Memories Of A Lifetime.

in BDCommunity4 years ago (edited)

I can't remember the last time when I was so motivated to do stuff.

This is NOT the sentence I wanted to start with, but it has to be said, though. Homage needs to be given.
I have been a failure at almost everything throughout my life. I wanted to be a doctor, a cinematographer nothing to laugh at here (--__--), and so many other things. But, fate has deemed me to be a criminologist.

This might sound cheesy but, before hive, I was a pathetic sob story. I was a depressed, chain-smoking loser who feared even doing the simplest of chores, thinking I might mess that up too. I was just a lazy bum TBH, LOL.

But then, something almost miraculous happened. Like a present sent from heavens served on wings of angels, I found some of the most amazing people on earth, at least for me, that is. Who kinda gave me a purpose, an ambition and a chance. A chance to fly. Like that majestic bird in the images below. I'm always in their debt for dragging out of the gates of a self-created hell.

IMG_9169.JPG

That being said, here is what I supposed to start with,

Today was most probably the hottest day ever. Not because the bar was too high at 33 degrees centigrade, but It's so very humid. Along with this heat, there came a wicked wave of news, as usual. Another COVID 19 victim, and this time it hit a little too close to home.

When the news broke that one of my friend's father who lives just two blocks away has gotten himself infected somehow, a bad omen shaded my small friend circle like a big, evil black hawk. The thing is, most of my friends, including me, are generic idiots. Even in this horrifying pandemic, we've been hanging out. Once or twice a week. Cause we have motorbikes, agile blood fueled by energy drinks and remote places to explore. So, there's that.

Now, the infected father has been sick for at least 8 days. Mild symptoms so everyone was kinda okay and not so worried. And in that duration, the seven of us have met three times. We were using masks and plenty of hand sanitizers, but as I said, we are idiots. So no social distancing, until now. Sigh!.
Now, we are paying for our mistake by doing what we were supposed to do all along. Being stuck in a self solitaire confinement.

And now all of a sudden, I have all the time in the world to self reflect. All the good and bad, eventful memories crept crawling back in. Like that cardboard box everybody has up in the attic which holds precious memorabilia and photo albums, I have this old hard drive that has been in usage for at least half a decade till now. In it, I have thousands of photos of countless short and long travels here and there.

And below, you'll see eight different photos of eight different trips taken around this time of 2018 and 2019. Ah, what the world has turned into. A morphed unending nightmare that somehow people are getting used to. A dystopia perhaps.

Let's start with this one. This was a random winter morning in a more random train station. Its called Shitakundo Station. You, Non-Bengali peeps, can pronounce the name by saying it like this. Shee-Taa-Kun-Do. Most of the other places you'll get to see below have similar hard to pronounce names. Don't worry, ill break up the title in more manageable portions as above.

20180622_120943.jpg

A beautiful road named Marine Drive cutting through the tree lines of the longest sea beach in the world. Cox's Bazar.

20180622_180635.jpg

This is one of the largest man-made lakes in our country named Kaptai. Ka-aap-taa-e is the pronunciation. I was sitting on the roof of a small diesel engine boat when I took it. The guy running the engines took us to this portion of the lake just before dusk, turned off the engine and slowly started to row the boat. Just so we could peacefully see one of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen in my life.

Being on a small boat in Kar-no-fool-e in heavy rain was kinda scary. Despite being an inland river, it's quite broad around its belly and has some viciously turbulent currents.

IMG_20190111_131454.jpg

The most peculiar beach I've ever been to. Its named Gu-lee-aa-khaa-lee and the green grasses you see above get a meter and half, submerged underwater during the tide.

IMG_7122.JPG

Another sunset in a beach named Patenga. That's a coast guards patrol ship you see there.

IMG_7036.JPG

This is the only coral island we have and its named Saint Martins island. We were supposed to watch the sunrise, but I was so tired I missed it—couldn't wake up from sleep.

IMG_9979.JPG

Arial Bill. A small lake near capital which is meh as a travel spot but the experience was great. Had some delicious Hilsha Fry there.

86699226_2510239445859060_3651017716824801280_n.jpg

Lets end this trip down the memory lane in a place whoose whereabouts, I'm not allowed to disclose. Well, i can but out of the sheer respect towards the pretty girl in this photo, i choose not to. :(

Sort:  

Do you know what I wanted to be? A train driver :) A Diesel Locomotive Driver :) That is all that I wanted to be..... No, this is not as a kid.... as as an young adult... say around 14-15... I don't remember properly. So you can't say its a child's dream. At 14 I was pretty matured....I was actually looking up all the qualifications to become a locomotive driver....

Well, clearly that didn't work out, eh? :)

Then there are lot of things I wanted to be.... and most of the things I never become. There are still a lot of things I want to be (yeah, you are chuckling that what is this old fart is talking about!), and I will not have any regret, if I can't become any of that.

Borrowing from one of my favorite author Haruki Murakami... I will say to you Sakib

You should give up looking for lost cats and start searching for the other half of your shadow.

Kafka on the Shore

Instead of replying to you, I went, searched and spent almost half an hour on Umibe no Kafuka. That is what you have done to me dada. JK,XDXD

Jokes aside, I know dada that regrets bring nothing but sorrow and misery. its just that the train of thought is too hard to control. some regrets always find out through the cracks,

Do you know what I wanted to be? A train driver :) A Diesel Locomotive Driver :)

Thats a dystopia i never want to live in XDXD

Not recommending Murakami now. As you are working on other stuff :) Also Murakami is a difficult read and will drive you mad :) But I do have the book. All versions... so it’s not a problem when you are ready....

By the time i finish reading The Cuckoos Calling I think I'll be ready...

Non-Bengali peeps, can pronounce the name by saying it like this. Shee-Taa-Kun-Do. Most of the other places you'll get to see below have similar hard to pronounce names.

Nice way to explain to outsiders.
You have covered all my favourite places together. Great... Thanks.

yeah thank you bhai.. Its kinda cringy that non speakers try so hard but due to not having "juktoborno" in their language, they fail utterly. But when in reality, its very easy. You just have to pronounce while breaking up the word. So simple. And this is kinda my way of promoting our mother tongue:)

Yes brother, our language martyrs sacrificed their lives for this language. That’s a great initiative to promote our language.

শেষের দিকে রহস্য রেখে দিলেন!

একটু আধটু রহস্য কখনো তো ক্ষতি করে নি।😁

কৌতুহল ধরে রাখলেন আর কি আমাদের

just beautiful photography. I like this very much.

আরে শুভ ভাই!! ধন্যবাদ ধন্যবাদ। ফটোগ্রাফি তো আর উদ্দেশ্য ছিলো না। নিজের জন্যে তোলা আরকি।

You are totally right indeed..and your photos are awesome

Thank you so much brother. Cheers! :)

This post has been manually curated by @inuke from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

In support of POSH

Congratulations @zayedsakib! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @deepu7 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Thanks @Deepu7 bhai..:)

You are most welcome vai.