Sinnerman - Nina Simone (Live Right Hand Guitar View)

in Music2 years ago

IMG_20221014_235624.jpg

Hi there!

I've released a house cover of this track a few years ago, Sinnerman is a beautiful song created by Nina Simone, and from the first time I've heard it, I could tell that there was something different about it.

Throughout the years, in my late teenage years, I was always looking for musicians that could be able to play it live, but it's so uptempo and syncopated, that there has never been that many musicians even remotely interested in trying to play it.

IMG_20221004_075045.jpg

IMG_20221004_074621.jpg

Some of them even admitted that the track was "too dangerous" and to keep that tempo constant for 6 to 8 minutes long for a live performance, it's not everyone's cup of tea. Especially that bridge in the middle where the musicians are clapping their hands maintaining the beat, I always wanted musicians to do it, and some of them weren't really interested. They always love shouting "poweeer!" haha. Good memories...

I think it took me approximately another 10 years to be able to play it and sing it at the same time. IT took me a while to understand what to do with the guitar, because you're tempted to do more, but as usual, the less the better.

This is why the version recorded in 2018 (and posted on steemit at the time) wasn't played live by the way, I just couldn't play it while singing it.

It was an ok version, nothing crazy though...

Now it's 2022, and I spent the last few years just isolating myself from the rest of the world like a grinch, I can finally play Sinnerman hahaha.
I probably lost a little bit of social skills, but nothing too serious. You wouldn't notice if I met you for the first time 😁.

Soon, I'll get a loop station which is going to simplify my life in term of maintaining a rhythm and adding more layers, this one will be fun to play on it, but in the meantime, I still have to work on my playing skills, which is what I was doing.

The song Sinnerman, is about a sinner, a man, 😉 (I got you on the story).

IMG_20221012_183113.jpg

IMG_20221012_183056.jpg

He is looking for salvation, and runs to the rock, the river, the lord and finally the devil himself.

Oh, sinnerman, where you gonna run to?
Sinnerman where you gonna run to?
Where you gonna run to?
All on that day
We got to run to the rock
Please hide me, I run to the rock
Please hide me, run to the rock
Please hide here
All on that day
But the rock cried out
I can't hide you, the rock cried out
I can't hide you, the rock cried out
I ain't gonna hide you there
All on that day
I said rock
What's the matter with you rock?
Don't you see I need you, rock?
Good Lord, Lord
All on that day
So I run to the river
It was bleedin', I run to the sea
It was bleedin', I run to the sea
It was bleedin', all on that day
So I run to the river
It was boilin', I run to the sea
It was boilin', I run to the sea
It was boilin', all on that day
So I run to the Lord
Please hide me, Lord
Don't you see me prayin'?
Don't you see me down here prayin'?
But the Lord said
Go to the Devil, the Lord said
Go to the Devil
He said go to the Devil
All on that day
So I ran to the Devil
He was waitin', I ran to the Devil
He was waitin', ran to the Devil
He was waitin', all on that day
I cried, power, power (power, Lord)
Power (power, Lord)
Power (power, Lord)
Power (power, Lord)
Power (power, Lord)
Power (power, Lord)
Power (power, Lord)

Just fucking brilliant. What can I say, we don't make songs that good anymore.

Thanks for watching!

IMG_20221013_080541.jpg

Ed_Privat_Ed_Privat_Logo_for_music_and_AI_e6d9b348-5b13-49fe-8659-866ebd3b3e9d.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @eugelys ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love Nina Simone and you are right this is such a great song. i really enjoyed listening to your first cover of it, especially since I hadn't yet connected with you when we were on Steemit. But this acoustic version I enjoyed more, It's such an epic song that you need to strip it back to do it justice and you sound great singing it. can't wait to get to hear you sing it live xxxxxx

I do love the acoustic version too! Thank you very much ^^

Are you back from your holiday?

Hey Ed, it was just for a week, my friends were away and asked me to house sit for them as they have a small dog. They have such a lovely space with a pool so it really felt like a holiday, we all need a change of scenery every now and again.
Hows all with you, are you still in France xxxx

Oh that's nice! Did they have a bath? Oh but you built a bath right, so you didn't miss it too much.

That's the first thing I did when arrived in France, I got in a bath and stayed in there up until someone noticed I was gone. 😆

We're back, I've harvested my butternuts, I left some. And that's pretty much it!

One hell of a woman. And one hell of a cover. They are so incredibly well matched in how complicated, deep and misunderstood they were. Song and woman hand in hand.

Holy shit. Well done man. My fingers ache just watching you play 🤣 I was playing till 3am on Saturday. Trying to get back into it.

Hello Claire!

Song and woman hand in hand.

Lol, you tell me! She also probably had a very tough personnality, I don't even think she would have liked my cover, but it's alright.

Holy shit. Well done man. My fingers ache just watching you play 🤣 I was playing till 3am on Saturday. Trying to get back into it.

Until 3am? I see, when you need to "scratch that itch", I can understand, that's sometimes the only time when I can do some work! Sometimes, I just don't notice the time hahaha.

How does it feel to get back into it?

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Thank you!

@edprivat My god you are a crack 😱😍✨🥰💖 love the way you express music ✨💕🔥🌸.

Hey there @itzchemaya thanks for your comment, I liked it at first but the more I listen to it, the more I hear the mistakes hahah...

🙉😂🤣
Well, for my taste you are cool and awesome.
🥰✨🌸

Well dear @itzchemaya I return the compliment! 🙌 😁 🤗

It would have been interesting to see the old post where you premiered this piece. Your voice sounds huskier and feels calmer. Maybe time quells the demons, internal and external. Hahahaha. I really liked it!!!

Oh my goodess, I don't know if I have the patience to scroll down to 2018, and sometimes poof it's gone.

Maybe time quells the demons, internal and external

Let's hope you're right on this one, they sometimes worsen with time 😊

I am happy you liked it Nancy!

Oh, by the way, great photos of the farm, beautiful!

And thank you again! I didn't do much farming while we were there, just cleaning the house a little. We're goign back in December, I am sure it will look very different by then.

Well hello, @edprivat, that was such a cool song, your voice was just perfect with those lyrics, well done young man. Stay on that path, I can feel the desire you have in your heart.
A big thumbs up from the farm=mom ❤️

Hello dear @farm-mom that was such a lovely comment, Thank you for this, sorry for the late reply, we were on the road, and then I took a day off to sleep 😁

Cheers!

Never apologize for when you reply, I get "busy", as a dad of 3 young kids it goes without saying.
Always nice to hear from you, keep the music going, you are very talented.

Always nice to hear from you, keep the music going, you are very talented.

Thanks, it means a lot! 😊