Three Tune Tuesday: Sea of Love

in Music11 months ago (edited)

This time I thought I'd focus on a single tune that has haunted me through the years, with different versions meaning different things to me at different stages of my life.

The first version is the one used in the 1989 movie Sea of Love, starring Al Pacino, which is the first time I heard the song. It was a big favourite of my then boyfriend, about an emotionally unavailable cop and his hurt, frustrated girlfriend, as far as I remember! Can't imagine why he liked it so much 🙃 But I loved the song, and I liked the movie too, which had a killer soundtrack by Trevor Jones that mixed electronic stuff with some smoky sax lines and had a sort of Bladerunner-on-earth vibe:

The second version is by Cat Power, and is probably my favourite. I love her voice, and the guitar accompaniment is perfect. It's also great to hear it sung by a woman, as it gives a somewhat updated take on the lyrics. This version also once coincided with a romantic beginning, but it has stayed with me long after that relationship also became water under the bridge, which makes my love life sound much more Zen than it really was:

The last version is my own cover version -- something I recently recorded with jazz pianist Marco Marconi. It's more inspired by Cat Power than the original in that it's a bit bluesy. This version has nothing to do with any romance of mine -- instead, it's driven by love for this kind of music and gratitude for my musical collaborators. I hope you like it:

Thanks for listening! (@ablaze)

Sort:  
 10 months ago  

I always enjoy a post about one particular song, most especially when one is performed by the poster. I really liked Cat Power's version, she has an amazing voice and I am pretty sure I was introduced to her through #ttt which is cool and why I love #ttt so much and invest the time I do into it. Your version is excellent, and I absolutely love the slow bluesy, easy Sunday morning way that it starts with the Piano, gorgeous. Well done. I do love an instrumental song, and it is a sign of a great piece of music, when it does not need words to carry it.

Thank you for your very kind comments -- glad you liked my version!

 10 months ago  

Yes, I love it, it was up there with @killerwot and two others for the win... You were close..

Talk about three very different interpretations! Wow! I really, really enjoyed the third of the three by Marco Marconi. I liked the bluesy/jazz feel to it.

Thank you -- it was me on clarinet, Marco accompanying me. 🙂

A nice variety there. I find the one from the film to be a little too up-tempo, but love yours. I'm not sure I've seen the film.

!LUV

I know right?! Such a languid tune, and it's all doo-wop a lula 🙃

Hi @daniellemurray,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am