My journey to being a professional musician

in Music2 years ago

Like i always say music is life, yeah it's. First and foremost i want to be formal about my introduction here. I've been in search of a community that discuss everything about music and musicians, and luckily I found this wonderful platform.

I go by the name joshsticks28 well, that's my stage name so, even without telling or disclosing my musical talent my name stage name has given me out on what instrument I play, yeah. I'm a drummer, and a professional drummer to be specific.

20210529_125105.jpg

Now I would like to share my story or let me say journey to being a professional drummer. Smiles. Well, I have always love drums and also passionate about it ever since I was a kid.
It all started when i was 5, I got discovered by my parents. It quite obvious one could have guessed that cause they gave birth to me and they noticed my interest gradually as I grow up.
I really didn't mingle with my mates or stay in the children church whenever a service is going on. all i ever wanted was just to go to the drums, play and show to the pastorate and the congregation what they are missing, funny right ? Little josh, smiles. I was not even close to being a novice but I was so sure of myself and I had this huge confidence about myself that I can do whatever those big guys doing in the adults church. I was so determined to get to that level of being a professional drummer. It went on like that I wasn't given the chance to prove myself even though I didn't have the skills then.

After about 5years later we relocated to our permanent resident that was where I met a lot of great drummers, the likes of @dsticks

Screenshot_20211121-092320.png

and many more. They showed me the path to being a professional drummer, like going to concerts, rehearsals, lots of church services, ceremonies e.g wedding, grand openings, and so on. I used to accompany them to almost every concerts or events they get invited to. Of course I know what exactly I was looking for and also aiming for.

During those times I usually get to see these guys play often so as to learn more skills from them cause that was one of the sole purpose i was hanging out with them for. I continued like that and then I started noticing some little changes in the way I play like for example, the 4/4 beat, chops, Rudiments, and being able to work with metronome and most importantly my timing while playing triplets. And then i decided on which size of drums stick suits me and that's more convenient for me to use while playing drums. I finally got used to playing with 2b sticks and my favorite brand was @vicfirth and it's still my favorite. I learnt alot of traditional beats and as well the common beats that are widely common like

  1. Salsa
  2. Bossa Nova
  3. 4/4 beats
  4. Take 5
  5. 6/8 beats
  6. Rudiments e.g paradidles, paradidle-didles.
  7. Triplets and many more
    Now, being versatile on these different beats was kinda challenging honestly but at the long run I was able to flow very well while playing them on drums.

As time goes by I get to noticed another weakness in my playing which is creating double kicks. I couldn't play and wasn't flowing using double kicks frequently as well. I do feel bad about it so, I decided to go online YouTube to be precise and searched for "how to play using double kicks on drums", I downloaded many videos and also watched many videos related to that online.

While searching for videos that could be of help to me online I concluded within myself that I'll work on my double kicks on my own because I wasn't satisfied enough with the materials (drums videos) I have with me not that they weren't okay but I wasn't just okay enough with them.

I Started working constantly and tirelessly on my kicks and also not forgetting the fact that I still needed to work on my strokes and my weaker hand
my left hand to be precise. I just kept on aiming for professionalism. Now, before I met those guys you know I mentioned earlier that I'm very sure and certain of my playing or the way I play not knowing I wasn't even anywhere close to being a professional drummer not until I watch and listen to these guys play drums then I felt I'm just fooling myself with so much pride and ego thinking I have arrived, Funny me.

After many practices and rehearsals with the materials at my disposal, i was finally getting to the level i was aiming at which is being a professional musician (drummer). So, I started getting invites for studio session and getting called for shows and bigger concerts and events. My journey to being a professional musician/drummers was now getting closer than i expected cause of the commitment and dedication i invested or had in it.

I got the chance to know these great musician (drummers) and watch them play and dazzle in their different styles. The likes of @ericmoore, @tonyroyster @chriscoleman, @davewecki, @devontaylor. Learnt alot from them as well most especially @ericmoore this guy is so unique in his own way no doubt the other guys are very good but I just have this stuff for @ericmoore

Screenshot_20211121-090959.pngsource

not because he's the best or the fastest among them I just prefer watching him play, I love his gospel chops.
And about the other guys someone I also admire alot is @chriscoleman

Screenshot_20211121-091201.pngsource

yes he's wonderful on drums. I call him the king of time signature. Even metronomes obeys him on drums. Yeah he's that good.
Another person I really look up to for speed is @tonyroyster

Screenshot_20211121-091436.pngsource

this guy is "THE FLASH" on drums, his speed on drums is out of this world. I love these guy and they are all unique in their different ways of playing.

So watching these guys play also helped me alot. And more importantly scoring of songs had a huge impact on me getting to this level (professional) I'm a now. Though i still have some parts where I still need to improve much on but I strongly believe in me that with time and lots of practice I will be good in those aspect or area of weakness.

Now, I've gotten to where I wanted, I mean being a professional musician of course. Getting to this level wasn't a smooth road for me I encountered so many difficulties trying to be the best and to attain the level of professionalism. It was rough path I must confess. Always thanking God for the gift of life and for making it possible for me get to where i am now. The path to greatness lies in our hands and we shouldn't take it for granted or procrastinate things that needs to take immediate effects on our lives.

I would like to say this never give up on ur passion or trade it for anything. Follow your passion and success will follow you.

IMG_20210626_133028_885.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @joshsticks28! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18

Wow this is really lovely. Always keep up the good work

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Good luck on this journey! I can relate to such genuine passion myself when it comes to movies ☺️

inspiring stuff. you just gained new follower. follow your dream bro