Flying High

Help, I've been robbed! My most precious and irreplaceable assets, vanishing into thin air! Damned electronic doohickeys, circuit boards with delusions of grandeur keep stealing all my time and attention.

All available evidence points to things with backlit screens. Fuckers are everywhere, luring you in with their bluetooth siren song. Pavlov wouldn't have needed dogs if he'd had push notifications.

Could someone please make a Luddite AI? You could sell tickets, bill it as 'The Existential Crisis Of The Century,' who could pass that up?

Did you know smartphones are a gateway drug? You may think it's 'just a phone' and you won't let a piece of technology control you but the next thing you know you'll be losing hours and days, with nothing to show for it but vague recollections of cat videos and memes.

Fortunately there's help. If you accept HIVE as your personal lord and savior higher power and climb some stairs, all your distractions will be taken away. I'd do it myself but I don't think higher powers are compatible with getting off the grid.

On a more serious note, I'm pretty sure this means I'm going to have to start Technology Anonymous. HIVE would be perfect, we could have meetings on the blockchain, give out NFTs for sober chips. Hell, we could probably get ChatGPT to be everybody's sponsor.

It'd probably bomb.

This seems to have gone off the rails like it was a train hauling toxic chemicals through Ohio. Not sure what any of this has to do with these photos from the 2019 Thunder Over Louisville air show beyond hiding my phone made it much easier to edit these.

Been spending too much time following the situation in Turkey and Syria. Seeing all the issues with getting aid into the area has got me wondering. The US military maintains the capability to have an entire airborne division in the air and en route to anywhere in 18 hours. Despite major natural disasters occurring far more frequently than situations calling for the particular skills of an airborne division, no such capability is maintained for nonmilitary disasters. Think this is a case of somebody listening to Mitch Hedberg and getting their priorities crooked.

'When pigs fly' they said. Pay up motherfuckers. On a side note, some things never change.

Sort:  

I love planes

I do not use a phone outside my home. That's why I never post pics.

Can you define Marklar please?

Thanks!

Marklar. Marklar, Marklar, Marklar, Marklar. Marklar! M-m-Marklar!!

Nailed it!

I've been practicing.

That's probably a wise decision. I restrict the social media type stuff to my laptop (hence the occasional lag in responding to comments) to try and keep down the number of distractions my phone provides but it still finds ways.

Marklar is an old South Park reference, there's an episode where they encounter aliens and in their language marklar is the only word they have for all persons, places, and things. I detest having to label myself so it seemed a fun way to fill in a byline.

Suddenly my feeling of not being one of the cool kids has been dispelled with an explanation that brings complete clarity. It's more of a relief than you might expect.

All that and a Mitch Hedberg plug?! Pay the man his money.

Ha, I wasn't sure if anyone on here was familiar with Mitch Hedberg.

I saw a wino eating grapes like, dude, you have to wait.

The first photo is breath taking!

I just spent a month with no innerwebs. Not intentionally, mind you. I got more out of my phone in the last month than I have in the last 5 years. A couple of things I staggered into will be useful going forward. If I can remember that is; I'm old and it might be past me :)

In all honesty (and we are being honest, aren't we?) I take more photos with my phone than I do with my nikon. Way more. It's always with me, it seems.

Then to the obvious. Great photos again! Of course, even I take my Nikon to an airshow :)

Ha, I bet, if I couldn't connect with my laptop I'd be on my phone constantly. I restrict hive and other social media type things to my laptop to try and cut down on the distractions from my phone but I'm too much of a news junkie for that to be entirely successful.

I can never get the same results with my phone that I can with my nikon, so if my intent is to take photos it's going to be the camera. The phone is still nice for a fallback plan if something pops up, and its great for those situations where pointing a dslr around is ill-advised.

Thanks! Speaking of air shows, you ever been to the hot air balloon thing in Albuquerque?

I'm a firm believer in "The camera in your hand is the best one ever" and so the phone. The results aren't near as good but still better than my memory.

I've never been to the balloon fest in ABQ. I was close one time and saw some of the flyers...
We have a balloon fest here in Yuma every year. No where near the number of participants (maybe 25) but still pretty cool. Just a very cool thing.
A guy I went to HS with (who married a woman I probably still have a crush on) started flying while he was in college-his life work ended up being a maker of hot air balloons. Amazing stuff.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @coloneljethro! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain And you have been rewarded with the following badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal