Hunt For The Letter P - An Alphabet Hunt Challenge

in Feel Good4 years ago

Hello once again fellow Hivers. The Hunt is back again after 3 loooong weeks and I'm so excited to share with you some of the "P" words that I have tracked down. There's so many "P" words that we encounter everyday and this abundance has somewhat delayed me from submitting this post. I wanted to choose the best words among all the others in an attempt to make this a special one, because later on, we might be left scrounging for every bit and morsel we can find when we get to the "more difficult" letters. Ha ha. To those reading this for the first time and are interested to know more about this Challenge please click on the link here.

So let's begin.

The first "P" is for Pearls.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

South Sea pearls come from the white-lipped variety of the pinctada maxima oyster. This oyster is much larger than the oysters that produce Akoya and Freshwater pearls, so the pearl that it produces is much larger as well. Because of the rarity and sensitivity of this type of oyster, cultivation of these pearls is much more difficult, making them more expensive.

The second "P" is for Papyrus Plant.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Papyrus plant (Cyperus papyrus) has a very long history of use by humans, notably by the Ancient Egyptians—it is the source of papyrus paper, one of the first types of paper ever made. Parts of the plant can be eaten, and the highly buoyant stems can be made into boats. It is now often cultivated as an ornamental plant.

My wife bought several potted plants earlier this year and is growing them in our garden. They do liven up the place with their umbrella-like spines and long stems.

The third "P" is for Purple Allamanda

image.png

20200215_085137.jpg

20200203_121939.jpg

Purple Allamanda or Allamanda Blanchetii is a species of perennial flowering plant in the family Apocynaceae native to Brazil. It is cultivated as an ornamental plant and grows in full sun. It is an evergreen tropical shrubby climber with rose-purple trumpet flowers. Suitable as a background or massing plant when grown on a trellis or fence to block undesirable views or fill gaps along walls. Google Search

This is my wife's purple allamanda which is planted in a pot in our garden but has crept up along our fence where it blooms perennially.

The fourth "P" is for Padre Pio.

padre Pio 3.jpg

image.png

Padre Pio, also known as Saint Pio of Pietrelcina (Italian: Pio da Pietrelcina), (25 May 1887 – 23 September 1968), was an Italian friar, priest, stigmatist and mystic, now venerated as a saint in the Catholic Church. Wikipedia

These are water color paintings by my daughter, Jacinta, of St. Padre Pio.

The fifth "P" is for Pedestrian Lane.

image.png

image.png

Probably should hit two birds with one stone on this one - Pigeons on Pedestrian Lanes. I took these pictures when I noticed that these birds appeared waiting for the light to turn green seemingly before crossing the street. I just wasn't able to ask them why they were crossing the street lol.

The sixth "P" is for Piano.

image.png

image.png

The piano was invented by Bartolomeo Cristofori (1655-1731) of Italy. Cristofori was unsatisfied by the lack of control that musicians had over the volume level of the harpsichord. He is credited for switching out the plucking mechanism with a hammer to create the modern piano in around the year 1700.
The instrument was actually first named "clavicembalo col piano e forte" (literally, a harpsichord that can play soft and loud noises). This was shortened to the now common name, "piano." Google Search

This is my Yamaha Clavinova. It's a standard-sized piano with 88 keys and I've had this for 18 years already. Here I am introducing the piano to my then 8- month old grandson in the hope that he may have some musical genius in him. Nope, no such luck. He's 4 years old and still thinks it is a drum set lol.

And that's it for my "P" Alphabet Hunt. I love this letter. There's no dearth as to what we can find and share with this letter and I feel so bad for some of the words that I had wanted so much to include but could not because only 6 are needed. But that's not going to stop me from including one more as a message to all of us during this year 2020. I hope you will indulge me with this.

Prayer

u8etp9.png

Please make it a habit to begin and end each day with a prayer of thanksgiving for all the blessings you have received and to pray for your needs and the needs of others too. Especially during this time of uncertainty due to the pandemic. We specifically pray for healing and deliverance from Covid-19.

