the fact of gender of the person who will be getting up.

আমি পোস্ট টা পড়ে আপনার স্টান্ডিং টা বুঝি নাই। anyway dont you feel offended when you see you are getting a reserved place on a bus or even in a parliament just because you are a women?

আমার কন্সটিটিউসনাল ল ক্লাসে এ একদিন নারী/শিশু/প্রতিবন্ধী এই তিন রেস এক কাতারে রাখায় আমরা খুব তর্ক করছিলাম। দেখে মনে পড়লো।

anyway dont you feel offended when you see you are getting a reserved place on a bus or even in a parliament just because you are a women?

Why will I feel offended because I have a reserved seat? But, it is true that here in this post, speaking neutrally I am asking not getting offended but asking, why to give something when you are poking to get it back. You get my point? Why to keep the place reserved when you are QUESTIONING that YOU ARE GETTING THIS BUT WE DO NOT GET RESERVED SEATS SO GET UP AND LET US TAKE WHAT WE GOT. I am raising this issue that why do people get offended after saying one thing is normal. It is questioning, right?