Himu, Earworm and Fahrenheit 451

in BDCommunity4 years ago

Until I read হিমু এবং একটি রাশিয়ান পরী [Himu and A Russian Fairy] for the fifth time, I didn't realize I had this problem, this issue where I listen to a song, and It keeps repeating in my head in an endless loop for days.

image.png

Credits

This phenomenon is called Earworm, where somebody with it can not shake off a catchy piece of music or a song from their head. In the book, the protagonist, Himu, meets a girl who had similar issues. One time, a song that triggered it played for almost 27 days in her head. At a point she started having such a bad headache, she wanted to bang her head on the wall and die. Fortunately for me, it never went to that phase.

Of course, I thought this was a ruse and fictional to make the character interesting.

Last week I was looking through my inventory to look for something to read with hardcover, to rid of the taste of always reading digital prints and ended up finding 6 books. This book was at the very bottom of my shelf, collecting dust for at least a few years. And it was pretty good to read back such an old book that brought so many memories along with it. But while reading that part where the girl was jokingly stating her mental disorders, it prompted me to do a google search and find out that it was an actual issue of mental health.

Like if you go to the wiki page listing Earworm, the most notable case is of a girl named Jean Harris, who murdered a guy. She can supposedly recall a particular song in her head and play it in an endless loop even when she is engaging in conversation, and she has been doing this for 33 FREAKING YEARS!!! This made me think "Holy shit, am I a psychotic killer now!!"

But my issues are a little bit different as music doesn't trigger this for me so often. What does is Haiku, catchy rhymes and catchy dialogues by famous actors. For as long as I can recall, I didn't count this as a problem but somehow subconsciously used this as a trick to remember less useful things. Like, I, don't know how but have memorized over one hundred phone numbers, including multiple ones for a single person. I can at moments notice recall any of my family and friends phone numbers who's number I had to dial in for at least two to three times. It has been quite useful in exams too that included Multiple choice questions.

This was kind of a blessing to be honest, with some hiccups here and there. My own tiny superpower LOL.

But, what prompted me to write about this now is the latest book I read just two hours ago suggested by somebody precious to me. It's named Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. It has this beautiful poem named "Dover Beach" in it that's been making me go crazy even while I'm writing this. I can't recall the whole poem, but parts that rhymed are going on in my head on a loop like a broken gramophone, on and on. As long as I keep focusing on thinking and writing this, it's a little subdued. I didn't know this will be such a pain in my buttocks until I knew it was an issue. What an irony.

Oh, what the hell. let's include a short synopsis too just to keep my mind off of it. I mean why not.


Fahrenheit 451:

image.png

Credits: pinterest

This book is a dystopian novel suggested by somebody so brilliant whom if I had as a teacher in my schools, I would've become something in my life. Like his sheer influence has taught me so many things over the past few weeks. Oh well. Let's not stand in a ceremony anymore.

Our story opens with a fireman named "Guy Montag" whose job is to burn books. Mind you, this is a world devoid of books. Like books are banned now on the premise that they cause incorrectness politically towards minorities. The sentence at the cover of the book almost sums it up in the whole.

Montag's supervisor is Captain Beatty, who is somehow well versed in books and literature despite being the head of book burners platoon.

In this sequence, Beatty sums it up pretty well that why books are outlawed in this universe

Screenshot_2020062202404594_ad81d25dc5266e3d14f1ba4e6f1feb22.jpg

Screenshot_2020062202414494_ad81d25dc5266e3d14f1ba4e6f1feb22.jpg

The screenshots are taken directly from the book

Meaning, when the world is so overpopulated, even the minorities are now of a large number who are not to be reckoned with for keeping a hold on the sovereignty of a state. Now people seemed to dislike books from other groups which caused multiple civil wars, and even nuclear wars caused simply by books. So the states, mainly America, as mentioned in the books, though it would be best to just get rid of books altogether. Now it's a book less, wordless, literature less and thus godless world. Cause even the words of gods are outlawed now like Book of Ecclesiastes.

