Living Room Songs

in Q Inspired-by-Music2 years ago (edited)

R-3288520-1331660778.jpg

Sitting in the living room and trying to work or just chill is becoming almost impossible in our building. Especially in the apartment which I live in. Constant noise, the sound of hammers, the breaking down of walls, workers passing by the door of our apartment every few minutes. Yes. The first neighbor is refurbishing her apartment. It's not that this building is old and that something needs to be renovated in any of the apartments... but the neighbor is simply rearranging the layout of the rooms in her apartment. Taking out the wall between the living room and kitchen and making it into an open space. The two bathrooms are changing the look, doors, windows are getting replaced with different ones. If you live in a building and ever experienced this kind of situation you will know what I am talking about. But, it will finish one day, maybe not so soon as we would like it. However, this whole living room noise reminded me of a nicer living room noise. The project that Ólafur Arnalds made some ten years ago, Living Room Songs. I think I will be with these songs for some weeks until the neighbor's apartment is finished.

Maybe I would have to set the volume of this music to the max, to be louder than the noise! It is so gentle! So soft! Completely reminds me of the album shared in one of the posts by @ edje. I will try my method but are you interested to hear how sounds the music from the living room of one apartment in Iceland? If yes, stay with me and listen to these tracks if you like.

The story of the creation of this album starts in the living room of this pianist, who was composing a song one evening with his piano. As he didn't have his phone to record the sound of the song he was working on, he recorded it in video format with his MacBook. He liked the atmosphere and the idea was born. Record songs in his living room. Another nice feature is that he wanted to have guests included in the process of creation and recording. So he was inviting people every day during the first week in the month of October 2011 to his place and recorded and uploaded the songs on daily basis. Each song could be downloaded for free until the album was completed on the seventh day. Wow, a whole album in one week, with the whole audiovisual production. Cool, isn't it?

The songs from this album (that became it after publishing the seven videos) are played by him on the piano and on violins, violas, cello by the guests. One of the songs includes electronic sounds, the second song. The sound of all of them calls for introspection, a bit of melancholy but above all, beauty. Simplicity. Life. The videos show details from his home, a bookshelf, a soft toy, family photos, lights, street. The camera acts as the eyes of an imaginary guest that enjoys the scene and intimate atmosphere of the people playing the instruments. Someone who is melting into one with that music. Could be any of us, indeed, just watch (and listen to) the videos, and you are transported to Ólafur's living room.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Fyrsta

Although I do not speak Icelandic, I could guess that this word means First. And that is exactly the meaning of this song. The first in this seven days series. But the composer also reveals a secret, he wrote it after a period of creative block that he experienced.
It is calm, and perfect as an introduction. The light of the candles are bringing a nice feeling, I would stay there, wrapped at that moment, with his piano, the two violins (played by Gréta Salóme Stefánsdóttir and Margrét Soffía Einarsdóttir) viola (Roland Hartwell), and cello (Unnur Jónsdóttir).

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Near Light

The only song that includes electronic sounds and beats. Apart from his piano, and two violins, viola, and a cello, his mom and sister came to his place and helped with the song playing the synths. So emotional, I think, including close family members into the creation. At least, I would be so honored if it would happen to me. The violins were played by Roland Hartwell and Margrét Soffía Einarsdóttir, the viola by Arndís Hulda Auðunsdóttir, the cello by Karl Jóhann Bjarnason. The drum loop operation was supervised by Fríða Ósk Arnalds and the Korg MS-10 synth by Guðrún Pálmadóttir.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Film Credits

This third song is a variation on a theme that he wrote for the movie Another Happy Day. In the movie, there were used other versions of this tune, so this is another, a new variation of it. Here, he is not playing the piano, but he is conducting the strings. Imagine, listening to your composed music, played in your home by your friends. Heavenly.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Tomorrow's Song

A piano solo song, that was born the year before this version, on the stage in Berlin in his solo piano tour. That was a tour where he improvised, so kind of forced to bring out new songs from his heart and mind on the moment, on the stage. Beautiful one, and inspirational!! Love the sound of the pedal, and the mechanism of the piano! Tomorrow, a concept that gives a place for imagination.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Ágúst

