Well, a new belated #ttt post. But that's ok. Cuz today we are going back to my funky roots!

in Q Inspired-by-Music2 years ago (edited)

Again, I'm late for this Three Tune Tuesday in its Week 55. But last week, I couldn't even show up early or late because I was lost in space. Yeah, around here in my neck of the woods in the mountains, the rains have become even more savage these last days and have lashed out with such fury that they have kept me most of the time enjoying of a larger number of power outages more frequent than usual.

What evidently has plunged me into a greater dose of reflective darkness, peaceful uncommunication, solitary confinement and blissful isolation in the exclusive and sublime company of only my great musical memories and past experiences through them.

And product of these intimate reflections in the dark, pleasant old memories and formidable past experiences which have been forced and intensified by the recent lack of electricity. From there is exactly where the present selection of my #ttt today comes. So I hope you enjoy them. Because today we are gonna pass through an eventful journey and a pretty stirred tour which goes back to my funky roots. :)

Given that the last week I couldn't participate and I probably leave you waiting for my weekly #ttt contribution. I suppose today I should have license to contribute with not three but six tunes to make up for the lack of the corresponding three that I couldn't contribute last week. Right?

Well, any complaints, please contact our host and good friend @ablaze for his verdict. The only one here with the power, the authority, the credentials and a whip in his hand to put our outlaw behavior at bay hahahaha.

That already said, let's continue with my irreverence and allow me now to explain a little how the musical dynamics of today will be through this tour through time.

  1. Before each song, I will try to make a very brief synopsis and a short introduction about what were the main events and unique experiences that surrounded that specific song in my past.

  2. Perhaps and if anything, it's also possible that I will provide one or another clarification, description or anecdote that is relevant and worth commenting on the history of that song and what it meant to me.

  3. With that cleared up, let's go ahead and see what we get. I hope you enjoy this tour!

¡Back To The Past!

The first song and with which I will start this funky binnacle and report, probably will be a great unknown to most of you. But let me tell you that since I heard it for the first time in my earliest youth, I think that I have rarely, if ever, heard and danced to a song that has been as soulful and funky as this one by the Chamber Brothers.

Oh! and another very important thing. Take the opportunity to fully listen to it and even download it right now, because this version, which is the one that contains the extended and complete version of this memorable live performance, it's very likely you won't find it anywhere else and it is actually quite difficult to obtain.

"Bang Bang"

This one that you will listen to next is a true soul and funky jewel that takes me back to my most pleasant memories and experiences in my earliest youth. That, like the previous one and at the same age going back in time, I never forget nor I will ever forget.

This song in particular takes me back to the most memorable parties I attended in the past that probably marked my later desire to become a DJ and make everyone dance all the time. This song was always present at the wildest and most psychedelic parties you can imagine throughout those tender years when we were totally happy and didn't know it. Yeah, just listen to it completely and you'll tell me! :D

Oh! and like the previous one, I only tell you not to waste much time and download it immediately. Because this live performance from the Stax & Volt tour in Europe around 1966, is really hard to get online and is often removed every time it's uploaded anywhere.

This duo of famous and well-remembered musicians made multiple studio recordings and countless live performances of this unforgettable song. But for my taste and my most treasured memories, no live performance of them has been with so much soulful feeling and blastful funky vibes as the one of this specific concert which is the one I keep alive and fresh in my memory and in my records collection.

Yeah! it's a secret!

Then, the next song. Which was also always present at those memorable and wild home parties that I attended in my earliest youth and that were forever indelibly engraved in my funky mind, soul and heart. That although a little more in the domains of Rock & Roll, this one didn't stop of having the flavor, rhythm and cadence to dance and enjoy it in the funkiest and more soulful way possible.

Yeah! those were the days when you could give free rein to your entire body and skeleton to follow the mandatory steps to so much funky feelings and cheerful vibes in all its splendor on the dancefloor. Because the music during those old days was indeed much more authentic and truly came from the soul of the musicians without much pretense of becoming very popular or commercial any time soon.

¡I'm a Man!

Another of the very famous Rock & Roll bands of the time and whose music was not lacking in these home parties and blissful covens that I attended in the sixties and in which I enjoyed dancing my brains off to their so inviting rhythms and sometimes also wild shaking cadences of many of their memorable songs.

It was nothing more and nothing less than the music of the members of the legendary band Creedence Clearwater Revival. Also known in the underworld under the acronym CCR and of which I have selected here one of their most wild and little-known songs of theirs that I remember have been dancing to non-stop those days.