This was a daily job for Montag to burn books. But one day, he had to see an old woman commit suicide while the firemen tried to burn her books. She lit the books on fire along with herself. And this caused a Montag to miss a beat and realize what the civilization had gone into. People watch 3D tv shows, and slowly their IQs lowered down to the points of pets. He noticed that even he can not decide or take a decision for himself due to the lack of intellect.

So he revolts in a manner and decides to plant books on fireman's homes to frame them as a revolutionary act of shaking up peoples consciousness. But he gets caught due to not being able to take dumb shits from his wife's friends and decides to read a poem in front of them. And that poem is "Dover Beach". That poem is what has been haggling inside my brain for the past few hours.

If any of you who's reading this want to read this book in near future, I best not spoil it for you. So let's keep it short. But a slight hint would be, as most dystopian books at the end results in chaos and anarchy, this had somewhat different and an almost proper ending which might happen if the scenario ever turned into this. As most cautionary tales go, this is both a tragedy but also a tale of triumph. Triumph of human curiosity and thirst of literature over anarchy.


20200531_165520.gif

Sort:  

Holy shit, am I a psychotic killer now

Add to that your knowledge of crimonology, we may have a new Joker in the making! Beware Hiveans!

Fahrenheit 451

Added to my list of books I need to get. 1984 is up there too!

Haha very funny --__--... I do not want to be a psychotic maniac.. But the idea is kinda cool and badass tbh..

Bro if you keep putting them away on your lists youll never end up finishing them. This is a great book with so many things to say.. And its a short read.. Itll take only a few hours. Read it now, youll not be sorry..

Yes absolutely. But i'll have to buy the book first and it's been kinda difficult to take time out tbh. I do have quite a bit of time to read in the evenings, but by the time I'm free, all the libraries are shut LOL. But let's see, I may have the next Saturday off.

Yeah, i understand. You hardcover junkies prefer the touch of paper more..lol..

But for me its all about the content inside. Like, dada suggested me this book around 9PM yesterday. I finished it within 2.5 hrs at once. Like i was hooked from the get go.. And only a 5 mins break along the way..

Hahah yes, Need paperback! I swear I could read my most favorite books on my phone or laptop and I would absolutely hate the book! It's a psychological thing xD

Oh well.. I know that feeling.. Digital copies kinda destroy the atmosphere and the aesthetics.

If someone tells you regarding what a story is about, he/she is probably correct. But if they tell you, it is exclusively about that, they are probably wrong :) Think about it. F-451 is a cautionary tale, a warning, a what-if scenario.... but at the same time, it is much more than that... and that is what makes it a classic. A classic is always time transgressive. It was written in the 50s and it is still relevant today. Obviously because it is much more than about burning of books.

Remember how the author himself defined 'book'. He said we shouldn't judge books by their covers.... just like people.... and some books exists between covers that look just like people :)

 4 years ago (edited) 

oww!! I should've focused more on what its trying to paint rather than taking it as a story. Now i get it, like what Clarisse was trying to say to Montag. Like symbolic acts reveal more details than the act itself. Now I can connect the dots!!

and some books exists between covers that look just like people :)

I see what you did there dada XDXD.. I've met my fair share of people like that.. Even In F-451 the intellectuals Montag gets to meet at the end are like books. They just memorized them. The idea behind the literatures . Like the Book of Ecclesiastes or the book of Job. The people who gets its inner depth are books themself. Pretty amazing TBH.

I see this as a special gift and nothing like the psyche, its a special gift to be able to hold such memory for long and recall things. But it must have been a little extreme for Jean.

Yeah nothing extreme is ever good. Mine dissipates along with some headaches and bad mood.. But ive seen worse mental health issues among my peers.. Its nice that you see this as a gift..:)

Congratulations @zayedsakib! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!