Can you imagine this song that was actually using a lot of electronic sounds and vocals? Well, that was the original, but he made an acoustic version for this mini-series, just one violin, one viola, and his piano. I feel the full sound that is achieved, even with those three instruments.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Lag Fyrir Ömmu

The translation would be Song For Grandma. Missing his grandma that passed away the year before, an emotional song came out from this pianist's soul. One of the hardest things he did is to play it live in one concert in Italy. He says that this was the only time he cried in a concert, and it was hard for him to speak. Tears came to the listeners' eyes too. This time he is using more instruments and obtaining a sound that will not leave you without deep emotions either. The whole orchestra was meant to be shown steadily, not from the beginning of the song. A nice gradation. Violins (Margrét Soffía Einarsdóttir, Hólmfríður Guðmundsdóttir, Edda Hreinsdóttir, Karl Pestka, Lilja Kjartansdóttir, Ísak Orri, Ólöf Júlía and Ester Petra Gunnarsdóttir). Violas: Roland Hartwell, Arndís Hulda Auðunsdóttir, Herdís Anna Jónsdóttir and Eyjólfur Alfreðsson. Cellos: Sólveig Birna and Karl Jóhann Bjarnason.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

This Place Is a Shelter

The last song in this series, the closing one was called This Place Is a Shelter. Representing his home as a shelter for all his guests that participated during those days of practicing and recording. It was a wrap party, where they watched all the songs recorded and published until then, and later, the sounds of that song were brought to the air. To their hearts. To our hearts too. Do you have a place that can be a warm shelter for you, and you feel safe there? We should all have it, and if not, create it with people you respect and love.

The whole video, with the seven songs and behind-the-scenes interview, can be checked out HERE .

The cover photo of Living Room Songs is from Discogs, where also photos of the whole nice booklet can be seen.

Hope you enjoyed this little tour in the living room of Ólafur Arnalds and I hope too, my living room will become this peaceful as his one. One day.

Slide1.png

Sort:  

What a wonderful post that could've been a spread the vibes one. Though it isn't, I shall move the counter to three; Three posts to respond to. I may go for some variations though, bending the rules of Spread the Vibes challenge, not sure what way I'll bend though. Time will tell :) Such a great album this guy made. Yes, I didn't watch most of the video's, I listened to them. Took some time off work this afternoon so I could curate HIVE, read and respond to a bunch of posts, and listened (and read) this one. So a combated Time today put her behind locks. That doesn't mean that mister Deadline can be controlled though. He is right next to me, so I'll have to do some work (I go for 7 out of 10) this weekend to get him off my back. But that's ok :)

Great recordings, loved these guys work when you first shared it with me. Now am listening to the album he published before this one ''...And They..."... the title was too long to copy {LOL} It must be the album before he got his writer's block.

Anyways... Living in an apartment building with neighbours making constant noise... very very familiar. That's why I decided a long time ago my next home, will be some building with the next-door neighbours being far far away. How far they will be, I don't know, but hopefully further away than 1 kilometre at least. Time will tell when this will be realised, the new home I mean. Looking forward to that time already today :) As you wrote: It'll be finished, this remodelling. When that happens you'll feel it, you'll experience the beauty of quietness at home. More so than if your neighbours wouldn't have remodelled their home. Hence more beauty coming out of ugliness (the noise) {wink}

It could have been a StV post, but until I came home and had dinner, one Dexter episode, well a post from you is ON. It was a surprise, but let us leave that topic to your post and the time & deadline connection! :)

And They Have Escaped the Weight of Darkness, were you that lazy that write this haha? Listening to it right now, because you mentioned it. Wow! but I have to visit some more posts today in this inspired corner, so will have to stop at one moment.

I have lived most of my life in houses, which is more common in my hometown, just here in Spain in a building and for one shorter period while I lived away for studies. I wish we could live again in a house, as you say, time will say when it will be achieved. That way I would save my neighbors from me :D and my piano noise. They will be all happy, I suppose 😅

The remodeling will be finished, yes, but not that I am too bothered with it or without it. Just a little bit. However, it came as an inspiration for more music, more headphones, and this post. And your one :) It is already transformed into a nice and perfect thing! I will write a thank you letter to my neighbor when she comes back, as she just left while the works are on :)

Me = Lazy 😱 You: Active 🥳
We shall keep miss Time as our friend, maybe she'll reduce the time to the freedom houses being made available to us.