«-COMMOTION

And for the end, I have selected here a couple of the songs of the legendary band that for me have been the authentic monsters of the fusion of Funk and Rock & Roll. And that were always present in those memorable parties of my past and that I remember having enjoyed their moving tracks dancing their music with maximum swing and emotion. The reverend and funky members of Sly and The Family Stone.

The first of this selection with a couple of songs that I remember with greater enthusiasm due to the clarity with which the images arise in my memory of the delirious frenziness with which everyone around me danced every time these pieces sounded throughout those unforgettable parties of my youth.

A real pity that I could not find online the video with the live footage of this fantastic and legendary big concert with their live performance. Because I tell you, it was truly awesome and spectacular. Because the omnipotent motivating force of their tunes to be danced everywhere around. The authentic feeling & vibe with which these songs were seen to come from the depths of their genuine souls. And the mind-bending performance of all its members on stage... ¡Holy cow! all this was really something from another world! But hey, this is what I could get for now. };)

¡Stand! you can make it if you try.

Nonetheless, I'm almost sure that I must have stored somewhere in my files the original video with the live footage of that amazing performance of Sly and the Family Stone at the Atlanta Pop Festival in the Isle of Wight. Only, that I haven't been able to find it yet. But as soon as I find it, I promise I'll upload it to one of my YouTube or Vimeo accounts so you can enjoy it and you can know what I'm talking about.

Because as in any case, one of the main things I wanted to show you. Is teach you some of the little groovy dancing steps that in my time we used, to dance to these very funky, fascinating and cheerful songs all over the place.

And just so you have a slight idea and maybe you can learn what kind of groovy dancing steps I'm talking about. Hence, it's why I will also share this last video so that you can feel and live with me what this wonderful musical experience of my youth really was. Well, I'll see you next Tuesday folks. Yeah! if I arrive on time! tsk tsk.

¡Dance To The Music!

Leave a comment. Share your experiences and feedback. ¡Be part of the conversation!

«««-$-»»»

"Follows, Comments, Rehives & Upvotes will be highly appreciated"

Cranky Gandalf

Cheers!

Sort:  

Good things are worth waiting for!! Isn't that what they say man, thoroughly enjoyed these. The Chambers brothers owning the Funk there, Quality stuff!

"Right about now the Funk Soul Brother....."

Was that song about you by any chance?? Cracking tunes again this week, looking forward to listening to them more closely over the weekend 👍

Good things are worth waiting for!! Isn't that what they say man

Oh yeah! That's what they say and I agree with them most of the time. :D

thoroughly enjoyed these.

Glad to know it bro!

The Chambers brothers owning the Funk there, Quality stuff!

Indeed!! but for some strange reason, they've been pretty underrated in the history of soul and funk. I really dunno why? But I can tell you, that in my book of Soul & Funky music they are well high on top.

"Right about now the Funk Soul Brother....."

Was that song about you by any chance??

Uhm, well, perhaps?... Maybe if I looked myself in the mirror right now, I would say that they were talking about me. LoL

Cracking tunes again this week, looking forward to listening to them more closely over the weekend 👍

Oh! yeah brother. Take your time mate. Because these songs I recommend that you listen to them with your eyes closed from beginning to end without missing any detail. And once you have listened to them with absolute attention, then you can start dancing them remembering everything that I have narrated in this post.

Cheers!! :)

Those guitarists from the last video knew how to dance while playing at the same time :))

Should I try to dance while playing the piano...? oh, yeah, my fingers are already dancing on the keys 😂

🎶

😂😂😂
It is very possible @mipiano.
But hard to keep up with I guess

Nah! not too hard to keep up with my dear @benii. Everything is gonna depend on the heat and fury of the night once you begin to let go and relax your entire body. Hahahaha

So far, they are still working and dancing 😅

Those guitarists from the last video knew how to dance while playing at the same time :))

Oh yeah babe! I tell you. These guys indeed knew how to shake their booty while playing their instruments. Who wouldn't also want to dance seeing that. LoL

Should I try to dance while playing the piano...? oh, yeah, my fingers are already dancing on the keys 😂

Of course you should try to dance while playing the piano. Regardless and beyond of how much your fingers are already dancing on the keys. We over here and your usual audience will always be alert and eager to see the rest of your body dancing while playing your piano in the best style of the guitarists of Sly & the Family Stone. :D