Music as part of therapy for depression (Personal story) [Eng | Spa]

in Music2 years ago (edited)

Hello, Music community!

Music holds a special place in my heart as I am sure in the hearts of many in this community, but without a doubt, it was one of the elements that helped me the most with the depression that consumed me some time ago.

Some time ago I went through a situation that I described in this post however I never talked about the importance that music had for me in those moments. Today I decided to bring you this post about it, since I feel that all of us when we are in bad times, get support from music that we can only value very deeply in our hearts when we talk about it.

Love for Music

Uploaded by Pixelheart on Pixabay.

Music is one of those elements that are more than proven scientifically in dozens of different studies as one of the arts that helps the most during therapy, whatever the objective of it.

However my personal experience was not professional music therapy, there was no health expert using music to soothe my soul. My experience was communal, with various friends recommending songs that helped them in similar moments, playing them loud enough for me to listen to the lyrics, and telling me their personal stories along with the songs.

It was different, because not only did the music bond with me in those hard times, but my friends were a guide in those hard times, something I will always cherish.

Guidence of friends

Uploaded by Stocksnap on Pixabay.

I would say that of the many songs a friend showed me, it was Las Luces de la Ciudad by the band División minúscula, the one that touched my soul the deepest. For my friend, it was a song that helped her to get out of her addiction to narcotic substances. For me it was something that helped me to get out of my addiction to a failed relationship; in both cases, it was a song that helped deeply in finally breaking a harmful cycle, both hers and mine.

I would say that I listened to this song about 500 times within a week, making its lyrics permanently etched in my soul. Especially the segment where it talks about asking forgiveness to oneself in front of the mirror, for not stopping what hurts us, the dragging and fighting to stop. It's a beautiful lyric, representing the struggle against those cyclical and harmful behaviors that arise in life, something deeply human and that we all go through at some point.

Struggle with light and darkness

Uploaded by Jacksondavid on Pixabay.

Then I had a strong attachment with the song Wake me up by Avicii, which was shown to me by a friend who is an electronic music lover, and I identified deeply with the story it tells.

I felt lost, and without knowing it, I had found myself during the depression. For years my personality had been modified to adapt to a person who made me change to her tastes, I stopped going to concerts, I stopped enjoying my music, I left elements of my personality behind, and I was affected by it without even realizing it.

However, the song made me identify myself in a way that is difficult to explain, it helped me realize that I was in a process of rediscovery of my life. After all, I had lived through over the years, five years in concubinage that ended as it began, lost in the nebula, and I was finally rebuilding myself, leaving the good and taking out the bad, thank you Avicii, rest in peace wherever you are.

Avicii, thanks

Uploaded by Sasint on Pixabay.

With works like these, ironically a festive song called Tucacas by the band Rawayana. Introduced to me by the same friend who introduced me to the band Luces de la Ciudad, it's that kind of song that doesn't seem to have much meaning, but brought a sincere smile to my face every time I heard it.

Another song that I didn't expect to touch my soul in those moments was Paradise by Coldplay. I think there was no better song to sing at the top of my lungs at Jenx's house than this one, and her reaction is also something I appreciated, she just told me "sing louder gordo, everything is going to be ok" and yes, eventually, everything was ok.

Time to sing louder

Uploaded by Andremsantana on Pixabay.

I saved for the last two songs that became personal anthems since then on my difficult and tiring days, Believer by Imagine Dragons and I'm still standing by Elton John. Both were recommended to me by one of my closest friends, and how these songs helped me.

Believer is the kind of song that helps you deal with emotional and physical pain in a way that few songs do. Its lyrics are sublime and it is a work that I always recommend to anyone going through depression or emotional pain, it helped me to get up despite the pain, to fight through it all.

I'm still standing, I have to confess that even sometimes I want to sing it when I have a bad day, in those moments when you want to declare that you are still standing despite all the bad, it is a work full of self-love and self-improvement as few, I heartily recommend it to anyone.

Banner made by me on Canva

While this is not a video of me doing covers of these songs as is customary in Music. This post is a love letter to those songs that helped me in my dark moments, it may not be much, but I feel that showing my appreciation to those songs and their authors with the act of sharing them for others is the least I can do.

Now I ask you, in those dark moments of your life, What band or songs helped you through them? I'll be waiting for you in the comments if you want to talk about it.


Spanish


¡Hola comunidad de Musica!

