When playing at a wedding...

in Q Inspired-by-Music2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220908_182225.jpg

Just a few days ago another couple stepped into new waters. Marriage. Maybe a reason for happiness, maybe not, because some doubts started to come to me. Why do I see tears at every wedding?

At the end of the last month, I attended a solemn wedding ceremony (in the role of a musician) and witnessed how the brothers of the groom, visibly touched and with tears in their eyes, gave a final speech about their brother who is now getting married. While sharing the memories from their childhood, everyone got emotional. The same thing happened with the bride's sisters, they all had their speech, and it was all accompanied by tears. How powerful. I could feel how their voices shook while they were saying the best about their siblings.

IMG_20220908_165705.jpg

And now again. It happened last Thursday when I was booked (with two singers and a violinist, who happened to be my son) to play at a wedding ceremony. A small modern-style church, family members of the bride and groom, the priest, the musicians and photographers. While looking at her future husband, the bride's voice first trembled. And her voice was shaking more and more, which was accompanied by quick intakes of air because the tears were there, trying to take away her peace and sobriety. Emotions ran high. It was a mutual promise, to love each other and walk together through every difficult situation.

Tears. Is it perhaps a sad situation? Could it be that our playing was that bad and that it bothered their hearing and their soul so much? 😂

Let's hope that all these touching moments, the shaking voices and the tears in the eyes came from the positive excitement. It is not every day that a daughter, son, brother or sister is getting married. A new family is born, and that just walks its first steps when the ceremony is over. Also, the presence of the whole family, reunited, makes the moment more solemn and important.

Expressing your emotions in front of everyone is not so easy and carries its weight. You know that feeling, when sharing such intimate thoughts is suddenly available to all the people around you. I'm not only thinking about that promise between the newlyweds but also the feelings that the other members of the family are sharing. Sometimes family relationships are complicated, or even if they aren't, maybe the expression of feelings is a bit sidelined. In these moments, when everyone is somehow disarmed in front of this situation, it is no wonder that I see tears.

Well, let's leave the tears aside now. As I said, both times I went in the role of a musician, so my professional attitude should not be questioned. I played the best I could, making a musical carpet with my fellow musicians.

Location?

The wedding was held in a place called Villa Gadea. It is located in a small coastal Spanish town, Altea. The venue is already familiar, as in the old villa, there is a chapel, used for small concerts. A few months ago my son and his friends had a concert here, as a part of a series of concerts held in this town. In this Villa Gadea complex, there is also a huge hotel and a church, where the ceremony took place.

IMG_20220908_181947.jpg

On the other side of the old villa, you can take the stairs and go directly to the seashore. The views from there, towards the Mediterranean sea:

IMG_20220908_182153.jpg

The little church inside is not really like the old, heavily decorated baroque-style churches we can still see around. This one was simple, maybe I can classify it as a minimalistic style? Not so many ornaments (well, none). I liked a lot the simple combination of concrete and wood (ceiling and benches). There were two huge sliding doors that occupied almost one whole wall of the building. Those were open, to allow the air to come in.

IMG_20220908_181126.jpg

Music?

We played what we usually play in the wedding ceremonies. More or less. One piece from Heandel for the entrance of the groom that my son and I performed. The bride asked for the famous Canon in D composed by Pachelbel, again, performed by the two of us. Later, with the two singers, we played the parts of the Mass by Charles Gounod, Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen, the famous Ave Maria by Schubert and for the end, a Spanish song called Hasta mi final (the possible Spanish peaking readers of this post will perfectly know which song it is). It came out lovely in our performance in piano, violin and my two singer friends.

IMG_20220908_181112.jpg

I didn't check whether there were tears in the eyes of the family members or not.
They slowly walked out, facing their new future, accompanied by our musical contribution. I hope that when playing at a wedding we can bring some happy moments (and not sad ones) with the sounds we provide. I really hope so!

{what if I am wrong? 😂}

Slide3.png

Sort:  

Wedding is a thing of joy from a very long period of time and it will continue like that forever and it's rare for a wedding to occur without the bride or the groom to bring out tears especially the bride but it's all for fun,some even practically force the tears out just for people to get emotional,it's all tears of joy anyway.

some even practically force the tears out just for people to get emotional

But this definitely should not be forced :D

Anyway, I see now that it is maybe part of a tradition.
Of course, I know those are tears from joy 😇 it was just a half-joke that it can be from sadness. Though, we never know hahaha

People usually cry at wedding because they feel they are gonna have a new life, apart from their parents and siblings and starting a new life with someone..
It's usually tears of joy here called Ekun RARA..which is often even customarily expected lol.

Culture is beautiful

which is often even customarily expected lol.

Hahaha, how do you mean expected? 😂

So, it was all perfect in these weddings I attended :))
The problems would come if it went without tears 😁

Hahaha, how do you mean expected?

This bridal cry is part o the culture, they cry to show their parents how they love them and that they are not taking departing from their home and covering for robbery, but to mean that that it pains them a lot, even tho it probably doesn't.. but that's on the other side of emotions.

