CastleBerry Crunch

in Photography Lovers11 months ago

~ Back In The Saddle Again ~


I found my camera after a short time of misplacing it. I had the battery in one place, the memory card in another, and my point and shoot Nikon CoolPix S4300 missing in action. I wouldn't say it was misplaced so much as put up far too well but either way, i found it.

I have meant to get out my camera, charge my battery, and capture some of Sweden's Spring beauty. However, i got a late start. Better late than never is what i always say!

The images in this post are selected from three times shooting over the last week and a half or so. They aren't great and i can feel how rusty i am... at holding the camera and adjusting it's settings.

DSCN3482.JPG

This first image above is of a tree i've been growing for a year or two here. We used to call them Mini Orange Trees, or the actual name Calamondin, back at the Bonsai shop i used to sell these at in downtown Dallas. It's cool to have a couple of them here in Sweden as well. These are actually a cross between the Mandarin Orange and Kumquat and originate from China as far as i can tell. You can check out that Bonsai Shop if you click the blue link, or at least the 'Yelp information and reviews'. It really was an awesome place to learn and work.

DSCN3486.JPG

The image above is from a planter that accommodates 3 violet type of flowers. I don't really know the exact name... but one looks like that and the other has an orange or two petal at the bottom, which you can see in the background fairly blurry. I found these six (3 in containers above and 3 below) plants in the trash and decided to resurrect them. For being castaways, they truly seem to be thriving now! I planted another 6 to 9 plants in the ground. They are doing well also, but need to drink more often because of location.

DSCN3487.JPG

Although Mother's Day falls on a totally different day two weeks later, here in Sweden i was still able to get these cool flowers. I got ones that hadn't bloomed yet so that they would have more life to give as a gift. That decision payed off as we are well after 'those two weeks later' here in Sweden, and the buds keep on blooming!

I haven't taken any photos in so long that it felt almost unnatural to be behind the lens again. I felt inept and out of my league. But, most of that is due to the high level of quality and volume of photography that i curate. So many of you are experts in the field, professionals of the craft, and masters of the trade sharing your photography here in the community.

I am just a passionate amateur with the point and shoot cheap camera. In fact, (and i have said it for a long time, spanning multiple cameras) your cellphone probably has a higher resolution and more megapixels than my very old point and shoot digital camera. However, i need to remind myself i am here for my photographic experience, not yours. Not that you aren't invited along the way!


Im Back John Wick


~ Chester Copper Pot ~

Much of my post really wasn't to share detailed tips or feelings about photography. I mostly wanted to warm up my skills and shoot a few things before it was too late! I can't recall if i had mentioned long, long ago in a post or i had intended to and never got around to it (as most my posts go)... but, i did want to share about my friend Chester Copper Pot! It's a nostalgic reference to one of my memories and experiences growing up with the cult classic movie 'The Goonies'.

DSCN3574.JPG

We had this giant 'Copper Pot' so i thought it would be cool to put it to some good use. Here in Sweden, they have something that is magical... something i had never heard of growing up in Texas. They have SMULTRONS! They are basically miniature wild Strawberries... but much sweeter.

DSCN3576.JPG

The Strawberries and Smultrons here grow really well in the wild, almost like weeds. Not all of them flower, but they do grow in the right areas, just like weeds. They obviously have a lot of seeds per each fruit as well ariel type rooting systems than can branch out from nodes.

DSCN3575.JPG

I thought of the American Pioneer Johnny Appleseed and figured it would be cool to plant Chester Copperpot with strawberries and smultrons. I mostly planted local smultrons that i displaced when making the garden and manicuring the perimeter of my yards by saving them and replanting them into Chester.

You can see him down in the bottom left of the next image without as much patina as i would like. The pot is heavy but the concept has been fruitful.

DSCN3572.JPG

Once the berry vines spill over from the edges... they anchor into the ground in the surrounding area. By putting so many into Chester Copperpot the vines shot out from all directions. By anchoring into the ground into all directions, i could let all of those attachments grow their roots and establish.

Then relocating Chester into another area of the yard would spread the vines in that area and thus spread the cultivation of the 'wild' mini-strawberries into nature that much faster! Not to mention, you could control the areas of growth based on where you moved the source.

DSCN3576.JPG

So far, this has worked out extraordinarily well. I originally thought the strawberries would win out... but, they haven't grown as well in the wild as the tiny ones. The smultrons are said to be difficult to keep going, or cultivate here, but... i have to feel like that assessment is wrong. Either that, or 'Chester Copperpot' has some magic of his own! I know i am no plant magician.

DSCN3573.JPG

After moving Chester two or three times, i can say that wherever he goes... the smultrons follow!!! Right now, he is currently cultivating right outside of my bedroom window. I can literally open my window, and pick directly out of Chester Copperpot, Smultrons at will. That is super cool. More cool than i can really fully appreciate. But, maybe some photos will memorialize it until i can fully appreciate.


Wrong Chester....


~ Castleberry Crunch Berries ~

I have successfully spread my Smultrons across the whole backyard. I refer to them as my 'Castleberry Crunch Berries'.... not because they are crunchy but because of an old cereal called Cap'N Crunch. He had a special blend with 'Crunch Berries' and so now... i have mine.

DSCN3559.JPG

The reason i call this next set of shots successful 'Castleberry Crunch Berries' is because they came from Chester Copper Pot. They are growing in the midst, unbeknownst to me, among the chives, spring onions, and other herbs in my garden.

DSCN3555.JPG

I got some shots of the onion flowers around my Smultrons. I never knew that they had such beautiful flowers!!! These beautiful shots are even after they were fresh blooms... yet, still convey the beauty.