La música guarda un especial lugar en mi corazón como estoy seguro en el de muchos en esta comunidad, pero sin duda fue uno de los elementos que mas me ayudaron con la depresión que me consumía hace algún tiempo atrás.

Hace algún tiempo atrás yo pase por una situación que describí en esta publicación sin embargo nunca hable sobre la importancia que tuvo la música para mi en esos momentos. Hoy decidí traerles esta publicación sobre ello, puesto que siento que todos cuando estamos en malos tiempos, recibimos un apoyo por parte de la música que solo podemos valorar muy profundamente en nuestros corazones cuando hablamos sobre ello.

La música que canta a mi alma

Uploaded by Thatpalletguy on Pixabay.

La música es uno de esos elementos que esta mas que comprobado científicamente en decenas de distintos estudios como una de los artes que ayuda mas durante la terapia, sea cual sea el objetivo de esta.

Sin embargo mi experiencia personal no fue terapia musical profesional, no hubo un experto de la salud usando la música para aliviar mi alma. Mi experiencia fue comunitaria, variados amigos recomendándome canciones que a ellos les ayudaron en momentos similares, poniéndolas a todo volumen para que escuchara las letras y contándome ellos sus historias personales junto a dichas canciones.

Fue algo que es totalmente distinto, por que no solo la música hizo un lazo conmigo en esos duros momentos, sino que mis amigos fueron una guía en esos instantes duros, algo que siempre apreciare.

Amigos, buena guía

Uploaded by Stocksnap on Pixabay.

Diria que de las muchas canciones que me mostró una amiga, fue Las luces de la ciudad de la banda División minúscula, la que mas profundo toco mi alma. Para mi amiga fue canción que la ayudo a salir de su adicción a las sustancias estupefacientes. En cambio para mi fue algo que me ayudo a salir de mi adicción a una relación fallida; en ambos casos fue una canción que ayudo profundamente en finalmente romper un ciclo dañino, tanto el de ella como en el mio.

Yo diría que escuche esta canción como 500 veces en un plazo de una semana, haciendo que su letra quede permanentemente marcada en mi alma. Especialmente el segmento donde habla de pedir perdón a uno mismo ante el espejo, por no dejar de hacer aquello que nos daña, el arrastrarse y luchar para poder dejarlo. Es una letra hermosa, que representa la lucha contra esos comportamientos cíclicos y dañinos que surgen en la vida, algo profundamente humano y que todos pasamos en algún punto.

Todos aveces necesitamos ayuda para luchar con esas cosas que nos hacen daño

Uploaded by Jacksondavid on Pixabay.

Luego tuve un fuerte apego con la canción Wake me up de Avicii, que me la mostró un amigo que es amante de la electrónica y yo me identifique profundamente con la historia que esta narra.

Me sentía perdido y sin saberlo, me había encontrado a mi mismo durante la depresión. Durante años mi personalidad se había modificado para adaptarme a una persona que me hizo cambiar a sus gustos, deje de ir a conciertos, deje de disfrutar de mi música, deje elementos de mi personalidad detrás y me vi afectado por ello sin ni siquiera darme cuenta.

Sin embargo la canción me hizo identificarme de una manera que me es difícil explicar, me ayudo a darme cuenta que estaba en un proceso de redescubrimiento de mi vida. Luego de todo lo que había vivido a lo largo de años cinco años en un concubinato que termino como inicio, perdido en la nebulosa y yo al fin me estaba reconstruyendo, dejando lo bueno y sacando lo malo, gracias Avicii, descansa en paz donde sea que estés.

Gracias Avicii, descansa en paz

Uploaded by Mohamed_hassan on Pixabay.

Con obras como estas, irónicamente una canción festiva llamada Tucacas de la banda Rawayana, me la presento la misma amiga que me presento la canción Luces de la ciudad, es ese tipo de canción que no parece tener mayor significado, pero sin embargo sacaba en mi cara una sonrisa sincera a cada que la escuchaba.

Otra canción que no espere que tocara mi alma en esos momentos fue Paradise de Coldplay, creo que no había mejor canción para cantar a todo pulmón en casa de Jenx que esta y su reacción también es algo que agradezco, ella solo me decía "canta mas alto gordo, que todo va a estar bien" y si, con el tiempo, todo estuvo bien.

Hora de cantar alto

Uploaded by Freeillustrated on Pixabay.