More so, the parent are suppose to cry and pray to bless her departure as well. This part also must be fulfilled.

Yes it was all perfect and expected.. infact they look foreward to it in the Yoruba tradition..

No not to say that problem would come, but for respect sake and for the departure to be heartfelt.

It's like a father is loosing his child away to another hehehe..

Weddings are funny here and it's different cultures with their own rudiments.. hehe

I ve mistakenly used the Med-Hive account to reply lol.. but that was from me lol

I know 😄

I hope no tears will come now because you used your community account?

lol

Hahaha.. well it better be tears of Joy.. the community is growing hehehe..

But then weddings these days.. although I haven't been to any this year, non that I can recall.. this job tho.

I am really glad to hear that the Med-Hive community is growing 👍
Have a successful upcoming week @jaydr 👋

Tears. Is it perhaps a sad situation? Could it be that our playing was that bad and that it bothered their hearing and their soul so much? 😂

I’m sure - and hope - it’s not the reason ^^
Could feel the tension recently in a wedding, but there was no tears, only smiles... I think it depends a lot about the age and situation of the couple and ‘style´of family... If it’s people releasing their emotions without any problem or not...

I used to cry more often, but it was not of joy or happiness, maybe with time and living with my wife who comes from a protestant family, I just took the apparently emotional retention thing ?

I will pay a closer attention to the next wedding ^^

I hope too 😇

Yes, you touched on several factors, like family background, age, or as we see from the other comments, culture and tradition ( I am a bit shocked it is expected and required in some cultures 😅 )

Your case. Maybe you just don't feel the necessity to cry right now as in general, you are happier and calm so you don't really have those crying moments. :) Though, also can be that as you say, you took that emotional retention attitude.

I will pay a closer attention to the next wedding ^^

Hahaha, imagining you looking around and checking whether people are crying or not 😆

It seems so different and unexpected that we almost couldn’t imagine it, but I tend to believe this completely ! Humans cultures are so close, different, interesting and weird at the same time ^^
Could be an idea for a challenge...

Your case.

I think it’s both... but I cried enough, still emotional of course, but I guess I express it differently, I think as a musician you’ll see some close meanings of what I’m saying :)

Yeah, I would have to be discret haha ! The tears brigade ^^

Have a good night dear

Could be an idea for a challenge...

Not a bad idea at all!!

I know, I do understand you in this aspect :)

Yeah, I would have to be discret haha ! The tears brigade ^^

Secret tears catchers brigade lol

haha ! I’ve one or two weddings planned, I will make a report ^^

Have an enjoyable day dear :)

Super! :)) Enjoy the weddings and your Friday @anttn 😇

Thanks you, you too ! Haha, I’m going back to work finally, just for the morning :)

I love Canon. Do you have a video of you playing it? Actually, do you have your own channel? 🤔

No video, or photos while we performed. I took the photos before and after the wedding, as I can't take photos during the ceremony - my fingers are busy with the piano keys 😁
We asked the photographers that at least give us some photos where we play. But usually, they don't just go and give away the photos they made for one family and their wedding to the musicians.
My own channel? Do you mean youtube, 3speak? Yes, but I never really cared a lot for yt and just realized my last video there was 11 months ago 🤣 and 3speak, well, the video from Train Spotting was my last video. Piano playing, don't even remember when 😱

i love weddings, wishing the newly weds a happy marriage life.

👰

Algunos lloran no por la vida nueva que enfrentarán, sino por la vida vieja que dejarán!
=D
xD
:D

Hahaha, con mucha probabilidad xD

It’s probably all the emotions that were build up u til that moment. For some it can be stressful and very emotional.
Especially when a lot of family and friends are there too.
It is wonderful to see.
I’m sure it wasn’t the music 😉😎
Such a beautiful location they chose. Great captures 🤓
Have a wonderful new week @mipiano 👋🏻☀️💃🏻

Well, you have the recent experience, you can know this from the first hand :))
Yes, emotions. Oh, forgot about that detail, that it can be stressful. It can. And then all the tension one had inside, for all the time of preparation comes out on the day of the wedding.
The location is lovely, and they were from abroad, not Spanish people. I guess they booked in that hotel (that is in the complex) to stay.
Have a great one you too @littlebee4 🙂

Yep… can you believe it is already 6 months ago 😳 time flies…
It is all build up emotion. Sadly we didn’t have friends or family attending. But celebrated it later in the UK. 😎😊

Aha… ok, what a wonderful thing to do. Marry abroad. (We did the same in Gibraltar although it wasn’t far hahaha 🤣)
Thank you so much @mipiano enjoy your Monday 👋🏻☀️
It rained in the night here… it’s a bit cooler, yay 😁 more rain to come the weather app says.

Yep… can you believe it is already 6 months ago 😳 time flies…

What?!?

