Sort:  

I think we all reminisce a lot more as we age. Its strange that those older memories seem to get clearer, or perhaps we reconstruct the older memories and bring them to the fore but happyisised!

It's like that in some ways, I guess. There's a mechanism in the brain to make it so for survival purposes.

Thing is... if we do that it comes out in all sorts of unexpected ways.

Best to just (try) to remember things in full and accept them as happenings, perhaps. Try not to judge them too much. And avoid trying to be happy, happy all the time. Keeps us more present in the present and actually able to fully appreciate the "good" parts. If that makes sense :)

The ongoing search for happiness actually only creates more unhappiness... what you focus on increases and all that. So if we are constantly focused on making more we are actually keeping ourselves (mentally) in a state of non-abundance. See? And if what we focuses on increases then we create more lack.

Same with happiness.

Also... the contrast of the "all" only makes the good parts better. Relativity.

I think I miss it because I spend far too much online. Not enough balance for me personally as I love being immersed outside. My happy place!

But I have the power to change that any time I so choose to :) It's happening my side... finding a nice pace here now.

Sorry you're having to do so much of what sounds like quite a tough journey. The good news is... everything passes and everything changes.

Must make the child food and am busy designing stuff at the moment. It's quite blissful here right now. I just mustn't get too comfortable with things as they are.

Just popped back to say thanks for being you, btw. Your comments always make me smile. Genuinely.

Just a bit flat over here right now. Need some processing and assimilation. The weight of the scale of the problems, you know. Maybe I need some fairy dust and rainbows for a bit after these last months. It was some journey. Sending love

There's a 6 year old girl visits us. She's a little bit ADHD and has trouble learning and when we play games, especially fast paced games, because staying focused is difficult for her, she often loses. Then we will often get accusations of cheating, tears and tantrums. Five minutes earlier she tells us she loves us, next minute she's screaming that she hates us.

Thing is. This 6 year old knows and understands her emotions like I've never seen before. This doesn't help her very much to control them but she knows she needs a little help. Before we sit down to play a game, she'll apologise in advance for the behaviour she knows will surface. She even makes jokes about it; "Nathen. Get the tissues ready!' She's 6!

Her self awareness and emotional understanding and her openess to talk about her issues and problems is incredible and in this respect, she reminds me of you.

She's also going to get through this and not just survive, but flourish. In this respect, she reminds me of you.

This little girl is a blessing to have a connection to. In this respect she reminds me of you.

Goodnight x

Christ almighty.

Okay. Let's just keep it simple then.

Hope you had a good sleep. X

Loading...

Scuse sweary words. But the arrogance of the fucking medical profession and the damage they are getting away with because of it makes me want to vomit.

She's fucking six years old ffs.

That's me done for a bit. I'm taking an extended break from the insanity. I bave had enough.

Take care until we meet again. 🪷

Swear words are good, they express emotion strongly when needed. I swear a lot. No apologies needed.

The little girl visits with her mum because my wife is a licensed pediatric OT and we have a licensed practise.

Where to start...

Why refer back to DSM 1 and 2? DSM published v5 since 2018, its a standardised reference and not a bible that must be followed verbatim. Its not the only work of reference out there! As in all areas of science and understanding, practises and techniques improve with experience and knowledge. It's not 1952, its 2023. Things have moved on.

As for 'abuse'. Denying the existence of ADHD, and thus not treating it as a medical condition is abusive in the same way that refusing to allow your child treatment for any medical condition is abuse. Are you saying that all children's mental health issues are imaginary or created by specific trauma? What about more traditional physical health issues? Are they only created by environmental reasons too?

Disagreements in life need to be had. They create debate and knowledge. So yes, let's disagree :-)

Mental health issues do not only manifest themselves because of specific, traumatic events. They can be due simply to predisposition, 'faulty dna' as can any other medical condition.

The sad thing is that mental health has taken a back seat in the history of medical research but that is now improving and knowledge, understanding and techniques for helping are slowly improving.

The problem with human nature is that people often base their knowledge solely on their own personal circumstances and experiences which is understandable but still short sighted.

This particular little girl is now happier at school (her words) because she is learning and making friends and loves coming each week to talk openly and play games and be a kid without being judged or scolded. She's strong and amazing, that's why I thought about you. You commented out of the blue which felt like you were reaching out and not in a great place, hence I tried to show you how strong and amazing I thought you were. Instead, I pissed you off by mistake. I am sorry I didn't make you feel better.

Early intervention works because kids learn new things so quickly and can go a long way in preventing worsening issues in the future.

You have the best day you feel able to have and don't stay away too long. People will worry about you :-)

Loading...