DSCN3557.JPG

My lighting, settings, and the color saturation did not do these onion blooms justice. They were much more purple and pink than they appear in my shots. I blame myself for not capturing it better.

DSCN3565.JPG

But as you can see, in the bottom left of the frame, a cluster of Smultrons growing in the midst. There were many clusters all over, hidden in the underbrush.

DSCN3566.JPG

I tried to focus carefully on these less than ripe berries. I will take some shots later this evening or tomorrow (if it isn't too late) and capture the ripeness of just a few days later a tiny amount of rain later.

DSCN3569.JPG

DSCN3567.JPG

Container or ground, it matters not.... Smultrons are the best!

DSCN3568.JPG

DSCN3580.JPG

DSCN3581.JPG


Cap N Crunch


~ Less Important Acclimations ~

So, here are some of the last shots and the first shots i took to warm up that were worth sharing.

DSCN3488.JPG

DSCN3491.JPG

DSCN3490.JPG

At some point, you want to feel like you are getting back into the groove. I don't know if they will acclimate, but so far the best Strawberry plants i have seen to take well have been these in this other pot that is not 'Chester.'

Based on the size of the leaves... i have a feeling they will be huge. This flower below is well on it's way to becoming a full fledged berry. I will show you an update soon... if all goes well according to my posting plans.

DSCN3492.JPG

Time will tell....


Nice


~ Final Features ~

Right next to the strawberry container if found my cat, Castro, sleeping (kind of) in a chair. I tried to get some shots featuring a more close up look at him. His mom is a Tortoiseshell cat, but the only way you can see that in him is here on his nose.

DSCN3550.JPG

I'm glad to finally get to capture that before it's too late.

DSCN3551.JPG

And, Lastly, the first thing i shot after finding my camera before a shot or two tapped out my battery... some indoor plants. I love how the light shone through these leaves. I almost want to use this next shot as my thumbnail... but i will save it for those that made it this far in reading and scrolling to appreciate.

DSCN3494.JPG

So for now, these weren't my best shots and surely weren't my worst! I would love to hear/see which image you appreciated the most. Share that with me or anything meaningful int he comments for a chance at better curation and engagement.

DSCN3496.JPG

Thanks for stopping by to see some of my content and read some of my words. I hope you valued any of it or that it inticed you to get more excited anticipating future posts and their content. I have some art and art photography stuff coming soon (hopefully) as well as more AI art. Stay tuned....


No for real....

dividers-04.png

Sort:  

Hello I hope you are well, I don't know too much about the climate you have at the moment but here the sun is beating down and still no rain. The strawberries you show us we have a similar variety at home. They are mostly found in the woods. Sweet their name "Wild Strawberry" we can also take some and replant them in his garden have in fact very good very very fragrant jam. Its requires a lot of work between picking up and cleaning. As it is small it takes a lot to get a jam. Right now we are in the middle of the season and we are eating it. The season is short, you have to act quickly to get some. Thank you for your post with all your photos

We just got our first rain in many many weeks yesterday... so we are fortunate. I could only imagine how many of those tiny berries it would take to make some jam! hahhaa They do have such an amazing smell an of course they taste great too! I hope y'all get some rain soon too! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

Beautiful photos, nice to have a look into your life. I really like your close-up of the leaf under the cat, the one that is slightly more yellow/with a slight organgyness. It has a dynamic and unique abstract quality that would look impressive blown and put on the wall, perhaps with a little contrast and vibrance added in color correction.

(edit) I also enjoy the close-up of the purple, white, and yellow-orange flower immediately under "less important acclimations" Nice abstract design and lovely colors.

Thank you for your meaningful comment! I actually didn't edit any of these phots... and i forgot to mention that. No color correction, no contrast adjustments, no lighting fixtures..... these are all just literally point and shoot shots. I'm glad you appreciated the leaf image as that was one of my personal favorites too! Thanks!

That's one cool sleepy cat. The miniature strawberries look small but juicy, and the flowers very stylish

image.png

Good you find your camera! Don´t worry about high level cameras, photography is about your eyes. Camera is just a tool. Go ahead and shoot!

Thank you my friend. I agree that it's not about the tools you use so much as the vision you intend to capture. If you have the vision... the tool just becomes an instrument of expression. I appreciate you stopping by to check out my humble shots.

The image above is from a planter that accommodates 3 violet type of flowers. I don't really know the exact name... but one looks like that and the other has an orange or two petal at the bottom, which you can see in the background fairly blurry.

Those are called pansies.

I thought they were pansies... but i wasn't 100% sure. Thanks for the info and for stopping by!

Congratulations on the garden and photos as well. I know how much work goes into it :)
untitled.gif

untitled.gif

I must say that when I saw your cat I died!!!! I love cats! If I have to choose the one I'm in love with!

But as a second choice is the second flower, I love it! both the first shots and the final ones.

Simple, simple and beautiful. Thank you!😀

Thanks! I am glad you liked the cat and the flower shots! I also appreciate you mentioning which ones in particular! Thanks for stopping by!

It is a real pleasure for me.❤️

@tipu curate

Thank you very much for the curation Nina!

Congratulations @castleberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 23000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 24000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!
Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status

Congratulations @castleberry! You received a personal badge!

You successfully registered for the HiveBuzz Women's World Cup 2023 Contest.

We hope you will enjoy this event and will have fun. Good luck!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!

Heey @castleberry you are missed seeing your photographs and art around here on hive. I understand your new adventure maybe more exciting haha. Congrats on that.

You could share that new experience on #inleo by making some threads in the community, cheers 🙌.