Song Request - E02S03 - Crossroads - Robert Johnson

in Music3 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hello fellow music fanatics!

Welcome to the episode 2 of Song request season 3!

Today's song was requested by @rubido, it's the classic delta blues song by Robert Johnson - "Crossroads" or Cross Road Blues

What a monument of a song, I was at first really scared for two reasons. First, I am a superstitious man, and there is so much supernatural myth around this song, around Robert Johnson and his deal that he made with the devil to learn how to play the guitar, at a crossroad.

Extra link Youtube:

Yes, you've heard right, that's how the story goes, and who am I for not believing the lore? There's also another story that hasn't been told about Robert Johnson, a tragic life that ended up with a sudden death, and songs that will continue to live on.

The second reason why I was scared of playing this song, it's because if I change it and it sucks, I will always be remembered as the "dude that tried to play Crossroad but failed" in the history books, next to Eric Clapton and John Mayer that succeeded in making their own version.

This is my interpretation of crossroad, made throughout the last few weeks, rather obsessively, there will of course be a vlog available to watch next week, but as for now, here is Crossroad, ladies and gents...

Congratulation to @rubido, you've earned 10 HIVE!!

If you have a song you dare me to play and transform, write it in the comments ^^

I will tell more about the writing process of the song in the vlog video, so I am gonna keep it short, it's been pleasure working on this piece, tell me what you think!

Much Love

Ed


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

In travel mode, Ed. I haven't got to listen yet but I will be back and I'm sure you covered it like the rain is covering our staycation as I type this.

img_6801.heic

Hope the east cost is giving you plenty of shrimps (I make it sound that you were there to fish 😁)

I think even the shrimp were trying to stay out of the rain. Sure was nice to have some double seafood though. I don't know there were places in the US you can't eat seafood. Unfortunately, the people of Tennessee don't know that and they eat the shit.

How about the fishes in the Tennessee river?

I'm surprised you even understood what I was saying, there's enough typos in my comment I'm not even sure wtf I was trying to say.

Catfish, yeah, I've had more than my share.

Oh yeah Rick was talking about catfish in Mississippi that you could deep fry

WOW, another production of high quality! Though I may have heard the original, I can't remember. Had to search a bit for it online since I had to get the sound of the original in my ears as well. I do think I like your version better :) For the video: What a great location you found, the Bugatti completely swallowed by nature! France is not only about great food, wines and nature, but also about nature swallowing legendary brand products {LOL}

You like my version better? This is just the best compliment you can give me!

but also about nature swallowing legendary brand products {LOL}

Hahaha this is fantastic comment! We spotted that location a month before, and I thought this would be perfect for shooting. There's few things I wasn't happy with like the lighting at that time, and some litters I could not get rid off, but the monochrome helped negating them.

Thanks so much Ed for your comment, it made my day! Really!

Super! 😉 Great spotting for the spot; NJOY Sunday without any limitations 🎶🙃

Wow wow, great one Ed!!!! Omg, all the layers, the guitar, your voice, drum section, the trumpet! The environment, the monochrome video!! Sorry, I just say the amazing things I see without any order or structured sentence 😅

Listening to it the third time 🤩

Maybe Eric Clapton failed, you definitely not!!!

This is just awesome work!!

Olé olé olé 🥳

Hahaha thanks!!

I sent it to my mum; and she didn't like it. She said that it was weird to have a full band playing but I am alone in the forest hahaha.

I had fun doing it, we had to cut it short because of shotguns heard nearby, probably hunters. My daughter was crying the entire time, I was quite tensed! Thanks god @lionmom was there to help!

Please, tell your mum she is at least a little bit weird {LOL} Plz don't mind my little joke.
The shotguns will see in your behind the scene and the making off video? Obviously, you can also include your crying girl to show all of use the life of artists is difficult one :)

Hahah my mum is weird indeed. I think old people don't understand these new mediums.

When I showed the vlog about the other song to my dad, he was like "who are you speaking to?" hahahah. I had to explain to him that the world is my audience, and the internet.

also include your crying girl to show all of use the life of artists is difficult one :)

This, I got plenty, but I have to find a moment when we aren't arguing hahaha. When we are in work mode, we get a bit stressed.

Yea, elderly people sometimes missing out on all the tech advancements. My stepdad doesn't want online banking, ie he wants an office to get into, write paper checks and all. But whenever I see him, he asks how well my cryptos are doing. At some point I tried to explain what cryptos are about, in layman terms, staying away from what Bitcoin actually is, but just comparing how BTC is creating money and this is the same as how central banks are creating money, more or less. Anyway, my point, he is an elderly guy as well, don't want the new tech but somehow he understands I'm playing with this new tech and kinda understanding this new tech is here to stay.