Prayer is a vital necessity. Nothing is equal to prayer; for what is impossible it makes possible, what is difficult, easy. CCC 2744

Have a blessed weekend everyone!

(All pictures are mine.)

Sort:  

Good your collection of words for the letter P @gems.and.cookies, very original and unusual.

Thank you very much for the appreciation. It seems we both had a good hunt. So I will wish you luck for next week as we hunt for Q which is a trickier letter.

I'm not a huge fan of jewelry, because I prefer to spend my money on things we actually need, like a new exhaust for my Harley because the original one was not loud enough or something for the kitchen for my wife 🤣 lol ... I like perls though, because they have something magical in my eyes.

I know papyrus paper, but I don't think I have seen the papyrus plant before. They look really cool just as you say 🙂

I don't think I also haven't seen the Allamanda flower before - it looks as if the blossoms were huge and they look cool like turbines.

I do not know Padre Pio, but your daughter is Avery good painter. The face of the padre looks nice and friendly 🤗

Such crossings are the most dangerous places in some countries, and the birds have been very smart to look for the green traffic lights 👍

My son began to play the piano a few years ago at school, but then he left school and forgot the piano. I think he is like me and the only instrument we can play is the radio 😉

You have collected some very nice and unique words for the P hunt, @gems.and.cookies, thank you so much for letting us have a look in your life 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

Now I am the one wondering. Did I pay you to write this comment? Ha ha ha.

Pearls are always a winner. Never doubt that. I'm sure your wife will love it more than the Harley exhaust - vroom vroom. That's the reason I put it in there first.

Never knew they were papyrus until a Hiver pointed it out to me. I would never have guessed it.

Now that you pointed it out, the Allamanda flower indeed looks like turbines. Even more like the big propellers of ships. I will have to take it out of the pot eventually and plant it in the ground so it can grow and spread faster.

Padre Pio is a very popular figure especially in Italy. He has a very remarkable story. But I guess what's popular in Italy isn't necessarily popular in Germany.

Even in our country, a good number of accidents happen right in these crossings. I'm fortunate that I live in a place where the mayor strictly enforces these crossing lanes both on motorists and pedestrians. I guess the pigeons have observed that and decided to follow suit less they'll be fined :)

If you can play the radio, you can play the television too, right? hahaha. Anyway, as long as your son remembers his lessons on reading notes, he'll be good once he gets the inspiration to go back to it. It'll be like riding a bicycle.

Thank you for your kind compliments. Your comments also allowed me to have a little look in your life as well.

Stay safe and looking forward to the Q hunt. Another set of awesome pictures from you I bet.

Well, I try to write a short comment to all #AlphabetHunt posts.

I felt I owe you something, so I wrote my thoughts on your first word and then I couldn't stop 🤣

I'm lucky to have a wife who don't like jewelry very much either and likes the sound of my Harley, but I think there must be a pearl necklace somewhere in one of her drawers 🙂

I'm from Austria and live about an hour from the Italian border, but I haven't been educated very christian, so I have an excuse for my lack of knowledge 😉

I don't think he will ever play piano ever again - he prefers the radio too ... and the TV 😉

The Q hunt will be hard and I have no idea yet what to post.

Have a wonderful weekend and take care too 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Yes, you too have a great weekend. I'm wracking my brains now for the Q hunt. Don't want to cram at the last moment. Good luck to you. See you in the Q.

I still haven't had the time or the mood to look for Q's and think it's gonna be a last-moment-post this time 😉
Have a wonderful Sunday ☀️


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @gems.and.cookies, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @gems.and.cookies, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @gems.and.cookies, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

You have made some wonderful choices for the Ps. Prayer was a lovely addition.

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, I just knew I had to put Prayer in somehow. It had a good message which I wanted everyone to know and realize. Glad you appreciated it. See you in the Q hunt?

