Postcards from Thailand #36: Highway to Hell

in Actifit10 months ago

Last weekend, the in-laws decided to join us on our weekend dash to Bangkok...

...and as is the norm when you travel with Thais, food plays a major part.

I shouldn't complain, as the MiL had made us a pack-up but unlike back home where its a flask of coffee and a meal-deal, we were having a full blown dinner. The difference being it was in a tuppaware box and cold!

Eating rice every meal is bad enough but when it's cold, it's akin to trying to eat pea shingle. No matter, the cold fried egg and highly-spiced minced animal added a further variety of barely palatable texture and taste.

As you can see, the first chowing took place on the ferry. The ferry is 4km from home and it hadn't even set off when the food came out.

After getting off the ferry, we were barely going an hour when toilets were needed. Another hour and FiL had run out of whisky so another stop was made. Another hour and here we are at some 'famous' sea good restaurant.

Absolute nightmare. Not to mention I'd got the 'mystical interfering fairy', as I like to call the FiL, in a back seat driving competition with the current champion, the wife.

A little further on and they were bored with 'the complete works of Rainbow' and after complaining about having a headache, caused by my drumming on the steering wheel rather than the bottle of scotch, commandeered the friggin' stereo. There then followed 200km of Isaan folk music until they eventually decided to have a sleep, only waking up an hour from Bangkok needing a noodle fix.

It's normally just over 10 hours from getting off the boat to arriving home in Bangkok, this time it was 14, and just three hours before the first class started and just 36 hours before the start of the drive back.

So for those that think I sit on the beach, writing posts on my laptop with a gentle sea breeze keeping the heat of a tropical sun at bay, the reality is oh so different.

But yet...

I hope everyone is having a great weekend and I send my best wishes to you and your loved ones.

Another @nathen007 Thai temple free post


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


23/06/2023
6283
Daily Activity, Walking

Sort:  

I've never envisioned you on a coast like that until right now. The real way's way funnier.

LOL...well to be honest, my mornings usually start by jumping on the bike and driving two miles, stopping at 7/11 for coffee and croissants before sitting here.....

My morning routine!

Hope you also had a great weekend :-)

Wow what an adventure today, hopefully you have a chance to just sit on that beach and write a post from your laptop this weekend Lol!
Nice do you have a chance to spend some time with the in-laws, and congratulations on your 6K @actifit steps!
Nice to read your post!😄

Mate, I live next door to the in-laws, I spend far too much time with them lol

Hope you and your good lady had a great weekend :-)

Hopefully you have very good in-laws😇
Have a great day my friend!😬

I love rice, spicy rice even more. I could have it hot and cold till the end of days so that sounds magic to me, heh heh.

Hate it when the stereo is commandeered though! That sounds nightmarish!

See? Growing bamboo. Rice lover. Drinks copious amounts of whisky. You definitely have some Thai DNA lol...

Let's see if you enjoy the Isaan folk music ;-)

Mibbe not the music,lol. I have failed in my inner thai-ness!!

Oh my… that sounds like a nightmare. Poor you.
I don’t like rice… let alone cold. It’s the textures that puts me off.
Hope you survive 😉😁

Have a wonderful weekend too 👋🏻☀️and all the best wishes for you and yours 🌺

Like me! I do eat it hot but generally it's always textures that put me off various foods rather than taste.

Hope you had a great weekend and the luck of the Irish is smiling upon you :-)

Yes, exactly… the textures.

Thanks a lot, the weekend was great.
And today I flew ✈️ over to the UK to join hubby.
We visit some friends and drive the 11th over via short and small ferry ⛴️ to Ireland.
Then we can close the UK chapter for real.
Have a wonderful week @nathen007 👋🏻😊 hope your week is great so far.
!PIZZA

Wow. That's some trip!

How often are you still doing that? :/

Nearly every week! Either by VIP bus or car but the bus is better as I ca. Get some work done and sleep. Only a couple more months left though.

Hope you had a great weekend :-)

That's rough!

Copy copy :)

We did. Thanks. Lots of forced downtime because some power cable or other went offline. It becomes kinda peaceful and makes a person wonder whether to just turn the internet off permanently. Remember the days... ?

Take care of yourself out there <3

I barely remember the days! I've been 'online' in one way or another since the early 80s, long before the internet was what we know it as today! All i really remember is being a kid in the 70s. It was like a totally different world! Books, legos, trains and lots of 'playing out' ! It's nice to have some 'radio' silence sometimes but I certainly wouldn't want to swap today for yesteryear.....unless I could also lose 30 years off my age lol

You take care too, superstar :-)

OH... I kinda miss those days. The simplicity. But perhaps I'm getting old ;)

Would totally take the 30 years off the age. But not the wisdom and experience!

You too, Mr N. Enjoy the momentum :D 💐 🦊 💜

I think we all reminisce a lot more as we age. Its strange that those older memories seem to get clearer, or perhaps we reconstruct the older memories and bring them to the fore but happyisised!

It's like that in some ways, I guess. There's a mechanism in the brain to make it so for survival purposes.

Thing is... if we do that it comes out in all sorts of unexpected ways.

Best to just (try) to remember things in full and accept them as happenings, perhaps. Try not to judge them too much. And avoid trying to be happy, happy all the time. Keeps us more present in the present and actually able to fully appreciate the "good" parts. If that makes sense :)

The ongoing search for happiness actually only creates more unhappiness... what you focus on increases and all that. So if we are constantly focused on making more we are actually keeping ourselves (mentally) in a state of non-abundance. See? And if what we focuses on increases then we create more lack.

Same with happiness.

Also... the contrast of the "all" only makes the good parts better. Relativity.

I think I miss it because I spend far too much online. Not enough balance for me personally as I love being immersed outside. My happy place!

But I have the power to change that any time I so choose to :) It's happening my side... finding a nice pace here now.

Sorry you're having to do so much of what sounds like quite a tough journey. The good news is... everything passes and everything changes.

Must make the child food and am busy designing stuff at the moment. It's quite blissful here right now. I just mustn't get too comfortable with things as they are.

Just popped back to say thanks for being you, btw. Your comments always make me smile. Genuinely.

Just a bit flat over here right now. Need some processing and assimilation. The weight of the scale of the problems, you know. Maybe I need some fairy dust and rainbows for a bit after these last months. It was some journey. Sending love

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nathen007.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Loading...

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@littlebee4(4/10) tipped @nathen007

Congratulations @nathen007! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023
Announcing the Travel Reimbursement Fund for HiveFest⁸