Sort:  

I can't say where I am with certainty. I know I can make a record, but I also know there is sooo much to learn still. So I guess I'm consciously competent in some regards and consciously incompetent in others.
I'm constantly trying out new snare drums, microphones, mic placement, hardware, plugins, chord progressions... you name it. I feel like I'm always learning.

It's really cool that you've stayed in the game for so many years. Your consistency shows in this track Hello Goodbye and others. Right now I'm listening to a few of your remixes:

  • Andromedha & Linnea Schossow - Cast A Spell
  • Reptile Room - Games
  • Nikkie Jean - Beautiful Prison

Ah ha... so this is where you found me from! Haha!

I so rarely get likes on SoundCloud, I was suspicious your account was one of those promotional services at first! LOL. Then the Instagram comment confirmed you’re legit... and now it all ties back here to make sense. 😇

It’s interesting, though... for as long as I’ve been at it overall, it always still feels almost like I’m starting from scratch all over. So many of those years were just dabbling and putting it on the back burner, and even the last 7 where I’ve been more consistent, I keep feeling like a newbie as unlocking these new skills and seeing everything from new perspectives as becoming more proficient.

It’s kind of fun like that, though. Always a fresh adventure. I was always impatient and wanting shortcuts to the success, but have really come to enjoy the journey/process more & more as a result.

Bringing in my own vocals lately has been fun, too. Even though I’ve done a bunch of remixes with acapellas, looking back, it feels like I was worth with vocals blindly incompetent. Starting with my own from scratch has been another branch that’s been cool, too.

I really don’t think there’s ever an end to the learning in this game. Even once mastering all the skills and tools, that becomes an entirely new starting point for creatively implementing them in different ways - and there’s always fascinating learning to be done in simple experimentation.

I appreciate your feedback and support. It’s nice and perhaps the best reward yet to have it truly recognized and to be able to share in some good conversation with someone on the same journey.

I’d also like to share one more piece of writing with you, as it is perhaps my most soulful one sharing some profoundly transformative insights that have really helped revolutionize my relationship with the production process...

I hope there may be some nuggets of inspiration in there that are equally as helpful for you which you can relate to your own musical journeys...

The Wisdom Of The Surf...

🙏⭐️🥂

Nice, though-provoking read!

hey, I noticed you've read Richard Rudd. I've read the likes of Eckart Tolle and Thich Nhat Hanh with an open mind and have found some valuable thoughts; I haven't read anything by Richard Rudd though. Have you written anything here about The Gene Keys?

Gene Keys specifically, no. However, as they grew out Human Design - which grew out of the I Ching - I have written on both of those:

The Wisdom Of The I Ching: An Alchemical Map Into The Precise Order Of The Universe...

How & Why I Fell In Love With Human Design

I started last year to learn music guitar piano and singing and I have come to the conclusion that anyone can do it if they are willing to put the work into it.

The hardest for me was the first 500 hours to be honest. As I was building my fundamental knowledge around music theory the playing for instruments came more natural slowly but steady. Singing though it still needs a lot of work. I guess another 5000 hours at least for me practising scales and whatnot.

Cool post and relatable for me.

Cool.

Indeed, there is such a thing as natural talent, but at the end of the day, it’s the time at it that really makes all the difference.

I appreciate the feedback. 🙏🍻

If there's one thing I envy people is the ability to make music! I admire not only people who sing, but also people who play an instrument or write music. My life has its own soundtrack, however, as a good Latina, I enjoy almost every genre of music. From listening to them to dancing to them! The things I do every day are set to music! So I applaud all the things, the musical pieces and the advances you make to make this life full of less noise and more melodies. It's raining this time of day around here and with this nature tells me that it has its own relaxing sounds. Nice night, @rok-sivante!

That is pretty awesome. I am happy to see that you are diving back into this so deeply and finding some real satisfaction out of it! The mix is awesome by the way!