No worries, miss time will cooperate, but if she has origins in Spain, it could be some mañana 😱

that darn mañana maybe in the way 😱

But, as a part of The Family is welcome 😎

That was sooooo relaxing!

This relax was needed :D

Oeeeeee appreciate your taste as I have had playlists of this dude pass by in autumn on weekend mornings.

Good reminder. Put on again this weekend as a disguise for all the background noise!

Hey @karinxxl

Happy to see you around, as I know your taste is even finer. I think the first time we met or talked was on your post with Rival Consoles, track Untravel. I have listened to that one for the first time, but many times more after that 😇

More things we should bring by Ólafur to Hive, shouldn't we? :) This fit perfectly my living and living room situation 😂 so this album had to come today in this post :D

That second track should so be called "INTROSPECTION" ...

That second track should so be called "INTROSPECTION" makes me thoughtful... very pleasant sound all of them.

As regards the renovations ... I feel for you. It is bad enough when it is your own renovations ... but someone elses where you have no control of things is tedious indeed

You see, calm piano sounds can be a blessing too, I am glad you find a very pleasant sound in this music {please, please, share with your daughter that likes the piano} :)

Now you made me think if I would make some renovations, would I feel sorry for the neighbors...? Really, I can not find the right answer!

which one is your official response? this or the next comment? :))😉

I so can relate @mipiana… having lived in a lot of different buildings while renting. There is always someone renovating. Across my building they are ripping apart an entire apartment. 5th floor and throwing it down on the side of the building through one of those plastic pipes… starting very early in the morning… gggrrrr 😖
Hope they finish soon for you and me 🥰

I’m listening to the music as I write. Beautiful and relaxing… (but I still here the pipe with rubble being thrown in.) But it makes me relax.
Thanks for sharing 😊

Yeah, I see now, that there is always something to share with the neighbors. I lived most of my time in house(s) just for some years when I moved to another city to attend secondary school, then I lived in a building. And now, in Spain.
Wow, your situation is crazy then, we luckily dont have those plastic pipes, it would be even noisier, I guess. Though, these workers carry the demolished things with some work carts (am not sure if it is the English word for that hahah, I hope you understand what I think)

To be honest, I am making noise too from my side, you know a piano.... a violin of my son (how lucky the neighbors are, as he is a lazy teenager!!) So, I have to take something back, but ok :) It served as the inspiration for this post hehee.

Hope you will enjoy some noiseless days soon (ow, tomorrow is Saturday, I know they dont work anything on weekends, yay) 😊

Yes, lucky us… no work on weekends. 🎉 So we can relax a little and recharge.
I do know what you mean. Think it is an wheelbarrow.

But the piano is beautiful… so the neighbours get free concerts. They won’t complain 😉 (they shouldn’t complain!) lucky them.
Thank you… soon it will be over for both of us. As it is just a remodel.

wheelbarrow.

mmmm, not exactly. It has four wheels actually, and a flat, stand kind of thing where they put the things on and push it. Dont know a different thing. Well, I haven't studied house remodeling hahah so dont really know how to call those things and tools 😂

so the neighbours get free concerts.

Yeah, I know, it was just a joke on my account, they do like it and know me :)

I got it now I think… although I don’t know the English word for it. It looks like a little skip. But then on wheels. Some can flip (the top part) so they can put it into a large container easier.

😉😊

Good night 😴

Good night 😴

Already? It's just half past 1 :)))

Lol…. Almost ready to go to bed. Other half is already in a few hours.
We had a busy week, but luckily a relaxing weekend 😊
(I have some insomnia lately… so I’m still up.)

Good stuff @mipiano , thanks for taking care of our ears :)

Hey @orestistrips 😀

You are very welcome, glad you hear these sounds are taking care of the ears of everyone! I like what you said!! Thanks 🤘

It sounds like you need some noise canceling headphones to block out the racket. Beautiful songs. I didn't listen to all of them but the living room setting would be amazing for such a concert.

Hahaha, oh yes, haven't got that idea, but now when you say, noise-canceling headphones ... or put the workers on silence mode 🔕 ... well, it is less possible :D

Thanks for the tip 🎧

Wow, that noise must be very uncomfortable, tedious and stressful, wouldn't your building have to warn and reach an agreement with the community to make that kind of noisy constructions? I hope it ends soon, because I understand you and I have been in that situation 😒.