Looking fwd to the making-off video 😉

Damnit I almost forgot about your comment! Lucky for I went back!

he is an elderly guy as well, don't want the new tech but somehow he understands I'm playing with this new tech and kinda understanding this new tech is here to stay.

I think that's why companies that create the link between crypto and the masses, will strike the pot of gold under the rainbow.

I think that's why companies that create the link between crypto and the masses, will strike the pot of gold under the rainbow.

totally agree. last weekend I was watching the 2 hrs interview with the Leo team. they seem to have one top priority on all they do: building bridges and trying to make the user experience more simple. finally, a team that does understand what is required to get wider adoption of HIVE and crypto. but, we (the LEO team) is not there yet. the most simple user experience in crypto is still too complex for the mass, especially those that are 'simple' users of computers and (smart) phones.

You know, we mothers are more strict with our children 😂 I am always asking too much from my son, and for me it is never good his violin playing. Also he never plays the piano when I am at home as I always "say" something about his practising. So I think your mom maybe also likes it but doesn't want to tell you hehehe 😜

I imagine you had fun, this cover is soooo good and good things don't come just like that. In addition to fun, I see here hours and hours (and days and weeks ) of intense work. I can't wait to see the backstage story :)

It is great to have the support of your wife 😍. Without help and cooperation of our loved ones it is difficult to achieve anything. 🌠🌠 Sorry to hear that it had to be shortened but anyway it is cool 👌🎶

Ah, it's ok she enjoyed the one before, I think it's just a matter of taste, we can't please everyone.

I see here hours and hours (and days and weeks ) of intense work. I can't wait to see the backstage story :)

Oh my god, I got a little bit obsessed with it, I need to focus on my originals for a while now, and some long overdue collabs 😉

It is great to have the support of your wife 😍. Without help and cooperation of our loved ones it is difficult to achieve anything. 🌠🌠 Sorry to hear that it had to be shortened but anyway it is cool 👌🎶

Yes, always have someone that has the same plan as you ^^ Thanks again for being so lovely, and thanks for the comment on YouTube!

Oh my god, I got a little bit obsessed with it, I need to focus on my originals for a while now

Hahaha, so obsession is the word 😜

I poked a bit into your original ones too...when I searched for covers :D

I would need a separate post if I would like to say something about them 🙌🙌🙌

I have 2 albums out there, I really would like to shoot a music video or two for them now. I also have good songs that need to be recorded!

Lol you are becoming a full time Hiver!!

You rock definitely 🙌🌠

Now I can say : "I met that famous Ed in one blockchain " 😇

I just came home from teaching hahhahah I need hive to relax 🤣🤣

You put in words what I wasn't able to. I seemed to not being able to write more than: "I do think I like your version better" and "Another great production". You are absolutely right!

:-)

You put it later in your comment nicely :)
I saw this video immediately after publishing...and it was awesome 🤩

nothing less than 😍

Agree.

Listened to it again now 😅

as always mate, fuckin legend. Great mix bro looking forward to the next one.

Figures you pick a song titled crossroads.

I keep looking for genuine, serious authors who take life seriously (like me) around here and I thought you were one of them!!

No one can be that serious! If I joined the ranks of you guys I'd be too intimidated to post anything! Sadly sir, if you thought I was serious you are mistaken! This whole serious stage of my life if fucking exhausting lookin forward to laughing again soon.

I shall be seriously un-serious soon.

I shall be seriously un-serious soon.

Like a metronome to a Crossroads cover song, four fingers tap against the dining table each in rhythm with the other tap, tap, tap, tap (repeat) with his right hand and nods his head up and down in a universally understood motion of agreement and utters.....

'Mmmm Hmmmm.'

"tap tap tap tap"...

(fap fap fap fap)

😁

Thanks buddy, I am happy you like it!

An excellent interpretation, I really like the chorus and the instrumentation, also the video is very interesting with that touch of grays that gives it more impact!

Thanks for sharing!

I would like to listen to "Jealous" by Labrinth.

This post has been supported by @minnowsupport. I invite you to use the tag #palnet

I love this song. Oh my god... I wouldn't know what to do with this. Maybe accapella and just voices...

I am sure it is going to be a wonderful cover! Thanks!

Straight to the soul. I LOVE IT!!! You always sound so good, my friend.

I've been spending a ton of time writing in the last couple of years, but I hit burnout, and have been playing more music lately. It feels amazing to get my 12-string out and sing. Just like it feels good to listen to you. Keep being amazing, Ed. I'm so glad to know you.