Guarde para el final dos canciones que se volvieron himnos personales en mis días difíciles y cansados, Believer de Imagine Dragons y I'm still standing de Elton John. Ambas fueron recomendadas para mi por una de mis amigas mas cercanas y como me ayudaron estas canciones.

Believer es el tipo de canción que te ayuda a lidiar con el dolor emocional y físico, de una manera que pocas canciones lo logra. Su letra es sublime y es una obra que siempre recomiendo a cualquier persona que este pasando por depresión o dolor emocional, a mi me ayudo a levantarme a pesar del dolor, a luchar a pesar de todo.

I'm still standing, tengo que confesar que aun aveces me surge el deseo de cantarla cundo tengo un mal día, en esos instantes que quiere uno declarar que sigue en pie a pesar de todo lo malo, es una obra llena de amor propio y superación personal como pocas, la recomiendo de corazón a quien sea.

Banner Hecho por mi en Canva

Si bien no es un vídeo de mi persona haciendo versiones de estas canciones como se acostumbra en Music. Esta publicación es una carta de amor a esas canciones que me ayudaron en mis momentos oscuros, puede que no sea mucho, pero siento que mostrar mi agradecimiento a esas canciones y sus autores con el acto de compartirlas para otros es lo mínimo que puedo hacer.

Ahora te pregunto, en esos momentos oscuros de tu vida ¿Que banda o que canciones te ayudaron a superarlos? Te espero en los comentarios si deseas hablar de ello.

Sort:  

¡Hola! Oye, realmente la música es una forma de hacer terapia. Cuando se pasa por depresiones profundas, el cambio es bueno y efectivamente escuchar nuevas canciones, que sean alegres y motivadoras, hacen un gran bien a nuestros corazones. Te mando un abrazo grande. Mi canción feliz es la de "Love is Wicked" de Brick and Lace y también una japonesa de Aisha Dayo, "Kono Koe Karashite". Saludos. 💙

Anotadas en mi lista de descargas, mañana las escucho :D

Las escuche hoy, Love is wicked es hermosa y kono koe karashite esta en cola en mi cell
Ya veremos que tal

¡Genial! Me alegra que te haya gustado 🙌💙

Si bien la música es así también una vía terapéutica ya sea escuchándola o practicando la misma, me encantó la manera en que expresaste tu experiencia y sentimiento de las formas en las cuales la música te ha ayudado, sigue adelante y sin rendirte, y cuando te caigas siempre encuentra la forma de levantarte. Saludos:D

Gracias por leer, si bien era algo personal siento que toda la música lo es, de una forma u otra, saludos :)

<3 Yes I could not agree more with this post. Music can be so transformative. At times when we are alone and feel against odds, sometimes we can focus on the music as there are far more things that make us special, but yet others have felt the same way we just have to seek the songs, content, and people out there. There are BILLIONS of people in the world. We are all far from alone.

I have listened to quite a bit of imagine dragon's songs and they have been rather uplifting. I wish you luck on your journey and hope you much peace and prosperity. !PIZZA


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I am glad you found comfort in music. We all do at a certain moment in our lives. There aren't many music therapists in the field but we can still find them. However, I do believe we have the means to find by ourselves sometimes the best tools for our self-healing.

Sometimes we do, find ourself and manage to self-heal, i did, of course i had the guidense of friends and a lot of support, but at the end of the day, i sleeped alone, my mind and me, and i had to heal me and my soul.

Loved your comment, here, have my full vote even if is at 40% mana :S

Thank You! Best thoughts to you!

Tranquilo, Jesús. Para eso está @elcomentador. Aquí le dejamos el apoyo completo.

Extraño el canal donde podíamos llevar aquellos comentarios que nos dejaban que eran joyas, este fue uno, puede que no sea largo, o elaborado pero es especial, gracias por pasar y valorarlo :) se lo merecía a mis ojos y me alegra que ustedes lo vieran también, un abrazo.

Puedes leer esta publicación y darnos tu opinión al respecto sobre cómo nos puedes ayudar a mejorar la curación de comentarios. https://peakd.com/hive-143845/@elcomentador/debate-ideas-para-curar-comentarios

Un fuerte abrazo, @jesustiano.

Gracias, teniaun par de dias off grid, descanso de sanidad mental llamemosle :). Leere el post cuando se me sea posible, lo dejare en cola :)

Activaremos un post diario o interdiario para que dejemos esos comentarios de valor que encuentres o te dejen en tus posts. ¿te parece bien la idea?