Wonderful music you bring from your playlist bro! I really relaxed a lot listening to the songs and observing the nice, relaxing context, with dim light and wonderful melodies that move you to another space. 🙌😃🙏🎵🎶💯🎆

No, it is not that they would change anything outside of the apartment, so it doesn't need any permission or agreement. I guess. I am not so so bothered, just a little bit got inspired from a not pleasant thing and noise... to transform them into nice sounds :) Music :)

I am so glad you liked it, hope that this kind of music is also close to your soul :) Many greetings @naradamoon !! 🤗

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!
Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!
Keep on creating great quality content!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...

Thank you guys, always nice to see you around 😎

Girl you are in need of a decent noisecanceling headphone, to enjoy music like this to the max without any noise coming through from your neigbours! 😅

But this album is one of my favorite pieces on vinyl I own! Although I've never seen these videos so thanks for sharing these! Didn't know they excist 😎

🎧 headphones are on right now hahaha :) well, most of the time I am here around on hive. What I listen to is maybe not the same as others in the family are listening to.

Ow, you own it on vinyl? Cool!! Yes, they exist, but it doesn't matter what medium we chose to enjoy it, the musical content of it is important :)
So, you are a music lover? Or maybe a musician too? I see on your blog you are interested in photos, but maybe you will surprise hive with some music story too? :)

hehe you already own them!😎👍 Does everyone in the family loves music?

Yes I own it on vinyl, still searching for the other one from him called the Island Songs. I think that one is even better but missed the vinyl release. Don't want to pay the discog prices 😅

And indeed I'm a music lover, wish I could create it myself. Luckily I'm very good in being a fan from artists. They can't excist without them so proud to be good at that part of the job😎 My creativity can be found in taking pictures, but I'll do write some reviews from albums I own on vinyl every now and then.

Yes, they have to like music :) Son is playing the violin, I am with the piano, husband just has to listen to all of that.
But as I am curating mostly music content, (not just, but mostly) I listen to the entries of the hive open mic, and over hive other music videos, so it is my thing, they have their job or activities, hence the headphones are the part of my hive time. when I write a post, again, I like to concentrate on writing having my music choice. 🎧 :)

Oh, Island Songs.. can't understand the language though...

My creativity can be found in taking pictures, but I'll do write some reviews from albums I own on vinyl every now and then.

Looking forward to reading them :))

I think your husband can't complain at all? You and your son play together as well? Piano and violin is an amazing combination😍

Who does understand Icelandic outside of the people living there!? I don't but I'd love to hear the language. Oh forget it I'm just in love with everything Icelandic 🤣

Hahaha, believe me, practising is not a funny and easy activity to listen to :D Well, not that I have a lot of time anyway lately to study new things at home, and my son, huh, a teenager and the violin playing somehow stays at the bottom of his list. But I hope this phase will pass.
Since he started to play, and he was indeed small then, we always played together, but as I say, now it is a bit difficult to get there and study at all, for both of us.

I am not so close to the Icelandic traditions and culture, but I had two students from there :) Maybe would be nice to investigate a bit about the country, people, nature and traditions.

Really really nice stuff and high quality music!! I love all of them! Thanks for sharing!

Oh @ravenmus1c, thank you so much for checking out my post, that's an honour for me 😇

Wow friend, this is pure and beautiful art. I love the story behind this album, I find it amazing the way it was born. It makes me very happy to have made it this far because the music touched my soul and believe it or not, that noise you feel in your building and that will surely end soon in my house never ends. Since I am on a main avenue. You can't imagine how hard it is to get the videos I make with so much love. But I thank you for bringing "Living Room Songs" to me. Believe me it will be loud here from now on...

Hey hey @jesuslnrs

The story behind the album is indeed so cool. Every day a new song, recorded and published on YouTube. Well, not all the songs were brand new ones, some were arrangements from his songs he wrote before or for other instruments or other versions.
Wow, I hope you can move to another street or other place, from that avenue that is bringing so much noise into your home. Fingers crossed you can find a calmer place :)

Amen Sister!... 🙏

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 9500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 20

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stickupcurator(4/10) tipped @mipiano (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @buffalobison.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you a lot @ ecency and @buffalobison for this boost 🙌🙌