6 months? No way it passed that quickly! 😱

Wow, just crazy how it flies... but luckily, when we find our new time-making machine, we can manage it how we want hahaha

I know… just crazy fast, now thinking about it. Our to the next 6 months hehehe 🤭 (next month we are together 6 years 😇)

Indeedy, it will help so much with our time-management 😉🤓🤣🤣

!LUV

{what if I am wrong? 😂}

I think it's better not to explore that angle😂🤣. I'm sure you're not wrong.

Your son plays the violin, how lovely! And that church looks quaint ❤

I think it's better not to explore that angle

Hahhaa, you are right. Ok, I will continue to believe they liked our playing ;)
Thank you @sekani

Yes, he plays the violin and doing it pretty well 😇

Better😂

That's awesome 🤗🤗

It must be very special to be performing with your son. Our daughter just got married a few months ago and it was a very emotional ceremony. We have three sons all of which are married. I don't remember being so chocked up at their weddings, but when I walked down the aisle with my daughter I couldn't hold back the tears. So many things ran through my mind that day and tears flowed several times. Tears of joy and pride were hard to hold back.

What a beautiful venue for a wedding. I listened to the piece Canon in D which I've never heard before, just beautiful.
You and your son must be very talented to be able to play that piece.

Thanks for sharing!

We do perform for some time already, when he was smaller I accompanied him at his school concerts. Now, he is already at the age to accompany me in the gigs, so it happens that at the latest wedding ceremonies he also played. I like it, as I am glad he also tends to choose my profession (maybe) but at the same time I still think sometimes as a mom of him and not as a colleague :D

Oh, congratulations on your daughter's wedding, wow, I guess it was emotional. Joy and pride, you are right. I am also emotional, and proud, though I also try to hold back tears (sometimes unsuccessfully)...

Thank you for your kind comment @thebigsweed 🙌

To start with, they made a right choice having you there as their musician.
You know, I usually think it's only here in Nigeria that they feel that kind of emotion where you cry.
When I saw that in your post that the groom's relatives cried and also the bride's relative, I was like so this happens almost everywhere!

I sure enjoyed the time I took out to read this post.
This is an interesting one to come by mother of piano!

Oh, @obaro , thank you for your very kind comment 😇

Yes, seems that weddings can trigger some emotions that are difficult to hold back... and seems it happens in every corner of this world, according to the comments that this post received. It is interesting, indeed. :)

Oh, now I know that I happen all over the world.
That emotional scene is always surfacing!

This is a nice post to come by!

I cried at my sister’s wedding, it wasn’t like she was even leaving my state but the thought of not having her all to my self was scary; I can’t imagine how much I’ll cry if I get married, I am a big baby 😂

I loved reading the narration of the wedding, it made me feel like I was there, been craving attending a wedding.

Also the church is so beautiful and simple, also the flowers at the end.

Hahaha, a big baby! But I think you cried at your sister's wedding as we get emotional seeing the people that we love. We are proud of them. When you will get married, I suppose you will focus on that, and not leave yourself a lot of space for getting distracted by your own tears. Well, it is just my guess, you will know it on your big day.

Oh, the church was just perfect being that simple. Loved the simplicity of it, and there were flowers on the benches, yes, what you see, and also big candles on the floor (they can be seen a bit in the photo). Lovely venue!

I feel like my big day might be worse because I am a last kid and I am such a baby so who knows how much I might be crying.

The church looks really amazing, would love to get married somewhere like this.

I cried at my sister's wedding lol. Didn't cry at mine though 🤣

I would love to hear you play Hallelujah, but I want to Buckley version, a little different.

The venue looks amazing, I hope you all enjoyed playing!

Yeah, I know what you say. I didn't cry at my one either 😂
I just put on a killing look on my face when my future husband almost forget what he has to say 😁

Yeah, the place was just lovely, so nice! Now a bit of break with wedding gigs, seems nobody wants to get married during October... or it is just we that are not booked lol 🤣

I cry at a very wedding I attend. Reason being that, this person is not going to be close as before.

Yes, this also makes sense. So, tears can also come not just because of joy, but a bit of sadness can be mixed in.

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 190000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.

😱 that many!

Well, not complaining :D

Have a great time at Hive Fest 😎

We can't wait to see you get new badges @mipiano! 😉 Have a nice day 🌹🌹🌹

Thank you @hivebuzz 😇

A nice evening to you too 🥂

That feelings when you are the best in what you do!.
Play on friend.

Sii, tienes razón. 😮

Prácticamente era el mismo repertorio que hicimos jeje. Para la entrada del novio también se tocó el canon de Pachabel, esa me faltó ponerla en el post 🤭 y pues la decoración igual con flores blancas. Debe ser que es lo que está en tendencia para las bodas. 😁

Yo te digo una cosa, yo casi lloro también y eso que no conocia a los novios jeje pero cuando los vi verse al uno al otro me dio como una emoción. Pero como buena profesional pues desvié la mirada y tuve en control mis emociones 🤭😅.