Trip back to memory (musical) lane.

in Music3 years ago

Now that I've been writing a lot about music lately, it starts to itch again to be able to go to a live concert again. It's been so long. Not that that's the most important thing of course, let's all make sure we beat Covid-19.

I am thinking for a while what was the last concert I went to, I think that was Matt Andersen, together with my friend Rien. The concert was in Arnhem, near my hometown so little travel time :) This song really remains one of my favorites, note the details after the song. Rien is enthusiastic :)


Source

Funny is that I can also remember my very first concert ever. That was Abba's concert in Rotterdam in 1979. Together with my mother. My poor father queued up all night for tickets at the time. Then nothing was digital yet. The funny thing is I can still remember it. A full hall where the mega group Abba performed, that was a piece of history.

The video below is from the Wembley concert, but this was the same tour I went to. Funny thing is that people never actually believe me when I say that I went to an Abba concert :)


Source

Another concert that I will never forget, for several reasons, is the Pink Floyd concert in 1994 in De Kuip in Rotterdam. I actually had no intention of going there at all, until my brother and an acquaintance arrived at my door. They had a ticket left and if I wanted to go, I had to jump right in the car and go along. Well, I thought that was great of course. When we arrived in Rotterdam and were seated in the stadium I already got strange looks, I didn't know what for. When I went to get a drink someone yelled at me "you have guts", and he pointed to my t-shirt. It turns out, I was wearing an Ajax shirt and we were in the stadium of Feyenoord. Two clubs whose fans do not like each other at all .... Apparently they pay attention to this during a concert. Afterwards we laughed a lot about it.


Source

Floyd still is awesome music, the guitar sound of David Gilmour is just awesome.....

Hacve a great night you all !!

Peter

Sort:  

Oh nice! It would have been awesome to see ABBA. I think the first secular concert that I ever went to was The Moody Blues. It was pretty great. I am ready to dig into some live music myself this year. They rescheduled the Def Leppard/Motley Crue/Poison concert, but I wouldn't be surprised if they postpone it again. It is only a couple of months from now and I don't think things will be back to normal enough by then.

I hope the concerts will continue later on this year.. But indeed I wouldn't be surprised too. Def Leppard, Motley Crue and Poison... Some line up :) Brings back the old rock days :)

I'm still a massive Abba fan, just like you!

I think Abba is one of the few bands that really appeal to a wide audience. And when I watch a live performance on a Youbube video, the music is so well composed. You don't come across often anymore. And the songs are just brilliant...

Congratulations @verhp11! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1300 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1400 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Time to go on your Hive Tour