Yeeees! I missed you so much my friend, I catch myself lurking on your two accounts regularly 😁
OH yeah; this weather is perfect for singing, light a fire, get the kids to play video games and eat sweets or popcorn, so your hands are free, and rock on!!!

Keep being amazing, Ed. I'm so glad to know you.

Likewise, I am happy it's still the case though haha.

I enjoyed it Ed... Robert Johnson is a legend.

Thanks so much, it was a tough one! I am glad it's over tbh haha

Love southern blues, Robert Johnson is amazing.
I thought the added drumstick tap was such a modernizing addition, as well as your voice, with some nice inflections, really picked the song up.
@edprivat, all I know is , your version was really good.

Now give it to me straight, who was the photographer? The choice of black and white was perfect. I have been experimenting with monochromes lately. Kundos to whomever did the recording.

Changing the subject now, how's the garden? I am chopping at the bit to start my seeds, but it has been so cold here, I don't want to blow it, it's all about the dirt and timing.

We have been setting up for syrup making, the sap is running great. Hoping for a little warmer day to cook. It's all done outside in March and March can be so unpredictable here.

Anywho, great post, I enjoyed it very much. I am SURE I will listen to it many times again.
Enjoy life!

That fill my heart with joy, that you liked my version. I was very critical of it, I am always my worst critic.

Secondly, once you started asking who is the photographer, I was like "here we go again, I am gonna have to read more things that went wrong" so it's really refreshing that it isn't the case. The photographer was my wife @lionmom with a baby on her back, constantly crying at all time (the baby; not her). It made the syncing difficult (miming the lyrics and playing), you can notice that I look to the left a lot, it's because behind me there's a phone playing the actual recording I made. There were also shot being fired in the next wood, we knew we did not have time to record much until the hunters reach us. I had to work around with the editing, jumping to a different camera when I start grinning.

Regarding the farm, it's been raining the whole week, my inside lamp growing our inside plants to kickstart them, has been broken so I ordered a LED a little bit like the one @thebigsweed bought.

Finally, my beans have bean stunted, so I broke the soil around them and added some thinner soil, to make sure they develop enough roots. We have Snow showers on Saturday and my mission for today is to find hay to cover them.

I also have to carry on with a little chicken fence, the 3 kids are helping me. I don't have enough time to do most of the work, as I need to clean inside, and also be an artist and musician, we basically sleep 3 hours per night, but we knew this month will be tight!

I am gonna hop on your blog to see how that sap is running 😁

Just what I thought, the @lionmom was doing double duty, blessings to her. I have to follow her even if she's not posting a lot. I already like her. Tell her the @farm-mom is sending hugs.

Best wishes on a happy growing season.

I will send her your regards, I am trying to convince her to write a post today, but for now she's been crazy busy with work !

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Fantastic job!! Thanks so much ^^

 3 years ago  

Great performance!!! :-D

Thanks buddy!

Wonderful version of this song. I'm not sure how you have the time to do all that you do. The hours upon hours you spend putting your own twist on the music you perform, shines through in the final product. I guess if you're only sleeping 3 hours a night that would explain how you find the time to be a homesteader, dedicated father and husband, musician, blogger, and I'm sure there are many other things that eat up your time. Imagine what else you could do if you only spent 2 hours a night sleeping. 😁

I've had this song in mind for several weeks now and have been hesitant to mention it. The reason for my hesitation is that I'm not sure if country music is your bag, but here we go anyway.
The artist is Chris Stapleton and the name of the song is Starting Over.

I see that you purchased some new lighting for your seedlings, I hope they work out for you.
Have a wonderful productive day.

what else you could do if you only spent 2 hours a night sleeping. 😁

Don't tempt me! Damn, I understand why people are into drugs, I could gain 2 more hours per day!

This song by Chris Stapleton is really good, the chorus is wonderful and reminds me a Cat Stevens for some reason.

Anything is possible, I could totally change it to something more in my style, when the song is good, it's easy.

I'll add it to the list, I am taking a week off Song Request to focus on originals.

Cheers I hope your day was good ^^

Had a great day, thanks for asking.
Hell, focus on originals, how cool is that.

Don't worry buddy I've got it in the backburner!

Told you I'd be back. Eh, in case you haven't noticed, your posts are fuckin killin it. Great song! You're a much better lip syncer than the rest. Anyone told you how cool you cool with a guitar now that you ain't all skinny? <- Funny.

Devil Inside - Inxs

You know that song? Check out the lyrics first if you've never heard it.

I knew the song but never paid attention to the lyrics! Very cool! Thanks for noticing, I just hope being able to keep on producing quality content. The week coming up will be tricky, as I have to work on original songs, I might post something quick on Dtube, there's also the vlog of this week.
I was also looking good all skinny hahah, but yeah you damn right!