2021 : A Time For Fresh Rock!

in Music3 years ago (edited)

When I look back at 2020, I realised that I spent most of the year going back to the past, the 90's in fact.

It began with the release of a "greatest hits" compilation by Therapy? I say greatest hits loosely, because these versions were rerecorded. Fresh takes but still capture the essence of the originals. Also amazing to have James Dean Bradfield (Manic Street Preachers) guesting on "Die Laughing."

But this did lead me to dig my old Therapy? albums and also some great EPs.

Talking of EPs, I also had an Oasis throwback. My favourite way to play Oasis is to listen to their 4-track single releases. Many of the b-sides were better than their a-sides. 'Acquiesce' and 'The Masterplan' are now deemed to be classics.

However, my favourite band of the 90s, Manic Street Preachers, reissued their 2nd album 'Gold Against The Soul.' An album which drew plenty of criticism, not least by the band themselves. However, there is obvious love for the album by their fans.

It was great to give it attention again and also hear some of the b-sides.

Bandcamp Friday is a thing. A place to buy digital music. On the first Friday of every month, fees by the website are waivered and all music goes to the artist.

https://daily.bandcamp.com/features/bandcamp-fridays-2021

I couldn't resist spending a tenner on Ginger Wildheart's GASS project, again. 35 songs, brilliant remastered by Dave Draper. GASS was originally an Internet subscription service, starting in 2014, which gained you 3 new songs a month (for a year) with a couple of demos.

I think this is Ginger's best work.

(I must point out that Ash did something similar in 2009, A-Z Series, which I also consider to be their best work).

Moving on

Talking of James Dean Bradfield, he did release a superb solo album, Even In Exile
The lyrics were provided by Patrick Jones, (brother of Manics bassist Nicky Wire). The album was about the Chilean political activist, Victor Jara.

Also, some bands from Devon, UK.

Moriaty are an amazing 2 piece band who are always exciting to see live. Their second album, 'The Die Is Cast,' was released at the end of last year.

Of course, I must mention Pylon Poets, great EP, 'Lucid Illuminations.' They seem to be mixing new styles with each record

Now, it is 2021. I've already had an amazing new album from The Pretty Reckless, 'Death By Rock N Roll.'

New music is on its way from Wolf Alice, Royal Blood, The Wildhearts, Manic Street Preachers and I'm sure, many more. I wonder if the events of last year will affect how each of these albums sound.

Also, I'm looking forward to the new album from Chris Catalyst, 'Kaleidoscopes,' on 2nd April (hopefully Bandcamp Friday). He is the lead singer of the criminally overlooked Eureka Machines (video made by @ashtv)

So there we are. The first time I've made a music related blog for a while.

I'm going to enjoy this year.

I'm sure though, that the minute I post this, another one of my favourite bands will announce a new album. Von Hertzen Brothers (another criminally overlooked band); what you doing this year?

IMG_20210311_223816.jpg

Sort:  

Nice selection, and thank you for sharing! I good to discover new music, and most of these bands and songs are new to me. I just made a post recently, and I forgot to add a song that I discovered about 3 and a half years ago and that I like a lot.

I'll leave the song here:

Love these, I recognise a bunch.
I’m a Therapy? fan, but only really got onboard around the time of the release of High Anxiety. I remember that re-release of Die Laughing with JDB. Pretty cool guest appearance!
Love a bit of Manics (Holy Bible and Journal for Plague Lovers are my faves)

Great to be introduced to Moriaty and Pilot Poets :)
Cheers for sharing

Therapy? Manics and The Wildhearts were my bands in my young 20s, the early 90s was a special period.
Usually, my favourite album depends on the mood, especially with Manics, I'll plump for Send Away The Tigers, just because they sound like they're having fun. Journal For Plague Lovers was also brilliant. I do need to catch up with some later Therapy? stuff. I did hear that Cleave was a good album. Sometimes, there's too much to listen to (and my time gets occupied by 2 small boys).

Yeah I know what you mean about an album to suit a mood.
I love Autumn Song from that album, what an banger!

The Wildhearts are great, especially live. Bet it was immense seeing them live back in the 90’s in their prime.

I know all about two young kids absorbing all my time!
I have no time for indulging in music and film anymore

Great selection!

Von Hertzen Brothers just celebrated their 10th anniversary of the release of Stars Aligned, they announced their upcoming shows (no UK dates unfortunately):

  • Qstock in Oulu. July 31st, 2021
  • Vaasa Festival. August 7th, 2021.
  • at Helsinki Culture House Saturday, Sep 28th

and of course, they're working on their 8th studio album:

https://www.facebook.com/vonhertzenbrothersofficial/videos/2513700932269831

So something should be coming out this year :)

Fantastic album. However, if they play in UK, I'm unlikely to see. I live in the UAE (Dubai). I was introduced to them in 2014 when they supported The Wildhearts. Mikko is the best singer I have seen live, ever, and I've seen some real legends in my time. Glad there's a new album coming. My wallet not so much.
:-)