I'm glad the P is offering so many choices and your selection is very nice @gems.and.cookies !
I had never seen the papyrus and didn't know it looks like that...
the pigeons on the pedestrian lane is a funny double shot 😁

Thank you @barbara-orenya. Happy to know you liked them. On the papyrus, neither did I. A Hiver actually just pointed it out to me in one of my posts where I featured it. My wife also did not know what it was called when she bought it. Yes, the pigeon is a classic example of being in the right place at the right time. I'm so glad I stumbled across this Challenge. It really is awesome and I having so much fun. Thanks for this.

I'm happy you have fun ! this is the most important thing to take seriously 😁
have_fun_gif.gif

Absolutely. Sometimes we do lose track of this number one rule and make life miserable. Thanks for reminding.

Wow nice kaayo ni sir ambot kung makaapil na gyod ko ani finally, karon unta dominggo pero naglinya ang mga buhatonon.

Anyway im happy to see ok na kaayo ang earnings diri dapita dili naka magsalig kay bobbylee alone dagyan naka suki na big curators, congrats sir and more power sa imo apil nalang pud sa ako hehe

By the way isa paman imo apo ba lingaw na gyod kau ka ana.

Naa pa kay 4 days bro. Makaapas ka pa gyud. Taas pa kaayo ang deadline. Maayo ni kay daghan kag magamit nga words. Naa na na tanan sa imung gallery. Browse ra jud ka. Dali na ba.

May na lang kay naa si Bobby. Kay kung saputon ning mga uban, og wala siya, hasta na lang. Maayo kaabot og 0.50. Mas ok ka kay daghan kag dagkong curators. Ako kay usa ra man. Akong halin bro dili makalahos sa 20. Lahi ra jud ka kay kaabot na ka og 30 sobra. Wala pa jud na nahitabo sa akoa. So i-apil na lang pud ko sa imung more power he he.

Isa pa apo nako bro. Lingaw jud kaayo.

Excellent "P"s, @gem.and.cookies! We had pearls in common. Bit O posted my article 3 weeks early, hahaha.
Thanks for the reminder about prayer, my friend.
Have a great day, and take care 🥰🌺🤙

Thank you very much. No wonder I could not find your P hunt. It was ahead of its time. There's a French expression for that - Avant-garde. I'll hunt it down. Would like to know what your other words were aside from the pearl. I felt bad leaving out the prayer in my list but had wanted to include it so I thought of doing that. Glad you appreciated it.

You too, have a great day. I'm looking forward to the other future hunts and what you'll come up with.

Prayers are definitely what gets me through the day, @gems.and.cookies!
To save you time, here is the link:
https://hive.blog/hive-190931/@silversaver888/a-feel-good-challenge-alphabethunt-letter-p

Thanks for the link. That's a great post, really. Funny thing is, aside from the pearls, I also wanted to put in parking lot and palm trees but I thought the other P photos I had were much better. My daughter will really love those pearl rosaries. She makes rosaries but only with beads. She's even more devout than her mom and even her art now are all related to her faith (remember the Padre Pio pics in my P post?)

Anyway, stay safe and if you think I've forgotten your promise of a Wednesday Walk showing the house of the father, I haven't 😉

Oh thanks for checking out the article, @gems.and.cookies. Too bad it was published way early, and I will just have to skip ths week and do the Q next week. Hmmmm... that may be challenging!
Yes, I know, and for a reason. One of the communities I belong to, the Silver Gold Stackers community is on the verge of change. I wanted to focus on publishing precious metals related articles daily last week and up to the last day of the month (Tuesday) because I am testing out the benefits of doing that. On Wednesday, I will make sure to feature that house! I did not forget 😆
Take care, @gems@gems.and.cookies 🥰🌺🤙

I like your p very interesting and I'll keep the pearls hahaha

Thanks for the appreciation. Okay, you keep the pearls. But I get to keep the Porsche in your P post. Deal?