Contemplating Light

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

ContemplatingLight321654 2.jpg

While Lost In A Maze Of Light ..

What does anyone have left to do but contemplate it. Today really wasn't one of those days I got to philosophical. So I'll end it there. I did however get lost in looking through pictures of past trips, both near and far. I really wanted to paint something, however am having a bit of trouble finding the motivation to do so.

During my sifting through of digital photos, I ran across a grouping from the summer of 2012. My wife and I had decided to take a day trip to Longwood Gardens, a rather large (1,077 acres or 436 hectares; 4.36 km²) botanical garden in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania. It's roughly an hour and a half trip for us.. easily doable for a day trip.

Durring this trip in 2012, Longwood had commissioned a UK light artist, named Bruce Munro, to present a garden-wide light exhibition. I believe it was his first such light display installed in a garden setting. It ran most of the summer, was visible at night (haha), and drew a rather large crowd.

This quote from Longwood Gardens website sums it up nicely...

“His imaginative works will enchant and amaze our guests with their beauty and ingenuity,” said Redman, “but also inspire them to see and experience gardens in a whole new way.” “What also appealed to us about Bruce’s work is its focus on low-energy output and a sensitivity to the landscape,” said Redman. “Bruce shares Longwood’s commitment to sustainable practices.”

Installation highlights include Forest of Light, which invites guests to wander through a serene forest of 20,000 illuminated stems reminiscent of blooming flowers. Longwood’s undulating Meadow plays host to the Water Towers, a collection of 69 symmetric towers that create a glowing maze of light that changes hues to music.

source

The Last Part.. Is what I will be focusing on for todays post; The 69 towers that created a glowing maze of light. I enjoyed almost all of the light display, but rather enjoyed this part most. The towers were comprised of hundreds of water filled (2 Liter) soda bottles, containing lots of fiberoptic strands in each bottle.

P1020485.JPG
Taken with a flash that I don't think anyone appreciated at the time

The illumination moving along to the music was transporting in a way. I suppose I could say that one could get lost in the emotion of it all.

P1020503.JPG

I didn't have a tripod with me (dumb on my part), but I was still able to take a few notable photographs, despite the low light environment. After all, we were standing way out in a field far from city or street lighting. It was pitch black, except for a faint sliver of moon and the light emanating from the artistic display.

P1020499.JPG

The fiberoptic light, coupled with the way it reflected throughout and off the bottles would play tricks on your eyes. It almost seemed as though the sculptures were in motion, as the color slowly faded from one to the next and in sync with the soft classical music.

P1020494.JPG

P1020496.JPG

P1020493.JPG

There were people all throughout the display, walking here and there. They were sitting on the ground in the middle of it all, absorbing the moment. Others were just standing and staring at the light changes and pulsations. There were so many people, yet I felt alone in my personal experience of it all.

I Only Noticed The People.. After I looked a bit closer at the shots I took that night. I noticed them as shadows; dark figures passing along in the warm summer night. I was alone, but not alone. This was a well constructed and thought out piece of art.

P1020490.JPG

I Only Took One Black and White Shot That Night ..

And it was from the same point of view as above. It turns out that it was my favorite shot. It is actually one that I keep in a folder called "My Photo Book". A folder of photos that one day I want to have made into a book for own enjoyment.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and I will not be disappointed if you say it's crap. In my opinion, the shot in simple black and white value, is a compelling one. A strange light display, that if you had no knowledge of what it was, would be a bit odd and alluring all it's own. Add in a few human figures, that appear to me just standing there in around the light (and almost unnoticeable as such at first), and the photo comes alive.

I call it "Contemplating Light"..

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do

ContemplatingLight321654.jpg

That's it for this one..

But I will leave you with a little photographer humor. Yeah this is me in 2012. What am I looking at? No clue.. but when I have my camera with me, I am always about running into things. I am always looking up and down and all over the place. I'm looking for that angle that is not necessarily seen by looking strait ahead. Not much has changed in 10 years, except for the amount of hair I have (and maybe a few pounds from drinking beer). I must get better at watching where I am going. No promises though.

P1020430.JPG

Hive text divider.png

IMG_0574.JPG

“How far that little candle throws his beams! So shines a good deed in a weary world.”
― William Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Oh wow that is pretty awesome. I like how they have the different colored lights in them. That black and white shot is totally awesome. I could definitely see that hanging in a gallery somewhere. This looks like it was a really cool exhibit to visit.

It would have been much nicer if it was a little more crisp, but then again, I didn't know what I was going to get.. Oh well. Thanks for the compliment! I appreciate that. The exhibit was awesome. Unlike anything I had ever seen before.

Great pictures .... love the Shakespeare quote .

Haha.. Love to quote, probably because I have a hard time being brilliant on my own.. hehe.

How have you been? I'm happy to see you over here on HIVE. I've been on an extended break for no other reason than I had to play catch up on EVERYTHING.. As you know all to well yourself. How's the city holding up without me? hehe.. We missed getting into the city for Christmas festivities this year. bummer. This summer maybe a trip to Central Park and what not may be in order. Hopefully.

Hope all is well with you and the kids!

I quote people all the time .. lol

I’ve been well. I figured I switch over to give three people recommended I do so , so I did . I had the same thing ... needed to catch up on things.... the city is great ...at first it wasn’t what you excepted of New York City , but it’s getting back there .... first covid and the empty streets .... then the riots and protest ... and finally it’s starting to getting closer to its true ny self lol .

Light photography, light art show interesting and well photographed displays @bdmillergallery

My personal opinion, photography of the dog is stunning, the little face reflects true warmth and meaning but that is personal. Wishing you a wonderful 2021.

Sorry for the late reply Joan. I have been on a sort of Holiday. Planning to get back into the swing of things soon.

Haha.. You like the photo of Molly??!! She is such a hard pup to photograph too. She just doesn't like the camera near her or pointed at her. I was lucky that she was so lost in the sun, that she didn't even realize I was shooting the moment. She really was enjoying the warmth on her face. Something very simple that brings me such joy.. her lost in the basics of life.

Thank you for the wonderful and happy comment! Happy New Year Joan!!

Gorgeous face to capture, Oh don't they always love the sun, when hot come indoors cool off for a short spell then back out again.

Good to hear you getting back into the swing of things, don't think much will change in this new year with lockdowns happening. Miss Molly will have to learn to pose, failing which you will have to learn better stealth mode....

It looks interesting visually, a lot of contrast in the images

It was definitely interesting visually. I wish I had the time to get more photos, but I was also trying to enjoy myself. You know how it is. Thanks for the compliment!

Yes, I think it matters the most to be present in the moment rather than trying to constantly capture it by camera. I see a lot of people doing this mistake in their holidays, seeing the landscape more through the camera than with the eye

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 47000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update