Es una buena idea, algo ruda para hacer post diarios, pero interdiarios seria mas suave creo, hacer 7 post idénticos a la semana puede ser algo cansado y editarlos y hacerlos distintos y únicos cada uno costaría mucho tiempo :S

Lo digo en la perspectiva de economía/efectividad como principio.

Going thorugh this post has reaally inspired me...
Am just curious to know, what kind of music can i listen to if am in a depressed state due to loss of someone close???

Puff Daddy & Faith Evans - I'll Be Missing You
I think it is about embracing the loss and remembering all the wonderful moments we lived and experienced with the individual and make sure to live our best lives for those individuals. I also like this particular song as it has a more upbeat tone to it despite that painful feeling of loss.

Miss them, but don't let it consume you. You deserve to be happy and the person close to you would want you to be happy living your best life. We hurt because the love and connection was that deep. But we can choose empowerment vs sadness... I think that is truly the best we can do to honor those that we lost.

My heart will go on by celine deon is a pretty good one also.
Have a slice of !PIZZA and know that the little slices of joy we have in life we must cling to as we navigate this road of life.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Any music you can feel it helps. Maybe some songs that person holded close to its hearth while living, loss is a hard thing and sometimes listening the favorite music of someone you loss can help, Big hug for you, who do you lose?

I actually lost a close pal even closer than a brother.... i know he used to love some tracks and each time i play them it reminds me of him

Then remember him at his finest, his best moments and his positive friendship on you :)

Hmmmm.... true words
Thanks a bunch pal

My work day starts with some devotional instruments - making mind calm and focused.

That is a great daily ritual, instrumental music heals both the mind and the soul, is a amazing way to start the day, in fact i usually sing early in the morning before work, it helps in cleaning my mind of past thoughts and get's me ready for my day :D

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!
Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!
Keep on creating great quality content!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...

Nice :D dint know you started a curation initiative :D great.

Cheers @jesustiano - we try to embrace anything that's good about music and art on hive and really want to help promote the best content!

!PIZZA

Nice work, take a big hug and I hope you manage to get some heavy lifting to your vote power :), what sup with the like 5 mentions? XD weird.

Thank you! We'll be working on it! So sorry about the five mentions - total mistake on our part which was then corrected!

Hope you are having a great day!

!PIZZA


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @jesustiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.
You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!

Thank you, see you on next archievement :D

De nada @jesustiano
Apóyenos también y vote por nuestro testigo.
Recibirá una insignia adicional y un voto más fuerte de nuestra parte cuando le notifiquemos.

Mirare sobre el testigo pero no prometo nada, apoyar a testigos es bastante limitado en hive, literalmente son votos muy controlados y como se poco o nada, no he apoyado a muchos que se diga :)

Gracias por venir a PROMUEVE TU PUBLICACIÓN, asiste el próximo miércoles a las 9:15 PM, saludos @jesustiano.

Muchas gracias, un honor participar con ustedes, saludos y siempre que pueda allí estaré :)

la música es nuestra mejor compañera, buen post amigo. saludos!

Ciertamente, existe musica para todo momento en la vida, y es la mejor compañia :D

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jesustiano.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Thank you, well sounds good, i will follow you :) Din't know you had a discord server

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
@jesustiano! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
infinitytcg tipped raytonix (x1)
infinitytcg tipped jesustiano (x1)
@stickupcurator(1/8) tipped @jesustiano (x3)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thanks for pizza :D

Taylor swift helped me in my dark moments and whenever I hit rock bottom,I turn to her music for support.
'Time to go' saw me through a painful break up and 'mirrorball' is my everyday panacea ❣️

Mirror ball sounds good, i will try it tomorrow, and time to go i will add it to tomorrow playlist as well :)

I know how it is, take a big hug and God bless Taylor for creating her music.

Thank you 😊

Es así. La música a veces nos proporciona un apoyo que parece inexplicable pero que nos llena. Gracias por compartir.

Muchas veces uno subestima el poder del mundo que nos rodea y aquellas cosas que nos abarcan, la música no solo nos toca el oido, tambien el alma y sobre todo la mente :), Gracias por leer.

Que buena reflexión. Si, la música también me ha ayudado en momentos muy difíciles. Perece mentira el apoyo que ella nos brinda, pero me ha sacado de unos agujeros muy oscuros. No es solo distracción, es una luz. Gracias por compartir. Saludos.

Gracias por leer :), un abrazo, saludos.